We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoughtful details in this historic house”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oberlin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
1830 Hallauer House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Oberlin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2012

My son and I had a lovely stay here while visiting Oberlin College, which is an easy drive (under 10 minutes) from Hallauer House on quiet country roads. Joe and Susan are friendly but low-key, and their historic house is full of fascinating details and unusual items like the Confederate-era sword and uniform in our room. With all the nods to history, it still offers modern-day conveniences like plentiful outlets, good lighting, a mini-fridge (with complimentary drinks and snacks), and a comfortable bed. Water pressure wasn't ideal, and floors creaked a bit, but this is an old house.

My son enjoyed the electric baby grand piano, and I had fun flipping through the many books tucked into every corner. Breakfast was tasty (fruit with yogurt, homemade scones with jam, blueberry blintz, bacon) and Joe and Susan shared information about the town and the college with us. The real standout for me was the garden - or gardens, I should say, since there were numerous themed areas that flowed into one another around the property. Charming during the day, and absolutely magical at night, with lights scattered throughout and paths meandering along.

Joe and Susan have built lots of little thoughtful touches into Hallauer House, and I appreciate their efforts to run their place in an eco-friendly way. We were only able to stay one night, so we didn't get to use some of the facilities like the pool and gym, but we will be back if we find ourselves in Oberlin again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RLT83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2012

This is the kind of place that makes you love B&Bs. Joe and Susan are retired teachers and both are very interesting people. The rooms are lovely but be warned - they are filled with old timey decor and real antiques. Our room was very spacious and had a TV with Dish network (no NBC or CBS or maybe I just wasn't looking in the right place) There are some amazing items about including historical clippings that help you learn about the town and the inn. There is a huge quirkily decorated garden and a lovely pool that was heaven-sent on a hot afternoon. Breakfast was good and served poolside - really pleasant! I would love to go back here sometime but am pretty sure its heavily booked most of the time.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
Thank azoomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

The house had very pretty grounds, and our room had ac and modern plumbing as well as historic furnishings and decorations. The breakfast was good and reasonably healthy.. It was a little unclear if we were allowed to use more of the house than our room, and it would have been nicer if we knew that. The house was a confusing drive outside of town, though not very far from Oberlin.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WanderersWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

This is an excellent B&B. Our hosts, two retired teachers, have put together a B&B that has a beautiful garden, a swimming pool that guests can use, and a gym as well (Not too many B&Bs boast that amenity) They are big on the Civil War and our room featured an authentic Confederate officer's sword. The Lincoln room has a bathtub/shower combination where as our Confederate room had only a shower. Breakfast was breathtaking, fruit cup with yogurt, homemade muffins, turkey sausage and eggs Florentine. Wow! If you book here make sure you get directions...not everyone in Oberlin, knows of Hallauer (pronounce Holyer) Road. The town itself possesses an exceptional art gallery.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbklaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

My daughter and I recently returned to Oberlin so we could attend an Opera performed by the students. My daughter is strongly considering attending Oberlin next fall. The difficulty is finding (1) accommodations near Oberlin and (2) QUALITY accommodations!

Fortunately, Hallauer house is just that and more. Conveniently located a few quiet miles from campus, it is easy to drive and expertly kept. The hosts are friendly and exceptionally well versed on local history and the relationship of the College to the community. Rooms are clean and uniquely apportioned. Food is outstanding - breakfast was amazing. Reserve early since they only have 3 rooms.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TriMarJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

We stayed at the Hallauer House B&B on Veteran's Day. We had a wonderful time and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. The house is full of interesting historical artifacts and lots of local information. Our hosts were also a wealth of info on local history.
The breakfast was superb, my husband can't stop raving about the muffins. The room we stayed in (the Confederate Room) was lushly appointed with tons of thoughtful touches.

All in all, one of the best B&B's we've stayed in!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlmatheo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Joe & Sue are wonderful hosts. The breakfasts were delicious -- French toast stuffed with blueberries, crepes, great muffins. The pool was perfect on a hot summer day. Joe is a wealth of information if you are a Civil War buff.

There is a cat, but my husband, who is allergic to cats, did not have any symptoms, so I guess she does not roam the rooms that guests use.

Sooo much better than the Oberlin Inn!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avkatnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oberlin
1.9 mi away
The Hotel at Oberlin
The Hotel at Oberlin
#1 of 2 in Oberlin
82 reviews
12.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Cleveland/Sheffield
9.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Elyria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1830 Hallauer House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1830 Hallauer House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 14945 Hallauer Rd, Oberlin, OH 44074-9043
Region: United States > Ohio > Oberlin
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Oberlin
Price Range: £93 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodations at the historical Hallauer House Bed and Breakfast consist of just 3 rooms but offer guests more amenities than most hotels or resorts. After you settle into the Union or Confederate Room or the Mason/Dixon Suite you can then explore the grounds where you will find the in-ground heated pool, the relaxing hot tub, the whimsical garden with a running stream, the large fish pond, the mini beach, the rec/exercise room, the Asian Spa, the Music room, and the Great Room. While you enjoy a 3 course complimentary breakfast served every morning in the formal dining room or out on the pool deck the innkeeper will share stories about the history of Oberlin and it's involvement in the Civil War. Guests going to Oberlin College will find that it is just a short 6 minute drive away. Here you will avoid the crowds, get quick breakfast service, and find many ways to relax. We are your mini hotel choice. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
1830 Hallauer House Bed & Breakfast Oberlin, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing