We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit, very pleased again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quail Hollow Resort
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Painesville
Reviewed 26 November 2011

When visiting the far eastern suburbs of Cleveland, such as Painesville and Concord, this is an outstanding place to stay. It would also be an excellent choice if travelling the I-90 corridor. This hotel had undergone extensive renovation about one decade ago. The atrium interior design has a certain Wright inspiration, which makes it a very pleasant place to relax with friends after dinner. The room and all common areas were spotless and fresh. There are two restaurants within. Please see under separate review. No need to go out for meals. Very attractive free coffee and tea service set up each morning near the entrance to the restaurant at the second level of the atrium area. Very courteous staff.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quality_Evaluator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bgoodnight, Director of Sales at Quail Hollow Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2011

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for sharing your experiences on TripAdvisor. It is always my pleasure to share these wonderful comments with our staff. We hope you will stay with us during your next trip to our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (387)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

320 - 326 of 387 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2011

We stayed here for business and we were surprised a place like this is here. My co-worker and I both reserved two queen bed rooms and they were so different. Hers was much larger while mine was much smaller. The bed was comfortable and the hotel staff was very nice.

For dinner...that was the slowest dinner ever. The food was was below par. Find something else!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmscotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bgoodnight, Director of Sales at Quail Hollow Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2011

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Quail Hollow Resort has many amenities desirable to business travelers; we recently updated our complimentary wireless internet, offer room service, in room movies, as well as beds with luxurious down bedding. We are glad you were able to have a good nights sleep while away from home. We do apologize for the delay while dining in our restaurant. We have just updated our menu that has received many compliments, we hope you will visit us again and give CK’s Steakhouse another chance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2011

I left my hotel room at 11 am, returning at 7 pm, finding that they did not clean my room. I called the front desk, but no one answered. After trying to contact them for several minutes, I went down to the front desk. No one was there. I waited several minutes until the attendant showed up. I explained that my room was not cleaned, and she seemed indifferent to the issue. She did offer to provide room service or clean towels. Very disappointing for the rate they charged, and the fact that they claim to be a resort, or higher quality hotel. I might expect this of a fly by night "motel", but not one that claims to be of the caliber they portray.
Also, overall, hotel was very old, and not updated. They had construction going on in part of the hotel near our room, that woke us around 8 am, which isn't real early, but they could have put us somewhere away from the construction as the hotel did not appear to be very full.
Workout facilities are of poor quality, with many machines out of order.

Room Tip: Here's a tip, don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank william w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bgoodnight, Director of Sales at Quail Hollow Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write a review; we do use guest’s comments as a helpful training tool. I do apologize for not meeting your expectations. Please rest assured that we are working hard to resolve all issues that you have made us aware of. Thank you for pointing out that you were bothered by noise. We had attempted to ensure that no guests were bothered as we worked hard to renovate our conference space and had fiber optic lines installed for our upgrade to high definition television. We do hope you will give us another chance next time you are in the area, to see the upgrades that we are continuing to make to our wonderful property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

You'd probably be very happy here if you had a conference here or were stopping here on your way down I-90. If this was your vacation destination, you'd probably be disappointed.

The hotel reminds me of a Best Western or one of those types of places. They are nothing special and get the job done.

The lobby itself is very nice. It is very warm and welcoming, which is fine, but that is not where the stay is - it starts and ends with the room which were average at best.

This place would be perfect for a guys weekend with golfing as the centerpiece. I have heard good things about the golf here.

I would recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lawfive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bgoodnight, Director of Sales at Quail Hollow Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2011

I do appreciate you taking the time to write a review, we do use guest’s comments as a helpful training tool. We have just recently renovated our conference center and are looking forward to the future upgrades in 2012. Please visit our website before booking, we do offer many special packages that feature our PGA rated golf course, spa services at Jack Arra’s Salon, and in house restaurant, CK’s Steakhouse.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

My fiancé and I spent the weekend at Quail Hollow; with mixed reviews. First, I like that this is an independently owned resort hotel. It is unusual to see this as many small businesses are swallowed up by larger chains; it has a charm to it.

Accommodations: The accommodations are OK. Our room was in good repair and clean but will be in definite need of a facelift in the near future. The lobby/bar is beautifully constructed to have the lodge look, very cozy. The indoor pool was consistent with what you may find in some higher end Hilton properties and their gym was above average. There were plenty of nautilus equipment, treadmills and elliptical. While we didn't play golf, the grounds certainly looked very nice. Our one major complaint is that when we turned the heat on it had a very musty smell to it. Not sure what the problem was but it could be an aging H-vac system.

Food: We did not eat much at the hotel but when we did it was pretty good. Our room service order consisted of quesadillas and garlic mashed potatoes (weird... I know). Both were very well prepared, flavorful and best of all timely! They offer a decent breakfast buffet in their signature restaurant C.K.'s Steakhouse. While we did not eat much at the hotel we certainly wouldn't be afraid to recommend it.

Location: If you are looking to be close to downtown attractions such as the Hard Rock or the stadiums... stay elsewhere. The drive would be considerable and there are much closer places to stay in that price point. If you are visiting family on the east side this would certainly be an acceptable location.

We Pricelined this hotel for around $60/night. To book one of these rooms without Priceline would cost you between $90-$150/night depending on the time of year. This is a great find somewhere between $60-$80/night but I wouldn't pay much more that that. It’s too far away from some attractions and the amenities simply wouldn't justify my paying more than $100.

So if you are looking for a good weekend getaway and can get a good rate I would certainly book Quail Hollow Resort. Should we revisit the Cleveland area (the east side of course) we would definitely put Quail Hollow back on the list.

Room Tip: This hotel has a breezway that connects one side of the hotel to another. Request a room away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MRJKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bgoodnight, Director of Sales at Quail Hollow Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2011

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience; we greatly appreciate your feedback. We take pride in our customer service and attention to customer detail. We do apologize for the issues you experienced when turning on your heat. We have ensured all units have been tested to prepare for the winter ahead. CK’s Steakhouse is open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. We hope during your next stay you will be able to experience our chef’s exceptional menu. We do offer may discounts as well as specialized packages for guests coming to the area; please check our hotel website for future reservations and packages. We look forward to your next stay with at Quail Hollow Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

I know a lot of reviews here say this is not a great place but I got it through Priceline for one nite and it was fine. It is always difficult to give an older hotel a facelift but they did an ok job on this one. The service was average, but the room was fine, the pool area and spa great, the beds comfortable, was a great location off the interstate. There are a lot of things to do at the hotel but we got in late and left early. All in all not a bad stay. if you do priceline for a three star in priceline there is a good chance you will get this one. For the same price I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelerjim52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bgoodnight, Director of Sales at Quail Hollow Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2011

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We hope next time you are in the area, you will have a chance to experience all our amenities as well as the local attractions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2011

We stayed at this hotel for one night this month. The hotel has an adjacent golf course and nice looking indoor/outdoor pools. The lobby is very nice, with a rustic ski lodge-type theme and a fireplace. However, as other raters point out the remainder of the hotel is a bit dated and sprawled. The room was fine, although nothing special. Cleanliness was acceptable. There was a small maintenance problem with the room which was quickly addressed and the alarm clock was broken. We did not try the restaurant.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cleste01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bgoodnight, Director of Sales at Quail Hollow Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2011

Thank you for your comments; we do appreciate you taking the time to write a review. We take pride in our customer service and are pleased that your issues were resolved quickly. Our private golf course is available for our guests, we hope next time you are in the area you will be able to experience the pool as well as our wonderful restaurant, CK’s Steakhouse.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Painesville
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 5 in Painesville
441 reviews
5.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn & Suites
3.4 mi away
Steele Mansion Inn & Gathering Hub
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Residence Inn Cleveland Mentor
21.6 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Ashtabula
7.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Cleveland East - Willoughby
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quail Hollow Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quail Hollow Resort

Address: 11080 Concord Hambden Rd, Painesville, OH 44077-9557
Region: United States > Ohio > Lake County > Painesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Painesville
Price Range: £60 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quail Hollow Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quail Hollow is more than just a resort. We sit on 700 acres that encompass two championship-rated golf courses located just outside of Ohio Wine Country making a trip to the vineyards for lunch and a glass of wine easy to incorporate into a relaxing afternoon. We also offer customized events designed especially for you by our award-winning chef and his team. The resort gives you a far away feeling with easy access to major thoroughfares. This truly makes us a destination as we sit just 30 miles from the center of Cleveland where you will find the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, the second largest theater district in the country, and a myriad of museums and cultural sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Quail Hollow Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quail Hollow Hotel Painesville
Renaissance Painesville
Quail Hollow Resort Ohio/Painesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing