We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oberlin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ivy Tree Inn and Garden
Ranked #3 of 3 Oberlin B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We just spent the weekend at the Ivy Tree while visiting Oberlin College. Everything was great. Rose was wonderful. She cooked both days and breakfast was delicious. I would definitely recommend if you are staying in Oberlin.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArleneSteve1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a night and were so happy their beds were so comfortable. They have a room with one queen and one twin, which was perfect for three people. Breakfast was so wonderful--their dining room is so cute! We had fresh cut fruit (kiwi, pear, and two others I forgot about) and homemade quiche with a mushroom & pepper topping. So plentiful and so good! They are very accommodating with dietary needs too. We walked to campus (about 2 blocks)...great location! I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank Shannon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

The location was very convenient; you can walk to Oberlin, which does not have a lot of hotel options. We found the room to be very hot, however, and had no way to adjust it -- the heat is from a central radiator and its controls are elsewhere in the house. The breakfast was just so-so and appeared to be frozen mini-quiches along with grapefruit halves. Normally this wouldn't be something I bring up, but B&B's are usually famous for their breakfasts...

It was winter and so we weren't able to enjoy the gardens as some have on this board.
The street is very quiet and the town is quite safe.
We actually traveled in February 2012 as part of a tour of colleges, but this site won't allow me to choose a date that far in the past.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank los4caracoles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron K, Owner at Ivy Tree Inn and Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Difficult to accurately respond, since this was for a stay 1 & 1/2 years ago? Sorry, does not sound like a typical day here? During the past year and half we have hosted hundreds of guests.
Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

The Ivy Tree is a treasure. Beautiful home, stunning garden and lovely rooms.....the hosts, Ron and Steve, are gracious, helpful and kind. Two of my children graduated from Oberlin, so I've had the good fortune to stay at the Ivy Tree many times. Had a few minor crisis there, too, with details of junior/senior recitals, etc, and Ron and Steve saved the day. It's a very special place, run by two very fine individuals. The only difficulty I have found in staying at the Ivy Tree is that when it comes time to return home I don't want to leave!

Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Mari S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

It's no mystery why The Ivy Tree has so many happy visitors who return again and again.
We stayed there starting with our son's "college tour" in 2009, and have returned each August
while delivering him back to school. We look forward to the warm welcome, cosy, clean, comfortable room, lovely gardens, perfect location, and congenial conversation with other guests, usually fellow parents, over delicious breakfasts and good, strong coffee. And Ron and Steve's knowledge and enthusiasm for all things local have proved invaluable.
We have stayed at many inns and B&Bs and know how hard it is to get the balance right,
and the Ivy Tree does so consistently.
In fact, the only sad note to our son's graduation from Oberlin this year was saying good bye to Ron and Steve.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laflaneuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

When seeking advertised accommodations offered to the public by a registered business, I expect one of two answers: "sorry, we are fully booked with confirmed reservations", or "yes, we have availability for those dates".

Called 9/8/13 to inquire about availability for commencement week-end in 2017. When told that rooms for commencement week-end are held in reserve for past guests, I replied that I did not understand (see paragraph 1). I was then told that rooms for commencement simply are not available on a "first-come-first-serve" basis. In other words, even if the property is not fully booked for those dates at the time of inquiry, rooms may not be booked by the general public. They are kept in reserve for a select group of guests, should they choose to book commencement week-end in 2017 at some unknown time in the future.

What they are doing is probably legal (first-time guests are not a class legally protected from discrimination in public accommodation). Whether it is a fair and reasonable practice for a business offering public accommodation, I leave to the reader's judgment.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Ted R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron K, Owner at Ivy Tree Inn and Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2013

A recent guest told us about this review, which we were unaware of. Sadly, we have to respond.
The past 22 years our approach to reservations for graduation weekend has been:

To offer the rooms to guests who have stayed with us many times over the course of 4 years.

Basically, it's a loyalty program, common in the hospitality industry. This approach has worked for 22 years and never has anyone gone off in a rant over this issue.

This person has never stayed here and to give a terrible rating is unfounded and to suggest discrimination? Well, yes as the reviewer suggested: We will leave it to the better judgement of our future guests.

Thank you
Ron and Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We visited in June for several days and we really couldn't have found a nicer spot to stay. The Ivy Tree is a beautiful period home full of character. Ron and Steve get the balance just right - leaving guests to enjoy their home whilst providing not only a good home-made breakfast and excellent coffee but also tons of useful advice and information about the surrounding area - shopping, attractions, restaurants. Our bed was very comfortable and our bathroom more than adequate and very clean. The only criticism would be a very noisy (but very efficient) a/c unit in the bedroom. Just a short walk from the centre of town and with ample off-street parking, it is perfectly located for anyone visiting the Campus or friends. We will definitely stay here again the next time we are visiting Oberlin.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MorgsLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Ivy Tree Inn and Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivy Tree Inn and Garden

Address: 195 S Professor St, Oberlin, OH 44074
Region: United States > Ohio > Oberlin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Oberlin
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 2 blocks from central town square and college. 5 minute walk The inn is situated on a lofty perch across from scenic arboretum, Plum Creek and historic Johnson House. Guest rooms enjoy this view as well as the established gardens of the Ivy Tree Inn. Guest rooms are creatively designed.All private baths. Most rooms have european antiques, comfortable, not overdone. WiFi, TV and AC during season. All rooms have queen beds. 2 rooms have 2 beds (queen and twin). Vegetarian breakfast cuisine: One daily prepared feauture item: cobblers, bread pudding, savory frittatas or quiche etc. Includes: Fruit, yogurt, juice, coffee, tea. People love the coffee! Can accommodate dietary restrictions (gluten/diary etc.) Gardens have been professionally designed. Resident awarding winning Horticulturalist Steve Coughlin has created a master garden. He is happy to share a secret or two. Operating for 23 years, we have gratefully entertained hundreds of guests - from Hollywood to Ballywood . Our guests have left us with many memories and lovely testimonials about the Ivy Tree Inn & Garden. PLEASE NO COLOGNE - Thanks * ROOM RATES are based the date of reservation and length of stay (NOT A SPICIFIC ROOM). $80-135 ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ivy Tree Inn And Garden Hotel Oberlin
Ivy Tree Inn And Garden Oberlin, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing