We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Stella 12 Beech - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Stella 12 Beech
Price range: US$5 - US$29
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Stella 12 Beech's head Chef Sean Bement uses his years of culinary experience to create unique Seasonal Menu's for the city of Oxford Ohio. Vegan, Vegetarian, and specialty request friendly. Open for Dinner 7 Days a week and Brunch/Breakfast on Saturday and Sunday.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
323 reviews
216 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

My son was getting married in Oxford, but as you may know, there are not many spots to hold a rehearsal dinner. At first, we looked in northern Cincinnati, but then someone mentioned Stella's. We were hesitant when we walked in to inquire because it is not a big restaurant. But the Manager, Brian, said that they shut down for rehearsal dinners a few times each year. We booked our date and shook hands and Brian said that he would take care of the rest. He did. We hosted 44 people for dinner last weekend. Our guests got to chose one of three items from their regular menu for their meal, all of which turned out to be very good. Brian also arranged for hors d'oeuvres. We didn't get a choice, but were told that the Chef would prepare some special items. All of them were unique and very tasty! The service was outstanding. Now that we've been there for a group dinner, we can't wait to go back for a "normal" meal. Well done! Stella's really stands out in an otherwise drab scene for food in Oxford.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    15
    4
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Flemington, New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
87 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“These. "guys" Just Get It”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

What a pleasant surprise! The cuisine was unique and sophisticated, the wine list focussed and affordable, and the service was attentive and not overbearing. Rainbow trout was perfectly pan fried, flavorful, and crisp. Two different steaks were flawlessly prepared, each with a great starch and an interesting sauce. Yellowfin tuna was rare with a warm center, with an amazing black rice.

Dinner for four, with desserts, wine and cocktails, was under $250.

Now we only have to hope our sons get accepted to Miami so we have a reason to regularly dine at Stella's!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, Canada
Level Contributor
152 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“An Unexpected Treat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

In the endless repetition of fries, wings, and nachoes that passes for food in most college towns as in Oxford, Stella 12 Beech is like an oasis in the desert! The space is airy, light, and beautifully decorated. I had two glasses of a delicious white wine, a fine house salad with a lightly spicy sesame soy dressing, and a swordfish served with sauteed vegetables and absolutely delicious wasabi mashed potatoes. The fish was beautifully grilled, and everything was served in generous portions. The service involved real teamwork on the part of both table server and bar server. The meal was certainly not dirt cheap, but I'm a firm believer that you get what you pay for and that was absolutely true here. A major selling point for many people is the wide selection of vegetarian dishes offered.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Kenny0654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Painesville, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Upscale Dining Gem in Oxford”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

Significant other and I visited her 3 grand children enrolled in Miami U and took them to Stella 12 Beech for dinner. First visit to Oxford and found Stella to be a gem for fine dining. It is a short walk from the Holiday Inn downtown. The decor is comfortable and the food and service was great.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank SCWEMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
84 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Wonderful Upscale Food in a University Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

Very good food at Stella 12 Beech.

My wife and I were passing thru Oxford for one night and having never been to Oxford before, I chose Stella thru Trip Advisor. Great choice too!

Nice choices of upscale foods, prepared well and served steaming hot. We each had a different salad, which were unique and delicious...lots of little interesting things in them which came together nicely. One of our entrees was the feature of the day, swordfish; the other filet mignon. Both were excellant, served with different accompaniments that were outstanding and prepared perfectly.

Prices were fair for the quality and offerings on the menu. It's a bit pricey, but the food and overall quality of our meal made up for it.

We also enjoyed a bottle of Joel Gott cab, which is one of the reasons I chose the restaurant. I figured that if they offered Joel Gott, they had a little something going on...and they did.

Sorry to say that we were too full for dessert...but they looked very good.

Ambiance is just a bit above average. It is comfortable and has been remodeled to it's present decor from who knows what in it's past life in a college town. But, it is a nice atmosphere, that is on the upscale side with nice little touches of flowers, etc.

I recommend Stella 12 Beech for a nice quiet dinner, wine and some great food.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank JURatGNR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stella 12 Beech also viewed

Oxford, Butler County
Oxford, Butler County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing