We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Affordable getaway” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sleep Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sleep Inn & Suites
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Port Clinton
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Affordable getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

My wife and I wanted to go to Lake Erie for a few days. We checked prices at several hotels in the Port Clinton area, and this was one of the lower priced hotels. We did not have a lot of money bugeted for the trip....short getaway....but we were wondering if the lower price meant a poor quality hotel. We decided to make the reservations and we were very pleased with this hotel. It was clean, the staff was friendly, the continental breakfast was great, and our room was very nice. We will definitely stay here again when we come back to this area. It is a great hotel for the money.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    82
    51
    17
    16
See reviews for
85
66
6
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brohman
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

Very reasonable priced. Nice rooms and nice pool. We will stay again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tfulton63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

We were going to Put-in-Bay and thought this hotel was a little closer. Check-in was quick and the front desk crew was very nice. They provided a discount for the Jet Express which was a plus. The room was very large and the bathroom was too. For such a large bathroom with a whirlpool tub, there were only two towels...kind of odd. The hotel had breakfast...nothing hot, just juice, coffee, muffins, cereal. Not a bad place, just don't expect any frills.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingGrammy2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland,Ohio area
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

The location is just off Rt. 2, convenient to several area attractions without being in a congested, high-traffic area like nearby Sandusky. The exterior was nice-looking and the lobby was clean. We stayed on the second floor, which had a strong, musty smell in the hallway. I noticed the large cold air duct near the elevator had probably not been vacuumed in the past year, since it was covered in gray dust. Our room with two queen beds was small, but the mattresses were comfortable enough. We found a long black hair on the edge of one sheet near the pillow, and another long black hair stuck on the shower wall. I hoped they were the housekeeper's. The sheets left me feeling itchy through the night and next morning. (Either a detergent that's a little strong, or maybe too much bleach.) The room had a musty odor similar to the hallway, and the carpet below and around the heating and cooling wall unit was rippled as if it had been wet multiple times in the past, and probably was the source of the room odor. The wallpaper had seen better days, and the shower, while good-sized, needed a serious floor scrubbing. The shower door trim had dark mold in the bottom corners. (My daughter wouldn't get in the shower till I put the terrycloth bath mat inside it to stand on, the floor was so icky looking.) The room's window curtain didn't go all the way across to the far edge of the window, leaving about five inches of glass exposed at the end, so to keep light from shining in, I used a clip on one of the wood clothes hangers on the rack by the window to pull the curtain and hold it over the exposed glass. Since we were at the back of the building, our room faced a quiet pasture, where we watched several horses having their breakfast in the morning while we got ready to go have our own. The continental breakfast was nice, with cereals, hot oatmeal, juices, pastries, bagels, fruit and eggs. The lobby desk staff was pleasant, especially the nice young lady who welcomed us. The indoor pool was small, and a bit chilly. The saddest thing was the little plastic guest "welcoming" sign sitting on the sink counter. It mentioned how popular their towels, blankets, irons, remote controls, etc. were with guests and listed the prices for each if guests wished to buy them from the front desk. It went on to warn that if any of the items in the room turned up missing, the guest would be charged that amount. I can't imagine why anyone would want the very thin and plain towels, or the used linens, or the minimally useful remote. Rather passive-aggressive. The building's free wi-fi worked for my ipod, so that was a nice convenience. The TV channel selection was pretty limited, and my younger daughter was disappointed that, though the Cartoon Network was on the list, for some reason it had no sound on that channel. Overall, it was a passable stay, but not worth the price (AAA discount at that).

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pickyeaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

I am in and out of hotels everyday and have had the best customer service via Nick, Sleep Inn. I highly reccommend trying this hotel over current competion....Marriot and Holiday Inn Express!!! This location has complentary breakfast and swimming pool!!!

Room Tip: We were in the back room, and noticed that there was no noise as were through other hotels...thanks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Next12Performance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashport, Ohio
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

Stayed here for Pirate's Weekend in June 2011 and had a great time! It was myself and two other girls. Our room was a standard non-smoking room with two queen beds and a rollaway bed. Had plenty of room, the room was very clean and the air conditioning was quiet! The bathroom area was clean and convenient and we had a large shower..what we like the most about the bathroom is, being three women getting ready at the same time to go to Put In Bay, the toilet and shower was separate from the sink and mirror, so we could take turns getting ready! The hotel staff was friendly and nice and we enjoyed talking to them..they always greeted us with a friendly hello and when we got back from Put In Bay very late Sunday morning, they greeted us and asked us all about our adventures! :) The hotel also had an indoor swimming pool and a workout room..also offered free basic continental breakfast each morning and the best coffee ever!! During the summer months, the hotel offers a free shuttle service that will take you and pick you up at Jet Express, and that was great! I liked the fact that I could leave my vehicle at the hotel and not worry about driving back, after a night of drinking on Put In Bay!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

I stayed here August 18 - 20 in a King Suite. The suite was very nice - plenty of room, very clean, excellent bathroom with a nice selection of towels and working exhaust fan.
That being said, the walls were VERY THIN and almost impossible not to hear every word spoken by your neighbors.
Some of the staff were very friendly, some were were not.
I really dislike hotels that have very nice rooms, but could care less if you get any sleep at night.

Room Tip: Great place to stay, unless you plan on sleeping
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jody B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Port Clinton hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Clinton hotels
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Clinton
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Port Clinton
BEST WESTERN Port Clinton
#4 of 17 in Port Clinton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
The Island House Hotel
The Island House Hotel
#2 of 17 in Port Clinton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
3.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#12 of 17 in Port Clinton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
4.1 mi away
OurGuest Inn & Suites
OurGuest Inn & Suites
#6 of 17 in Port Clinton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn & Suites

Property: Sleep Inn & Suites
Address: 947 SE Catawba RD, Port Clinton, OH 43452-2659
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Port Clinton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Port Clinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleep Inn & Suites is prime location for your Port Clinton vacation. We are close to African Safari-East Harbor State Park and the ferries to Put-N-Bay. We offer a complementary shuttle to the Jet Express (offer only peek season), early check in to get you vacationing faster. Complementary Hot Breakfast served from 6am - 10am daily, heated indoor pool and don't forget a nice fresh renovated room and an atmosphere that is warm and friendly. Come check us out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels and Hotels.com so you can book your Sleep Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Port Clinton
Port Clinton Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn & Suites Port Clinton, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing