We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Put's Papa Johns to shame”
Review of Bagel and Deli

Bagel and Deli
Ranked #6 of 77 Restaurants in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Put's Papa Johns to shame”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I am not a huge bagel lover but if I had this place where I lived I would become one. I didn't know a bagel sandwich could taste so good! Best probably to take to go only a few tables outside on sidewalk.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gaye P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    14
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Palestine, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Great bagel anyway you want it.”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

The bagel was great and the atmosphere just adds to the college town charm. We will come back when we are in town. You cannot run out of new options.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bamortega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The perfect bagel-sandwich shop”
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

The choices here are unbelievable. It seemed like the perfect place for breakfast - a bagel shop- and it was, but there were so many choices that I had to come back for lunch and for a late lunch. The names for the bagels were humorous and at times slightly crude. The taste was first class.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank bwfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Any kind of bagel you could possibly want.”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

This is not a sit down kind of place, and frankly if your eating at a prime meal time, its not even a comfortable standing kind of place, however its worth the fight to the front of the bar to get a bagel however you like it. If you know exactly what you want and dont want to mess around tell them " i want a onion bagel with egg, turkey and veggie cream cheese. However if your feeling adventurous or unsure, take a look around the place, everywhere you look you will see a purposed bagel with a name. The bagel artists know all of these by name so all you have to say is I want a "Messy Katie" or my personal favorite a "Whamo". Steamed bagels are wonderful, and there ingredients are always fresh and delicious.

Ps. A peak time includes 2 am when the bars are closing. Also they deliver!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Goodriba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rabat, Morocco
Level 6 Contributor
510 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
“one of a kind”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Bagel and deli steams their bagels and all the crazy toppings to perfection. Try the "messy katie" which has turkey, sprouts, mustard, cream cheese, tomato, a couple kinds of cheese and avocados all on a bialy (baked bagel without the hole).

There's some space to eat outside and not much inside. it's a madhouse on the weekends when Miami students descend en masse. well worth it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CDMG123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bagel and Deli also viewed

Oxford, Butler County
Oxford, Butler County
 
Oxford, Butler County
Oxford, Butler County
 
Oxford, Butler County
 

Been to Bagel and Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing