We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BALD EAGLES EVERYWHERE and GREAT BEACH!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maumee Bay State Park

Maumee Bay State Park
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Oregon
Certificate of Excellence
Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
126 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 330 helpful votes
“BALD EAGLES EVERYWHERE and GREAT BEACH!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Who needs to go to Alaska when you have Maumee Bay State Park? The wildlife preserves nearby are full of them, so take your binoculars and educate yourself on what the immature eagles look like (scruffy gray/brown with no white head). Their numerous enormous nests are much easier to spot if you go before the leaves are out fully. The Maumee Bay area is one of the largest bird migration sites in North America----thousands of them stop to rest there before flying over Lake Erie on their migration to and from Canada. If you're a fan of warblers, this is as good as it gets. The campground is huge, with large lots and has a real 'prairie' feel to it----wild shrubs border most sites so there's a lot more privacy than in many state park campgrounds. Completely flat so you can bike for miles, and plenty of family activities on the weekends (ice cream socials, etc) The deer are out every night and are pretty brave in coming close. The golf course on the grounds is a beautiful Scottish-type course---challenging and wild. A beautiful beach which is huge and sandy. All in all one of the best state parks in Ohio.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank blndgenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    56
    14
    9
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Cool Boardwalk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

The two mile boardwalk trail is definitely worth exploring. It cuts through a large wetland area home to all sorts of animals and plants. One portion of the boardwalk leads to an observation pier that offers views of the wetlands and Lake Erie off in the distance. In addition to that, the nature center is also worth checking out as they have some cool snakes, frogs, fish and turtles to see. Overall, it's a really nice place to explore and visit.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank DavidHigham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ida, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A beautiful state park! A great place to take the family!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

This was our 3rd time camping and it still never disappoints me. The camping lots are spacious. It is a beautiful place to hike and bike. There is a nice swimming area. There is also good fishing for the kids! My one son caught a bunch of nice bluegills and my other boy caught a nice 12" bass casting from shore. There is a nice hill to climb that gives a great view of the area. The biking trail takes you right along Lake Erie. But the best part was the volunteers that had the donuts and coffee in the morning, they are truly passionate about keeping the park nice looking and were very helpful about activities like the free fishing day in May. Thanks for a great time! One word of advise is to make reservations and make a drive through the park to find the shaded spots.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Matt N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian, Michigan
Level Contributor
2,123 reviews
562 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 823 helpful votes
“Great Place for a Hike”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

This park provides a great spot for hiking through wetlands and along the lake shore. We were there for a conference in November. During the afternoon hours, there was time to get out for a while to roam the park a bit. Hiking the two-mile boardwalk trail through the wetlands during this time of the year was one of the most peaceful experiences I have ever had. I briefly ran into one other party; otherwise, I had the entire walkway to myself. The autumn chill made the experience quite magical, especially with the cattails blowing in the wind. I also had the opportunity to hike along the lakeshore for a while and it was also quite lovely under the blue sky. The park was well kept, especially around the lodge. I would encourage anyone who enjoys a peaceful hike to make a visit to this park during the off-season months.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
149 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting on Lake Erie”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

The park apparently offers a lodge, cabins, camping, swimming beach, golf, boardwalks, a nature center, and other amenities. We only stopped by after a day birding Magee Marsh to check out the park, but from what we saw, this is a well-maintained and scenic spot. Very nice work, folks.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Buck_Fievre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maumee Bay State Park also viewed

 

Been to Maumee Bay State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing