We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't miss this b&b!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 1830 Hallauer House Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oberlin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
1830 Hallauer House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Oberlin B&B and Inns
Stow, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't miss this b&b!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

My wife Judy and I stayed at Hallauerhouse for two nights - as a getaway (an hour from our house) to a great college town (Oberlin) with fine restaurants, a surprisingly good art museum, heritage sites some of which are associated with the Underground Railroad, bike trails, activities (arts, etc.) sponsored by Oberlin College and the ambiance of a small college town.

Hallauerhouse is a wonderful b&b in almost every way. Joe and Susan are friendly and accommodating hosts. Their house is comparable to a small Civil War museum. On display are antiques (books, photos, pieces) from that period which Joe has collected over a lifetime. Without much prodding Joe will tell you some interesting stories about the history of their house (from 1830) and the Civil War. We stayed in the Union Room which was lovely as are the other guest rooms.

Some of the positives of Hallauerhouse: Clean, home-made gourmet style breakfasts, a music room (piano and guitar available), a sauna and whirlpool room, a pool, a beautiful garden with walkways, quiet surrounding area, a 5-10 minute car ride to the center of Oberlin, a decent size room with a super comfortable bed and a refrigerator in the room filled with soft drinks and snacks - all free and a beautiful house steeped in history. My wife and I can't wait to stay here again. Hallauer House has our highest recommendation.

Room Tip: We saw all the guest rooms. They are all desirable and comparable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doowopper10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
52
32
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfort, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

My high school friends and I stayed at the Hallauer Houses for a long week-end during our 50th high school reunion in Wellington. It was perfect for our needs. The rooms were very comfortable. My bed was great and the rooms had unique Civil War themes. The breakfasts were all very good and my vegan preference wasn't a problem. We also really enjoyed the amazing garden area. It was a great place to sit and listen to music and unwind after a busy day. We will definitely stay there again when in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank KYpilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Plaines, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

Hallauer House Bed and Breakfast is a great place to stay when visiting Oberlin, Ohio. The three guest rooms are lovely and well appointed. Our favorite room is the Union Room, but they are all equally nice, and very comfortable. Each has a mini fridge stocked with complimentary beverages and snacks, as well as a basket of personal care items in case you forgot your toothbrush or toothpaste! The owners Joe and Susan are gracious and welcoming, and the breakfast they serve each morning is a culinary delight. The grounds include beautiful gardens, and an in ground pool. The house is a Civil War era home, and filled with unique treasures. We have family out east, and we always stay at Hallauer House when our travels bring us that direction. They have a wonderful website, check it out!

Room Tip: Two of the rooms can accommodate 2-3 people, and the third room can accommodate up to 6 guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MiamiMom09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsville
Level Contributor
302 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

The hosts at this B&B are super. Their web site is comprehensive and accurate. We stayed for one night in the Union (Red) Room. We had everything we needed. The place is chock full of history. The house itself is very old - some uneven floors, narrow steps to get upstairs, but that's to be expected. We reserved the Asian Spa the evening we were there, and thoroughly enjoyed the ambiance and the whirlpool tub. There is a binder in each room with all of the information you could possibly need. They have DirectTV with many channels to choose from (there was a small but adequate TV in our room). Breakfast was great - a nice mixed fruit bowl with a dollop of yogurt to start, a small loaf of banana bread, and Eggs Benedict (perfectly prepared and beautifully presented). We enjoyed getting to meet the Woodwards and the conversation at breakfast (we were the only guests the night we were there). We did encounter a few ants in our bathroom and some other flying black bugs - not sure where they came from, and it was a little unnerving, but the place was most definitely clean.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pasbuffalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Acton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

It would be difficult to list everything we loved about this B&B. Some of the stand-outs include an in-room mini fridge stocked with complimentary beverages and snacks, a Keureg for 24 hr hot beverages, 25 different teas in addition to coffee, delectable unique breakfast, 24 hr access to cardio and weight training equipment, long quiet country roads well suited for walks or runs, the sounds of crickets at night and doves in the morning otherwise very peaceful surroundings, plentiful electric outlets, free WiFi, and friendly but unobtrusive hosts. The location is very convenient to Oberlin College, and if my daughter decides to attend that school, they will be seeing a lot more of us in the future!

Room Tip: The red room was quite comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 424susanm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012

Thanks to Better Way to Stay and the Woodward's, owners of the Hallauer BnB in Oberlin Ohio for showing your appreciation to military vets by offering a free night stay on Veterans Day 2012. Joe & Susan opened up their historic Civil War era home for us and were very hospitable with their warm kindness. Their daughter has been serving in the Coast Guard for over 5 years. When we travel we reduce our carbon footprint by minimizing and recycling our food scrap waste. Joe & Susan do also by composting kitchen waste & using it to grow healthier food to nourish their guests. By you showing our public how to appreciate all our national, state & local public servants, their freedom-defending service will help keep our civilization stronger against foreign threats for many decades to come. Our sincere salute.

Room Tip: Depends on if you like Union or Confederate or Mason-Dixon history, but all come with Underground Ra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charliefunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
84 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

Without doubt, the most comfortable place to stay when visiting Oberlin, Ohio. Susan and Joe Woodward are the perfect B&B hosts -- friendly and helpful without being intrusive. The appointments of the rooms are really thoughtful -- with snacks, drinks, toiletries and lots of information about the area. The rooms are large and comfortable with lots of places to hang and store things.

The breakfasts are generous and the Woodwards really make an effort.

Joe is a civil war history buff and breakfast conversation is always interesting.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice. The suite is gigantic and fun. I prefer the "red" room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyManshel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oberlin
9.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Elyria
10.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn
BEST WESTERN Inn
#3 of 11 in Elyria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
12.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Cleveland/Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elyria
18.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Cleveland / Westlake / Crocker Park
10.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Cleveland - Elyria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1830 Hallauer House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1830 Hallauer House Bed & Breakfast

Property: 1830 Hallauer House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 14945 Hallauer Rd, Oberlin, OH 44074-9043
Region: United States > Ohio > Oberlin
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Oberlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Civil War themed B & B located just 5 minutes from Oberlin College. Relax in a country setting surrounded by trees, gardens, and heated pool. Rest in a fantastic bed in your room with a private bath, satellite TV, small frig, free wireless internet and in the mornings enjoy a fabulous complimentary full three course breakfast. Come as a stranger but leave as a friend! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
1830 Hallauer House Bed & Breakfast Oberlin, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing