We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great happy hour” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of High Pointe Restaurant and Tavern

High Pointe Restaurant and Tavern
Ranked #23 of 70 Restaurants in Niles
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Niles, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great happy hour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Go here quite often. Great happy hour. Almost all appetizers are half price 4-8 Monday thru Friday. Same for well drinks and draft beer. Excellent pizza. The pizza is thick and they do not skimp on the extras. In the summer time they have a nice patio. I would recommend this place.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TKOHIO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    15
    4
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Niles, Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

We stopped and got a bucket of beer and ordered a pizza to go High Pointe pizza was one of the best I ever had.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BOB P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Youngstown, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

We visited early on a Saturday evening-first time customers. We happened to know the waitress (friend of our children from high school). She knew the menu extremely well and gave us excellent service. The menu is large and varied. She suggested two chicken dishes which we ordered. We had salads, which were very large, fresh, topped with cheddar cheese and croutons. I had the portobello chicken over angel hair. The portion size was HUGE and was delicious. It came on a large platter covered with angel hair in a light sauce-an excellent value for 14.99. I ended up taking half of it home! My spouse had the Aussie chicken-it had bacon, cheese, and mushrooms on top. He also got 2 large boneless breasts and a side of garlic mashed potatoes for the same price. It is a fairly large open restaurant in a strip plaza, in a good location. We were very pleased with everything, and we will be back. We hope we just found a new local gem!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
83 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013 via mobile

I have visited this restaurant several times with friends. Each time the food has been very good and the service has been average. The menu offers a wide variety and the prices are fair-leaning towards the higher side of casual dining. The atmosphere is somewhat dark and almost too dingy given the overall decor of the restaurant. The service is average. The hostess and other waitresses cover for each other, but nothing spectacular. There are many options to choose from on the menu and they all come out of the kitchen looking good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank btaillon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niles, Ohio
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Relaxed atmosphere at the top of the Strip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

We had a good meal during memorial Day Weekend. This is a very relaxed atmosphere with casual attire. An adjoining bar/lounge and carry out is available. The Gnocchi Diablo was very good but it arrived almost the same time as our appetizers which made for a crowded table. The waitress did not even suggest desert. Overall,the homemade pastas and the boneless wings were very good and for a reasonable price.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to High Pointe Restaurant and Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing