We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glorious Goodwood Week”
Review of Hare and Hounds

Hare and Hounds
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Stoughton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$28
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Welcome to The Hare and Hounds Pub,Set in the rolling South Downs, an area of outstanding natural beauty, in the picturesque village of Stoughton is the HARE & HOUNDS A privately owned free house the pub has been a focal point of the village since the nineteenth century, the pub retains a traditional feel in unspoilt surroundings and is featured in many guides as well as a starting and finishing point for many great walks.The HARE AND HOUNDS takes it’s beer very seriously and offers finely conditioned cask ales including award winning bitters, along with premium draught cider and top flight lagers. There is also a carefully selected wine list offering fine classic wines with many favourites available either by the glass or bottle or 2!!If you’re looking for some peace and quiet or time to yourselves, the chance to loose the children in the garden watching the cows and horses, or sustenance after a long walk with the dog, a warm welcome awaits.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Glorious Goodwood Week”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed walking through a wood from Up Marden to reach the Hare and Hounds. We went there for three consecutive nights after days of punting at Goodwood Races.

Excellent choice of local beers, decent, filling food and, most important, friendly and efficient young staff.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RSRMair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    35
    14
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Came over early one evening just for a drink after coming off the beach. Itwwas a pleasant evening so just wanted a nice cold drink and to sit outside. We did not eat here but were aware of other people who had ordered food waiting quite a long time for their food, then having to wait for cutlery after they got their meals. Our drinks were disappointing, my cider which I chose from a badge on a hand pump was not dispensed from said hand pump. The barmen disappeared somewhere and returned with a luke warm pint of cider ! and my Wife's rose was not much better. I can say from what we saw we would not choose to eat here based on the service but I cannot comment on the food as we did not eat.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisJ36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Pleasant midweek lunch”
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

The Hare And Hounds is an attractive deceptively spacious pub in a pretty West Sussex village near Chichester.
Three of us had lunch here today and enjoyed it. Service was pleasant and efficient. We all ate from the 'light lunches' section of the fairly extensive menu - two of us had the crayfish and prawn baguette served with a small green salad, coleslaw and tortilla chips. I had the honey roast ham with mustard mayonnaise and a generous helping of excellent thin chips (an extra at £3). There is quite an extensive and interesting wine list with most available by the glass. We had a Merlot, a Pinot Grigio and a Picpoul/Sauvignon Blanc -all good. With a 750 ml bottle of still mineral water the bill came to £41, pretty good value in my view.
Definitely recommended.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank RHarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diss, Norfolk
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“just ok”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The barman was polite and helpful. There was a menu with plenty of choice but quite expensive for a village pub. the specials were not on a board but read out to you by the barman. one of these was a steak and kidney pie made from suet pastry which had been made earlier and warmed up for serving, this does not work well, even less after hearing the chef say to the waitress "just pour more gravy over next time" after I complained. The waitress taking payment was lacking in politeness and didn't know where to say please. My partner had fish and chips which were nothing special. No re visit for us.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shirley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Relax and Enjoy”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This is a great country pub nestled in the natural beauty of the South Downs, in the village of Stoughton (district of Chichester, West Sussex).

I have frequented the place often and never been let down yet! The menu is wide and varied, food is locally sourced where possible, well presented and reasonably priced. There are cask ales, premium draught cider and a good selection of wines. Service is usually very good, although like anywhere, if different staff are brought in, it can vary.

The atmosphere is relaxing and friends we have taken there have always said how much they enjoyed it.

There is seating outside if you don't want to eat or drink indoors. Children can enjoy themselves in the garden and there are cows and horses nearby to look at. Many people stop here because it is a great area for walking.

My only request is, bring back the 'slow roasted belly pork' which was absolutely delicious!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hare and Hounds also viewed

Walderton, Chichester
West Marden, West Sussex
 
Chichester, West Sussex
Chichester, West Sussex
 

Been to Hare and Hounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing