We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful, cosy home from home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oberlin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ivy Tree Inn and Garden
Ranked #3 of 3 Oberlin B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We visited in June for several days and we really couldn't have found a nicer spot to stay. The Ivy Tree is a beautiful period home full of character. Ron and Steve get the balance just right - leaving guests to enjoy their home whilst providing not only a good home-made breakfast and excellent coffee but also tons of useful advice and information about the surrounding area - shopping, attractions, restaurants. Our bed was very comfortable and our bathroom more than adequate and very clean. The only criticism would be a very noisy (but very efficient) a/c unit in the bedroom. Just a short walk from the centre of town and with ample off-street parking, it is perfectly located for anyone visiting the Campus or friends. We will definitely stay here again the next time we are visiting Oberlin.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MorgsLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2013

Spent a comfortable week at the Ivy Tree. I was quite happy with the Magnolia Room, almost like a separate little apartment in the back of the house. The owners are welcoming and hospitable, and not at all intrusive. Ron's recommendations for restaurants in town (and in Cleveland) were spot on, and Steve's landscaping of the front and back yards is gorgeous. The location is a short walk to downtown and the Oberlin campus, very convenient.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen0813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Lovely property within walking distance of campus & downtown. Off street parking area is provided. The room was a good size but the amount of furniture made us feel a bit cramped but the bathroom was spacious. The breakfast was good as was the morning coffee served with it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeneseeOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We booked with the Ivy Tree on several great reccomendations, We werent dissapointed! We arrived late due to a missed connection, no problem! The Ivy Tree is also a beautifull country garden, with Steve (one of the owners) taking time to make it the most interesting array of flora and fauna! Service is tailored to any persons needs and the decor is one of eclectic good tase and old fashioned American.

Ron and Steve offer a very very comfortable alternative to other accomodations!

Will definately stay again when in Oberlin!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Magnolia suite, but all were delightfully furnished with private bathrooms! There i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luckilj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Beautiful rooms, house and garden. The people running the place were really nice and really went out of their way to assist me. Was only 5 min walk from CBD and reasonably priced. Met lots of nice other people staying here too.

No complaints at all!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gregtrencher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights while my son checked out Oberlin. Charming, clean, comfortable, terrific breakfast, convenient location, and great host! What more can you ask for? This is where I'll be staying if I become Obie parent next fall!

Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank 57809Anonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Over the years I've enjoyed the informal hospitality of Ron & Steve's comfortable inn on many occasions. Features that keep me coming back are the porch made for lounging, the well-tended gardens surrounding the property, the cozy rooms with all that an individual or couple might need, the friendliness of the innkeepers who remember and care about their guests, and the truly wonderful home cooked breakfasts. No pretentiousness or hassle, this is simply a restful and very pleasant place to spend time in Oberlin. Located an easy stroll from the campus, the Ivy Tree Inn and Garden is a great choice for anyone visiting Oberlin.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shane_rock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Ivy Tree Inn and Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivy Tree Inn and Garden

Address: 195 S Professor St, Oberlin, OH 44074
Region: United States > Ohio > Oberlin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Oberlin
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 2 blocks from central town square and college. 5 minute walk The inn is situated on a lofty perch across from scenic arboretum, Plum Creek and historic Johnson House. Guest rooms enjoy this view as well as the established gardens of the Ivy Tree Inn. Guest rooms are creatively designed.All private baths. Most rooms have european antiques, comfortable, not overdone. WiFi, TV and AC during season. All rooms have queen beds. 2 rooms have 2 beds (queen and twin). Vegetarian breakfast cuisine: One daily prepared feauture item: cobblers, bread pudding, savory frittatas or quiche etc. Includes: Fruit, yogurt, juice, coffee, tea. People love the coffee! Can accommodate dietary restrictions (gluten/diary etc.) Gardens have been professionally designed. Resident awarding winning Horticulturalist Steve Coughlin has created a master garden. He is happy to share a secret or two. Operating for 23 years, we have gratefully entertained hundreds of guests - from Hollywood to Ballywood . Our guests have left us with many memories and lovely testimonials about the Ivy Tree Inn & Garden. PLEASE NO COLOGNE - Thanks * ROOM RATES are based the date of reservation and length of stay (NOT A SPICIFIC ROOM). $80-135 ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ivy Tree Inn And Garden Hotel Oberlin
Ivy Tree Inn And Garden Oberlin, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing