We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing place for everyone!”

Quarter Barrel Brewery & Pub
Ranked #14 of 77 Restaurants in Oxford
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Relaxing place for everyone!”
Reviewed 7 August 2012

The food was fantastic. I took my mother, grandmother, and aunt here for dinner while on a vacation at Hueston Woods State Park. The burger that I had was amazing. My aunt's salmon was cooked perfectly. The only criticism of the food that I had was that my mom's marlin was a tad over cooked...but the favors were on point. Our server was very friendly. However, she seemed to lack a little enthusiasm. As a chef, I am usually overly critical of service because I want a restaurant's servers to sell their business the same way I would want mine to be sold. No drink recommmendations were made, no explanation of the unique space, nothing extraordinary about the service at all. Prices were reasonable. The 4 of us had entrees an app to share and a dessert to share for under $50. If I am ever back in Oxford, I will definitely be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChefKtBMcG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    21
    7
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
211 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 341 helpful votes
“Very good restaurant (just not great for kids)”
Reviewed 26 July 2012

This is a very good restaurant. Their selection of wine/beer is outstanding. Service is solid. The food is well prepared. Food prices are a little steep, but they are not outrageous.

This may not be the best choice for families. Unless they have added one recently, they do not have a children's menu, per se. They are willing to go off the regular menu and ask the chef to whip up something a kid might like (e.g., grilled cheese), but the pricing seems a bit high compared to more family-oriented places.

It's a fantastic place for singles or couples - but it isn't a great match for families with kids.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jeffsm5111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice bar”
Reviewed 14 July 2012

The atmosphere were nice. They had a nice selection of craft brews. I described to the waitress the type of beer I like and she brought me something that was very good and close to what I normally drink. I was there for lunch and although it is not a small space and it wasn't very crowded, it seemed very loud in there. I ordered the BLT which was good, but nothing fantastic. Our table ordered the flat bread pizza seletions. All three were huge and deliciouis. Definitely a good value for the money. The service was exceptional and friendly. I would definitely reccommend.

Helpful?
Thank AJ917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cincinnati
Level Contributor
133 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Classy college town pub”
Reviewed 3 February 2012

In a very nice college town filled with mediocre bars and just a few decent restaurants the Quarter Barrel stands out. Excellent food, great beers - including their own home-brews - , and great staff. My favorite place for food/drink in Oxford

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank lewwallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, Ohio
Level Contributor
72 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“This is one of the nicest places for outdoor dining in Oxford.”
Reviewed 11 December 2011

Having eaten there several times as a couple and with friends, my comments summarize all the experiences at the Quarter Barrel. The food is occasionally quirky, and usually quite delicious. Many of the selections have been paired with recommendations from the bar, including both in-house brews and others from around the country that you won't find in most places. The servers have been routinely far above average for what you expect in a college town: knowledgeable, pleasantly mannered but not obsequious, and efficient, without hovering. The atmosphere, especially outside on the terrace (on a quiet side street across from a church), is quite acceptable spring to fall. On the north side of the building, it is shaded from the sun except in the summer, and even then, umbrellas do the job on all but the hottest days. Indoors it's fine, too, but we find it noisier than we like when there is a crowd. We don't recall hearing about a delivery option there, but it's nothing we'd take advantage of if it did exist. I can't say whether they take individual table reservations, either--we've never needed one--, though I have known them to reserve the whole place for a large party. Along with Kona, this place remains on our sure bet list for places to eat (or just grab a drink) in Oxford.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank deben44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Quarter Barrel Brewery & Pub also viewed

Oxford, Butler County
Oxford, Butler County
 
Oxford, Butler County
 

Been to Quarter Barrel Brewery & Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing