We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely stay!!”
Review of Lancers House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lancers House
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We booked this two night break with a KBG voucher. When first arrived we thought how lovely the setting was and how it had a homley feel to it. Once inside we were greeted by Nick, who made us both feel very welcome. He explained every thing to us and showed us to our room. The room was beautiful, very clean and tastefully decorated. We had had a long and awful journey so we decided to book a table and eat in. We were not disappointed at all my partner had the creamy mushrooms in garlic for a starter (which he only got to half of because I ate the rest) they were amazing I had home made garlic bread. Amazing!!! We both had main meals which were lovely as well, but the best part of the meal was the pudding we had zesty lemon sponge with mango ice cream. I thought I had died and gone to heaven it was that good.If you do stay here, it a must!!! The only negative we can really say is that the bacon on the breakfast the first morning wasnt cooked how we like it, but thats us. We spoke to nick the following morning and we had perfect bacon. Nick and Jayne couldnt do enough for us. It was well worth the money.... on our return Nick had sent us a lovely email thanking us.We will be planning another trip down that end soon and hope to stay at Lancers house again!!!

Room Tip: If you like to warm and cosy ask for a ground floor room, as the windows dont open...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lou198316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nik L, Owner at Lancers House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Thank you for your lovely comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and especially the food and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (189)
There are newer reviews for Lancers House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2013

We booked this 2 night weekend break with a KGB voucher.
The bedroom although small was clean and tidy and had a very welcoming feel to it and the advantage of free internet.
The room had a shower rather than a bath but again it was clean and tidy.
Dinner on the 1st night was excellent and was cooked by Jayne and served by Nik.
Breakfast on both days was excellent with home baked bread, home made jams and marmalade, home made muesli and a full English breakfast made from local produce and again cooked by Jayne and served by Nik.
In fact the eggs come from their chickens that roam a field close to the car park.
I must say that Nik and Jayne make you extremely welcome and are " hands on" not like some other hotels.
In all it was a pleasant stay and well worth the money.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ztilb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nik L, Owner at Lancers House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time and leaving such a lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We stayed one night at Lancers house and wished we could have stayed longer. The house has plenty of character and has been very tastefully decorated. Our room was a good size and very comfortable. We were made to feel very welcome and enjoyed talking with Nik about the history of the house. We had dinner as well as breakfast and thoroughly enjoyed all the home-made food. Our only small disappointment was that at both meals food was served on cold plates and so did not stay warm for very long.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amyjb12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nik L, Owner at Lancers House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and a plate warmer is on order.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed at Lancers Guest House from Wednesday 11th Sept to Saturday 14th September.
Right from the word go we were made to feel very welcome from Nick and also from Jayne when we met her later in the evening.
We had gone on a KGB Deal and it was well worth the money. Our first night's meal was in the price of the deal and we could choose whatever we wanted from the menu.
Our room was lovely and looked out over the outdoor swimming pool but due to the time of the year was not open.
In the field just behind we could see sheep chomping on the grass and there were hens free range in a paddock. It was just a lovely atmosphere.
The home made range that Nick and Jayne provide are wonderful and the smells delicious.
The lemon curd is to die for and made by Nick.
As per the previous comments you were made to feel so welcome and home from home.
The only negative is if you are in one of the bedrooms on the road side it is very noisy if you have your window open until late evening when the traffic seems to die down. But if you are a sound sleeper this would not affect you.
Definitely on our radar to visit again and we had a lovely email on our return thanking us which is a lovely touch.
Thanks again Nick and Jayne

Room Tip: Ask for non road side if you are a light sleeper.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JEANLANG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nik L, Owner at Lancers House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again on your next trip this way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights earlier this month and we had a wonderful experience. The room was delightful - spacious and all that you needed. The breakfasts were absolutely excellent - home-made bread, eggs from their own chickens, a selection of home-made jams and marmalade. On the first morning I had smoked salmon and scrambled egg and then chose the small English breakfast on the second morning - a fantastic sausage, very tasty bacon, beans and egg. A lovely stay, well worth visiting.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nik L, Owner at Lancers House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Thank you for your lovely review, Jayne and I are delighted you enjoyed your stay so much and we hope to see you again next time you are visiting the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stayed at Lancers House for 8 days and we have had the most wonderful vacation. The room was tidy and very cosy. The landscape around the guesthouse is really impressive.
We would especially like to mention Nick and Jayne's warm hospitality, friendliness and excellent choice of home-made food, both for breakfast and dinner. When you're there, you absolutely have to try the malted vanilla-icecream !

Thanks for everything and we will certainly be paying another visit !

Kris en Nancy Somers, Belgium

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kris s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nik L, Owner at Lancers House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

It really was our pleasure having you both stay with us and the place feels a little different since you left. Thank you for leaving such a lovely review but more importantly we look forward to welcoming you back and perhaps getting you to sample some of the new recipes we are already working on.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stayed at Lancers House at the beginning of Sept 2013. Nick and Jayne are most welcoming, the food delicious (and if you ask they are happy to reveal recipe secrets) the room was slightly small but very comfortable. You do actually feel like you are staying with friends. We just wish we could have stayed longer and made use of the pool. Nick and Jayne have BIG plans for Lancers and we really hope that they come to fruition. The Victorian greenhouse will enable them to become even more self sufficient and we will definitely be returning to experience the Jazz Café. Just imagine great food, great Jazz and the journey home is a staircase away, sounds perfect to us. We wish you both luck in accomplishing your vision and look forward to seeing you again soon. If whilst staying here you get the chance to visit Bradford on Avon, the café on the canal and the town are very nice and the Caen locks at Devises are definitely worth a visit.
The Smiffs x

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank e s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nik L, Owner at Lancers House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review and best wishes. The pre-application has been submitted to the planners so we will see what they say with regards to the Victorian greenhouse. We look forward to seeing you again next time and are fairly sure things will have moved on quite dramatically over the next 12 months.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sutton Mandeville
2.5 mi away
Howard's House Country Hotel & Restaurant
5.4 mi away
The Grove Arms
The Grove Arms
#1 of 1 in Ludwell
200 reviews
7.3 mi away
Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
7.8 mi away
The Grosvenor Arms
The Grosvenor Arms
#1 of 2 in Shaftesbury
426 reviews
1.1 mi away
Dean Lodge
Dean Lodge
#2 of 2 in Swallowcliffe
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancers House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancers House

Address: Shaftesbury Road, Sutton Mandeville SP3 5NL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Sutton Mandeville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sutton Mandeville
Price Range: £63 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lancers House 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lancers House is an elegant, licensed guesthouse set in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty in rural Wiltshire, nestling in 3 acres of its own grounds and benefiting from stunning views across to the downs and over the historic Fovant memorial badges and is conveniently located off the A30.Our rooms are all individually designed and decorated and because we know how important a good night's sleep is, we have supplied all our rooms with beds of exceptional quality ranging from Memory Foam or Relyon to Millbrook and Vi-Spring. Each room has an LCD television and access to all the digital channels, a hairdryer, alarm clock, sewing kits, tea and coffee making facilities and bottles of filtered water come as standard. Every room has its own en-suite shower room complete with heated towel rails and a range of toiletries.We don't believe in hidden extra costs such as parking and have therefore built our own free on-site car park which provides enough space for up to two cars per room. Wi-Fi is available and again this is supplied with our compliments, mobile signals are exceptionally good across the range of networks.When it comes to our award winning breakfasts we try to bring you a piece of "The Good Life" with a large cooked menu to compliment the diverse continental offering. Our breakfast offering includes various vegetarian options as well as homemade produce including marmalade, preserves, sausages and our butter is even home churned. The eggs come from our own free range hens that can be spotted foraging around the grounds and we bake a variety of breads on a daily basis.Why not relax in the guest lounge which is equipped with a TV and comfy sofa's. You could even enrol in one of our artisan bread making courses.Lancers House offers all the comforts of a smart hotel but at bed and breakfast prices and backed up with our personal service.Lancers House is a great base for exploring the South and South/West of England. Just a short drive will enable you to visit the World Heritage site of Stonehenge, Salisbury Cathedral, The New Forest, Wilton House, Sherborne and it's two Castles, Longleat Safari Park or even the Jurassic coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Lancers House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing