We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An old favourite” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hare and Hounds

Hare and Hounds
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Stoughton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$28
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, View
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Welcome to The Hare and Hounds Pub,Set in the rolling South Downs, an area of outstanding natural beauty, in the picturesque village of Stoughton is the HARE & HOUNDS A privately owned free house the pub has been a focal point of the village since the nineteenth century, the pub retains a traditional feel in unspoilt surroundings and is featured in many guides as well as a starting and finishing point for many great walks.The HARE AND HOUNDS takes it’s beer very seriously and offers finely conditioned cask ales including award winning bitters, along with premium draught cider and top flight lagers. There is also a carefully selected wine list offering fine classic wines with many favourites available either by the glass or bottle or 2!!If you’re looking for some peace and quiet or time to yourselves, the chance to loose the children in the garden watching the cows and horses, or sustenance after a long walk with the dog, a warm welcome awaits.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“An old favourite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

We have been visiting this pub on and off since 1982 - and were very pleased to find that the latest landlord had actually improved on what was always a very good pub.
The beer selection was better with local beers on offer with local Sussex beers on offer. The beers were also well kept.
We have eaten there 3 times recently and found the food very good - a cut above just 'pub food' but not unrealistically 'chefy'.
Its a pleasant bar with excellent outside seating - comfortable 'cane' armchairs with cushions! - which combined with the idyllic valley setting is unbeatable.
The Sunday lunch was excellent but I suggest a rib or sirloin joint would be more appropriate at £13 - topside definitely was the weak element in a well prepared meal.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank stevejenny5051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    32
    13
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“2 good visits”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

we were staying nearby and this pub was suggested to us as the better of the 2 close by and a good choice it was. good service and a good selection of beers on offer. the wine was of a varied choice and the prices were very reasonable. local partridge and venison were on the menu as was a separate fish choice menu. in fact the saturday evening was so good we went back for sunday lunch. large outside spaces for seating and inside is nice and cosy. this is a good pub locals and `outsiders` although you are made to feel very welcome

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank seesee06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose
Level Contributor
208 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Wonderful hapenstance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

We were dining with friends from Emsworth and tried several locations for a dinner reservation. Each one had some reason that it wouldn't work. As a last resort, we called the Hare & Hounds and they could take us. Boy! Were we lucky. Not that they could take us, but rather that it turned out to be a much better meal than the places that had been our first choices.

We were greeted immediately upon entering with a hearty smile and offered our choice of tables. The waiter took our drinks orders and was careful to explain their daily specials. When I asked about the venison, he noted that they purchased them whole and did their own butchery, using all if the animal fresh, never frozen, and making dozens of venison pies every week.

It was hard to choose with so many great options on the menu. I had the fried calamari. It was listed as "salt & pepper" which sometimes comes out with so much pepper it is hard to eat. This was perfectly seasoned. The venison was done to a beautiful medium rare and served with a red wine reduction sauce. Even the potatoes and veg were done exactly right.

The other two meals were just as nice. One of my guests ordered the grilled plaice. It was served as a whole fish, skin on and to her, it was the best she has ever had.

We loved it and will certainly return the next time we are in that area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Halems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“The Hare and Hounds is the perfect country pub!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

I am a regular visitor at the Hare and Hounds and I would recommend it to anyone!

The staff are really friendly, the pub itself is beautiful and the menu is delicious and varied.

It's a great place for those with dogs as they are happy to let you have them in the bar area and in the gardens front and back. The bar is usually packed with dogs on a weekend!

It has a great selection of ales and ciders and the chocolate brownie is to die for.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank The_Jarretts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

We were on holiday in the area and were given this pub's business card by our campsite owner. The pub is in a small hamlet, set in beautiful countryside. The outside of the pub looked very attractive and the inside matched with pine tables and chairs, tasteful décor etc. The staff are very friendly and welcoming, the food is delicious and reasonably priced. We were staying in the area for just one week but returned twice more as we liked it so much. On the second visit I had their shortcrust steak & mushroom pie, which was utterly delicious – one of the best pies I have ever eaten. I liked it so much that I ordered it again on our third visit but it wasn’t quite as good. When I mentioned this to the waitress she looked a bit sheepish and whispered that it had been made and cooked by a different chef, so just something to be aware of; one chef is obviously slightly better than the other when making their pies. It wouldn’t be enough to put us off though if we were ever in the area again. Wish we had a pub as good as this where we live.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hare and Hounds also viewed

Walderton, Chichester
Chichester, West Sussex
 
Chichester, West Sussex
West Ashling, Chichester
 

Been to Hare and Hounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing