We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Faultless” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lancers House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lancers House
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Faultless”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Fantastic stay once again. Breakfast is absolutely to die for. Jane and Nik are wonderful friendly hosts, and very accommodating to all your needs. The rooms are lovely and spacious. Can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nik L, Owner at Lancers House, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you so very much and Jayne and I look forward to seeing you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    41
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
40
109
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We loved our stay at Lancers. Nick and Jayne were a mine of local information and very welcoming. The breakfasts were amazing - worth the cost of the stay alone. Really comfortable rooms very tastefully done. We will be coming back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nik L, Owner at Lancers House, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Jayne and I are delighted you enjoyed your stay so much, it was our pleasure having the chance to get to know you. We look forward to seeing you again some day in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Welcoming reception, breakfast plentiful with fresh homemade bread and eggs and juices, evening meal equally good, bedroom comfortable had everything we needed would definately stay again, thanks Nik and Jayne

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nik L, Owner at Lancers House, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you so much, it was our pleasure and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay, we look forward to seeing you next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Like Sam below, I stayed for 4 nights for a work trip. I wish I could have stayed longer!
The rooms were like a home away from home and the breakfasts in the morning were superb. Fresh eggs, home made bread, baked beans & sausages as well as home made jams, curds and chutneys.
Nik and Jayne were a delight, and nothing really was any trouble to them.

I would reccomend this B&B to anyone 100%! It's location is beautiful, and as a London girl, the sound of sheep and cows mixed with fresh air made me never want to leave. I look forward to going back next year.

Room Tip: Try Jayne's home made lemon curd!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kassi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nik L, Owner at Lancers House, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review and more importantly choosing to stay with us, it was an absolute delight for us to meet so many new faces and a couple of familiar ones too. We hope to see you all again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

I stayed at Lancers House for four nights with work and could not fault any part of my stay. Wonderful breakfast, well presented rooms and a pleasant location. Would definitely recommend to anyone who was looking for a comfortable and homely base whilst staying in the area, whether for work or for pleasure.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nik L, Owner at Lancers House, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time and leaving such a lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope we will get to see you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

I revisited Lancers House at the end of May 2014.

I arrived at Lancers House approx. 8pm but even though I arrived later my welcome was very warm indeed. This time my room was behind the hotel and it was a very large room and looked recently decorated. The bathroom was a little smaller than would be expected of a room that size but it had a nice shower and a sink so I am not one to complain.

As I was on my own on this trip I had more use of the television. This was wall mounted with free view which was very nice to have after a long day walking.

The car park was more than adequate and there is an extra overflow car park so this should not be a problem as I know sometimes parking can be an issue when going away.

The breakfast was lovely. I must at this point add the bread is homemade and so too was the marmalade.

Nik and Jayne were wonderful hosts and willing to go out of their way for the guests as I pressed the wrong button on the television at one point and brought up a menu but even though it was after 10pm in the evening Nik came across and fixed it for me which further reinforces the high level of customer service you will receive at Lancers.

After being in Salisbury for my first night, on my second night I had dinner in the restaurant. I had the rack of lamb for my main and the lamb just fell off the bone. For those reading my previous review yes this is the same meal I had last time and it was just as nice. For pudding I had the Crème Brulee and also of a high standard. For health reasons I have currently forsaken wine so I can add here there were also a good selection of non alcoholic drinks available.

There is also a nice quiet lounge area to sit and enjoy a nice cup of tea after the meal. I did pop in for a few mins and like last time thought why do I not spend more time in here as it is very peaceful.

Overall my stay was extremely pleasant and this is my second visit which further states how much I enjoyed my visit as this is the first hotel I have revisited.

I would recommend a break at this hotel as Nik and Jayne are excellent hosts.

Room Tip: I was behind the hotel in room 26 and it was lovely and quiet with a set of table and chairs outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JelloRezillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nik L, Owner at Lancers House, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review. It was a pleasure to get to see you again and we hope to see you next time you are walking in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Our work had forgot to book a hotel room for us, and we found this gem! Booked the room at midnight (when most other b n B's were not even answering the phone) the room was amazing as was nick, he couldn't do enough for us, and was more than happy to help us at a really early time of the morning. Also the food is out of this world.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nik L, Owner at Lancers House, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you so much for your amazing review. We are happy to help and look forward to seeing you again next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sutton Mandeville
7.7 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
5.4 mi away
The Grove Arms
The Grove Arms
#1 of 1 in Ludwell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Grosvenor Arms
The Grosvenor Arms
#1 of 2 in Shaftesbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Compasses Inn
The Compasses Inn
#2 of 5 in Tisbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
1.1 mi away
Dean Lodge
Dean Lodge
#2 of 2 in Swallowcliffe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hare Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancers House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancers House

Property: Lancers House
Address: Shaftesbury Road, Sutton Mandeville SP3 5NL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Sutton Mandeville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sutton Mandeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lancers House 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lancers House is an elegant, licensed guesthouse set in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty in rural Wiltshire, nestling in 3 acres of its own grounds and benefiting from stunning views across to the downs and over the historic Fovant memorial badges and is conveniently located off the A30.Our rooms are all individually designed and decorated and because we know how important a good night's sleep is, we have supplied all our rooms with beds of exceptional quality ranging from Memory Foam or Relyon to Millbrook and Vi-Spring. Each room has an LCD television and access to all the digital channels, a hairdryer, alarm clock, sewing kits, tea and coffee making facilities and bottles of filtered water come as standard. Every room has its own en-suite shower room complete with heated towel rails and a range of toiletries.We don't believe in hidden extra costs such as parking and have therefore built our own free on-site car park which provides enough space for up to two cars per room. Wi-Fi is available and again this is supplied with our compliments, mobile signals are exceptionally good across the range of networks.When it comes to our award winning breakfasts we try to bring you a piece of "The Good Life" with a large cooked menu to compliment the diverse continental offering. Our breakfast offering includes various vegetarian options as well as homemade produce including marmalade, preserves, sausages and our butter is even home churned. The eggs come from our own free range hens that can be spotted foraging around the grounds and we bake a variety of breads on a daily basis.Why not relax in the guest lounge which is equipped with a TV and comfy sofa's. You could even enrol in one of our artisan bread making courses.Lancers House offers all the comforts of a smart hotel but at bed and breakfast prices and backed up with our personal service.Lancers House is a great base for exploring the South and South/West of England. Just a short drive will enable you to visit the World Heritage site of Stonehenge, Salisbury Cathedral, The New Forest, Wilton House, Sherborne and it's two Castles, Longleat Safari Park or even the Jurassic coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Lancers House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing