We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too loud to get any sleep”
Review of The Elms Hotel

The Elms Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Elms Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Oxford
Sidney, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Too loud to get any sleep”
Reviewed 15 January 2012

We had a standard king on the alley side of the hotel. The incredibly loud partying across the alley went on until 2:30 in the morning. This was followed by clanging bottles until 3 AM which the hotel night manager exlained as the bars next door cleaning up. Then there was banging around on the floor above us until 4:00 AM. The night manager said that this is to be expected in a college town and you are paying ($170/night with tax) for the convenience of being close to Miami University. He suggested getting an interior room or a standard queen to try to avoid the noise from the alley but said even that side can be noisy. Don't expect a free Continental breakfast for this price either.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sleepless_in_Oxf0rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    15
    14
    10
    4
See reviews for
32
7
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

Nice property located in the heart of this college town. Close (walking distance) to restaurants and bars. Clean, comfortable rooms, friendly staff, decent food. Free parking in the deck across the street. One item of note that might be good or bad, depending on your preferences - After traveling all day, I checked in and went downstairs for a beer and snack in the small, non-descript lounge adjoining the restaurant. As I was finishing my food (at 10:00 pm) it appeared to me that the staff was increasing dramatically. There were now roughly 14 bartenders and servers to take care of the 6 patrons in the small bar area. I asked the guy waiting on me about it and he told me that within the hour, I would not be able to move in the place. Sure enough, after another beer, the place was JAMMED with college kids. According to my server, this is the current hot spot for students over 21 who want to dress up and escape the typical shot & beer campus bars on Friday and Saturday nights. Complete with DJ, bottle service, velvet ropes and servers in all black outfits, it is a tiny spritz of Big City Club in this quiet college town. As the only person over 40 (probably the only one over 30) in the place, I quickly finished my beer and went up to my nice, quiet room. Except for when the bar closed at 2:30 and the "boisterous" patrons spilled onto the street four floors below my window, it was a very comfortable night's sleep.

Room Tip: If you don't want a 2:30 am wake-up on weekend nights, avoid rooms that overlook the entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tribe_TV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

My husband and I travel to Oxford Ohio often for Miami University football and hockey games. This is the first time we have stayed at this hotel. It is in the heart of uptown Oxford. The rooms are nice and ours was on the 4th floor overlooking the alley behind a bar. It was fine until the bars closed at 2:30 AM and a group of people started arguing loudly and one person threatened to kill the others with a gun several times. After that excitement we heard someone throwing glass bottles into a dumpster as they were cleaning up a bar. Finally we got to hear the garbage trucks come by at 4:00 and 5:00 AM. It was a very lively night with very little sleep. Remember we were on the 4th floor and still heard all this excitement!. It's probably great if you go uptown drinking and fall into bed so drunk you can sleep through anything. We had attended a mid-week football game and were planning to get some rest so we could go to work the next day once we got home.

We had a nice time and but if you want to get some sleep choose another hotel not so close to all the "action." Also, skip the breakfast. we were offered a coupon but as my husband said it was the most unappetizing breakfast buffet he had ever seen. We decided to hit McDonald's on our way home.

As with most hotels in Oxford it was overpriced for the quality of the hotel. We will not stay there again. I can do without all the middle of the night excitement.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IndianaHockeymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, D.C.
Level 6 Contributor
322 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

i've stayed at this Holiday Inn many times in Oxford and love its convenience at begin able to walk back and to the restaurants and bars. it couldn't be in a better location and has free parking for one car per room. it is an ok hotel, with history, a BDubs and italian restaurant on premises, decent beds and pretty friendly service. m only complaints are that the lobby has always had of years a very odd/bad smell - someone called it an "armpit" smell, which isn't far off, but the rooms don't smell. our room this time also hadn't been cleaned completely - there was garbage, pizza box, empty milk container left in the under kitchenette sink cabinet. when i mentioned it, they took care of it right away. will continue to stay here when in town due to the convenience.

the only other negative is that if you had a room facing the alley, you may be awaken to the sound of the garbage trucks picking up garbage at abut 4-5 AM and if on the weekends, if you have a room facing the street, you may stay awake to the student party activity or exiting the next-door bars at 3 AM, unless you are deep sleepers. for me, the convenience is still worth staying here.

Great little wine store right next door.

Skip the breakfast they push and go a cupel of blocks up High Street to the great Morning Sun Cafe which is very good or drive a tad further to Patterson's Cafe by the CVS. both great breakfast spots.

Room Tip: if you had a room facing the alley, you may be awaken to the sound of the garbage trucks picking up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walton56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, NY
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

This hotel is a few yards from the main street. Downtown is small (very) but there are many places to eat and some funky shops. The hotel has been renovated and looks brand new. The staff couldn't be more more friendly and helpful. The room are somewhat plain but comfortable, clean and well maintained. There is a small exercise room.
Now the town is a college town so be prepared for the slightly odd parking situation. There is no free parking anywhere. There are meters everwhere....and only 90 min is allowed.
The hotel deal with this well. They provide free parking on the 4th level of the parking building across the street. My suggestion is that pull up to the front of the hotel, unload, check-in, and the park in the garage.

Room Tip: You get a code for the WiFi. There is no broadband jack in the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CeliacTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2011

This is the best hotel in town and its not close. You are located at the main intersection right on the red bricks of Uptown, a mere 2 blocks from the edge of campus. The staff was helpful at every turn. The hotel feels new even though its designed to fit in the old brick surroundings. The rooms are exactly what you'd expect for the price. Very clean and I had no issue checking out late even though they were sold out the following night. The GM was very accomodating to my schedule.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blankhawkdown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

If you have ever been to Oxford, you know it's not a big place. College town USA for sure. This means when you travel to Oxford, don't look for a local Marriott, Hilton, etc nearby. However, there is an older historic building that was converted into a hotel. This hotel has added the Holiday Inn name, but it's actually nicer than most Holiday Inn's.

There is a great restaurant inside (DiPaolo's). Nice, clean rooms and friendly staff. Whenever we go to Oxford to visit our daughter, this is our #1 choice.

Room Tip: Call directly if you need a room during peak times
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovemycab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oxford
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Oxford University Area
1.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Oxford
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Oxford
Comfort Inn Oxford
#6 of 8 in Oxford
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Sycamore Inn
0.8 mi away
The Marcum Hotel & Conference Center at Miami University
12.1 mi away
Courtyard Hamilton
Courtyard Hamilton
#1 of 1 in Hamilton
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elms Hotel

Property: The Elms Hotel
Address: 75 S Main St, Oxford, OH 45056-1715 (Formerly Holiday Inn Oxford)
Region: United States > Ohio > Butler County > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Elms Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Elms Hotel, Oxford, OH's only uptown hotel. We are known for our charm, culture and convenience and we are located only one block south of High Street. The Elms Hotel is two blocks from Miami University of Ohio's campus and is situated within walking distance from all of Oxford's exciting attractions. The newly constructed Elms Hotel is conveniently located to historic Uptown Oxford which is known for its red brick buildings and picturesque landscape. Our hotel is in close proximity to Miami University attractions such as Yager Stadium, Goggin Ice Arena, Shriver Center, Marcum Center and Millett Hall, all are within walking distance from the hotel. Located within close proximity of Oxford is Huston Woods State Park, Huston Woods Golf Course and Indian Ridge Golf Course. Cincinnati/Northern Kentucky International Airport (CVG) is 60 miles SE and Dayton International Airport (DAY) is 50 miles NE. The Great American Ballpark (Cincinnati Reds), Paul Brown Stadium (Cincinnati Bengals) are all with in a 50 minute drive. McCullough Hyde Memorial Hospital, Oxford's premier medical facility, is located within 3 blocks. Our staff is known for their warm and welcoming service culture that continually impresses our clientele. We revel in taking care of our visiting parents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Elms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Oxford Hotel Oxford
Oxford Holiday Inn
The Elms Hotel Oxford, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing