We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
1830 Hallauer House Bed & Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$56
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$131
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$61
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (146)
Filter reviews
146 results
Traveller rating
135
10
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
135
10
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscivil waroberlin collegeunderground railroadlocal historywonderful hostsground poolheated swimming poolinteresting antiquesspa roomperson jacuzzilovely homehigh school reunionsoft drinks and snackshot tuba wonderful staythought of everythingstayed for one night
Filter
Updating list...
112 - 117 of 146 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We had a lovely stay while we visited campus. The house is loaded with history, and the exceedingly knowledgeable host is willing and able to share it. There are some lovely public spaces, including a game room and a music room, which were nice to have available after a day of driving. The breakfasts were delicious. There was also a pull out chair, so that our son wasn't forced to sleep on the floor. I think our biggest regret of our son deciding that Oberlin wasn't for him was that we wouldn't be coming back to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mmironer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

From the minute you enter you are welcome here. Breakfast is great; rooms are lovely; history abundant; but mostly I was grateful for our hosts' kindness. Enjoy the hot tub and sauna, the exercise room, or just relax.

Room Tip: Reserve early!
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fishlab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

What a relaxing and hospitable visit! John and Susan truly know how to make one feel at home and to remove all the cares often associated with being at home such as making breakfast! We were totally overwhelmed with the beautiful table settings each morning and even moreso with the elegant presentation of the food that tasted better than most of the restaurants we have been to! The room was comfortable and comforting as were the surroundings. John's knowledge about the home and area far surpassed our expectations. Thank you for a truly wonderful visit. We look foward to returning.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hope M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

My wife Judy and I stayed at Hallauerhouse for two nights - as a getaway (an hour from our house) to a great college town (Oberlin) with fine restaurants, a surprisingly good art museum, heritage sites some of which are associated with the Underground Railroad, bike trails, activities (arts, etc.) sponsored by Oberlin College and the ambiance of a small college town.

Hallauerhouse is a wonderful b&b in almost every way. Joe and Susan are friendly and accommodating hosts. Their house is comparable to a small Civil War museum. On display are antiques (books, photos, pieces) from that period which Joe has collected over a lifetime. Without much prodding Joe will tell you some interesting stories about the history of their house (from 1830) and the Civil War. We stayed in the Union Room which was lovely as are the other guest rooms.

Some of the positives of Hallauerhouse: Clean, home-made gourmet style breakfasts, a music room (piano and guitar available), a sauna and whirlpool room, a pool, a beautiful garden with walkways, quiet surrounding area, a 5-10 minute car ride to the center of Oberlin, a decent size room with a super comfortable bed and a refrigerator in the room filled with soft drinks and snacks - all free and a beautiful house steeped in history. My wife and I can't wait to stay here again. Hallauer House has our highest recommendation.

Room Tip: We saw all the guest rooms. They are all desirable and comparable.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Doowopper10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

My high school friends and I stayed at the Hallauer Houses for a long week-end during our 50th high school reunion in Wellington. It was perfect for our needs. The rooms were very comfortable. My bed was great and the rooms had unique Civil War themes. The breakfasts were all very good and my vegan preference wasn't a problem. We also really enjoyed the amazing garden area. It was a great place to sit and listen to music and unwind after a busy day. We will definitely stay there again when in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank KYpilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews