We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just South of Toledo, A Nice Mexican Restaurant in Perrysburg” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of TeKeLa

TeKeLa
Ranked #15 of 114 Restaurants in Perrysburg
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Cheap Eats, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
271 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Just South of Toledo, A Nice Mexican Restaurant in Perrysburg”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

We've driven past this location many times driving between Toledo and Bowling Green. Our favorite Mexican restaurant, Abuelos, closed in Toledo a year ago. Te'kela may well be a great substitute for our favorite when we are in Toledo area. My wife and I both had the fish tacos. Very nicely grilled. The lime rice was excellent. The chips and salsa was delicious. Restaurant often has a wait. We were seated immediately for a late lunch. Waitress was very good. Attentive and efficient. Lots to choose from. We will be back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GRGADA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    42
    16
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
perrysburg
Level Contributor
205 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Much improved service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Been here many times. Mainly bar area service issues in past. This week it was great! Double-teaming of bartender and waitress awesome. Great half off margs (platinums) and apps-dip sampler and chicken Tinga.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank irishPerrysburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield Ohio
Level Contributor
78 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We heard that this place was great and finally got around to checking it out. We were seated right away, the server was very nice and took our drink and appetizer order right away. I ordered a house margarita in peach. It was watered down. And did not have much of a peach flavor which was disappointing. The chips were average, we got the chorizo queso dip. There was hardly any meat in it and the cheese was very bland like some sort of American cheese. I ordered beef chimichangas and my husband ordered the fajitas.Both came out hot and fresh but there was some sort of nasty spice in both our dishes that we did not care for. It tainted the entrees! I was looking forward to some guacamole and their version was really sweet! I don't want sugar in my guacamole! Probably will not return. The prices were a bit high for Mexican food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank debra1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warner Robins, Georgia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Holy Guacamole!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Worth the wait here. They make fresh guacamole for each order but suggest getting it during happy hour. I had the Chile rellenos dinner and they were fantastic. Couldn't try the margaritas since I was driving, but plan on going back!!

Helpful?
Thank Tim1047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perrysburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice variety of tacos”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

You can choose from a variety of tacos, enchildas and other Mexican fare. I enjoy the shrimp, veggie tacos and the avocado enchiladas. My only complaints would be that it's not well-lit and difficult for reading the menu and their servers need to be trained better. I have been there many times and had to wait for my glass to be refilled and they just don't seem to friendly. But good food!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed TeKeLa also viewed

 
Perrysburg, OH
 

Been to TeKeLa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing