We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lancers House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lancers House
Westhoughton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very nice stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

A really nice place to stay. In a pleasant area. The owners Nick & Jane did everything possible to make our stay as comfortable as possible. The food was good, service great. will visit again.
I would highly recommend staying at Lancers House.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ralph Stuart D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nik L, Owner at Lancers House, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments we look forward to welcoming you back to Lancers House, we have now added home-made organic baked beans to our breakfast offering and local venison sausages to the dinner menu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    41
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
40
109
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Thelwall
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Well, the title says it all to describe our stay at Lancer's house.
From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we were made to feel very welcome by Nik and Jayne.
We had a beautiful room in the Annex and had every home comfort provided for us as well is quite a lot of others we weren't expecting. It really felt like a home from home.
The food was home-cooked… Home baked bread… Home-made butter… Fresh vegetables from the garden… Eggs from the chickens in the garden… What more can I say.?
It was absolutely delightful!
Nik was very helpful and advised us on places to visit and we had a beautiful day in Salisbury visiting the cathedral and Mompasson house. We also had a lovely day at Stourhead.
We would love to visit again as there are so many places in that area to visit. Thanks to Nick and Jane for making us so welcome.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank TTThelwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nik L, Owner at Lancers House, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review. Jayne and I are delighted you enjoyed your stay so much and we really enjoyed the chance to get to know you. We do try to provide as much as possible in the rooms and we are chuffed you enjoyed the hair straighteners so much. We look forward to seeing you again next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Thanks to Nik and Jayne for a wonderful few days at Lancers House.
My husband has limited mobility due to MS and we had a ground floor room set outside on the courtyard with its own entrance and a small garden/sitting area at the front. The ensuite was a shower which made access easy for my husband and the the room was spotlessly clean, modern, with a very comfy bed and had all the things you need.
Breakfast and dinner was served in the main house and was all cooked to order by Jayne and Nik (the Ivy Restaurant recipe Salmon Fishcake for dinner was SO delicious I had it both nights!) using their own eggs from the very friendly free-range hens, and served with their homemade (and very delicious) bread and chutneys/jams/etc.
Nik and Jayne are wonderful hosts, the accommodation is very comfortable, and the food is delicious - and I recommend a visit!

Room Tip: If you have limited mobility the ground floor courtyard rooms are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wabbodog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nik L, Owner at Lancers House, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. Jayne and I are delighted that you enjoyed our food so much and I am sure Mark Hix would be delighted that you like his Salmon fishcake recipe so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
77 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed at the Lancers for three nights in May and enjoyed every minute of our time there. Our accommodation was clean and comfortable with plenty of space to move around. Our breakfasts were simply great with plenty of evidence of home cooking. Fresh eggs were in abundance from the garden! Our hosts were delightfully pleasant and were prepared to assist in any way possible. Although the position of the accommodation is a little away from the main towns, the location amid the villages gave ample opportunities for exploration. A wonderful find and certainly somewhere to revisit at an early opportunity!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nik L, Owner at Lancers House, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review. Jayne and I are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and would like to say it was a delight to get to meet you and we hope to see you again next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Our time at Lancers House was relaxing, the accommodation was excellent as was the food. The owners made us feel very welcome and we would highly recommend the Lancers to friends and family. We are both looking forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LynYvonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nik L, Owner at Lancers House, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you so much, we are delighted you enjoyed the comforts and food so much and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Cornelly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed for 2 nights on the fantastic KGB offer, real value for money. The deal included two excellent home cooked breakfasts, with homemade jams, bread and yoghurts, which were delightful. On the 2nd night of our stay we enjoyed a delicious home cooked evening meal. We had a room in the annex which was spacious, clean, well equipped and most importantly of all, had a comfortable bed. The location was ideal for visiting local attractions. Nick and Jayne were ideal hosts, extremely warm, friendly and informative, making our stay that more enjoyable. We would definitely recommend the Lancers House as a place to stay.
Thank you both for making our stay most enjoyable and the drive back to South Wales that much easier. We shall be back.

Room Tip: Room 24 in the annex is the one to ask for. Spacious, clean, well equipped and a comfortable bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nik L, Owner at Lancers House, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and our food offering. We look forward to seeing you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Awesome owners, great country location. Great breakfast. Very green property with self-sustaining mentality of owners. Easy check in and room was large and comfortable. Several very historic points of interest near location. Can be a little tricky to find in the dark, but was a great find.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelfun1181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nik L, Owner at Lancers House, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay, it was a pleasure for us to get to meet you. Thank you for taking the time and posting such a lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sutton Mandeville
2.5 mi away
Howard's House Country Hotel & Restaurant
7.7 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
5.4 mi away
The Grove Arms
The Grove Arms
#1 of 1 in Ludwell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
The Grosvenor Arms
The Grosvenor Arms
#1 of 2 in Shaftesbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Compasses Inn
The Compasses Inn
#2 of 5 in Tisbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
1.1 mi away
Dean Lodge
Dean Lodge
#2 of 2 in Swallowcliffe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancers House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancers House

Property: Lancers House
Address: Shaftesbury Road, Sutton Mandeville SP3 5NL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Sutton Mandeville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sutton Mandeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lancers House 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lancers House is an elegant, licensed guesthouse set in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty in rural Wiltshire, nestling in 3 acres of its own grounds and benefiting from stunning views across to the downs and over the historic Fovant memorial badges and is conveniently located off the A30.Our rooms are all individually designed and decorated and because we know how important a good night's sleep is, we have supplied all our rooms with beds of exceptional quality ranging from Memory Foam or Relyon to Millbrook and Vi-Spring. Each room has an LCD television and access to all the digital channels, a hairdryer, alarm clock, sewing kits, tea and coffee making facilities and bottles of filtered water come as standard. Every room has its own en-suite shower room complete with heated towel rails and a range of toiletries.We don't believe in hidden extra costs such as parking and have therefore built our own free on-site car park which provides enough space for up to two cars per room. Wi-Fi is available and again this is supplied with our compliments, mobile signals are exceptionally good across the range of networks.When it comes to our award winning breakfasts we try to bring you a piece of "The Good Life" with a large cooked menu to compliment the diverse continental offering. Our breakfast offering includes various vegetarian options as well as homemade produce including marmalade, preserves, sausages and our butter is even home churned. The eggs come from our own free range hens that can be spotted foraging around the grounds and we bake a variety of breads on a daily basis.Why not relax in the guest lounge which is equipped with a TV and comfy sofa's. You could even enrol in one of our artisan bread making courses.Lancers House offers all the comforts of a smart hotel but at bed and breakfast prices and backed up with our personal service.Lancers House is a great base for exploring the South and South/West of England. Just a short drive will enable you to visit the World Heritage site of Stonehenge, Salisbury Cathedral, The New Forest, Wilton House, Sherborne and it's two Castles, Longleat Safari Park or even the Jurassic coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Lancers House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing