We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really only one flaw”
Review of Sleep Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sleep Inn & Suites
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Port Clinton
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Pluses: very good staff (I recall Annette as being exceptionally helpful), competent & eager to make our experience a good one; property well maintained; good beds & furnishings. Minuses: thin carpet on room floor lifting up in spots. So overall an excellent experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank classicaphilia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanellePGM, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Thank you for commenting. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. I do apologize about the carpet, and I will have my maintenance staff correct that issue. We look forward to your stay in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (239)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 239 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2014

Affordable place, with clean rooms, friendly and helpful staff, and great continental breakfast. Close to the ferry and good for other activities too.
Rooms could use some updating. Overall great value. Restaurants nearby too.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lifeisagr8adventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanellePGM, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment and let us know how we are doing. We will utilize the information to make our guest stay more enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed at the Sleep Inn & Suites on May 3, 2014.

PROS

*price (almost half the price of Holiday Inn Express)

*breakfast (hard boiled eggs, cereal, homemade waffles, breads, fruits, sausage...)

*friendly/helpful staff

*clean

*location-close to Miller's Ferry

CONS

*very out-dated in regards to decor

*the rooms smell (The best way I can describe it is it's similar to stale odor you experience when you enter a second hand store like Salvation Army)

*noise-luckily the loudness and jumping above our room stopped by 9:30 p.m.

*the beds...oh, the beds...SO UNCOMFORTABLE! :( They are full beds (small) and hard. I woke up numerous times throughout the night.

Overall the hotel is ok. For the price you can't beat it. I know that's a popular location due to Putt-n-Bay. If you're on a budget, it's clean and affordable. Just bring an air freshner.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennGOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

I took my kids to stay at the hotel for a night away from home and to do a little swimming. The hotel staff was excellent! The pool room and water was very nice and warm! The down side was that the bathroom was small and the breakfast sucked.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zachary91011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

This is a regular hotel for me and my friends. We started staying here about 3 years ago when birding nearby--once or twice a year. The staff is helpful and friendly for the most part. The rooms are roomy, clean, well-lit and comfortable, but the decor is getting worn and tired. The breakfast is basic. Our gluten-free friends had very limited choices. The biggest issue was the wireless wasn't working our entire stay. For $90/night, it would be nice to have the full amenities, especially the wireless. One of my friends had work on her computer that needed attention, but she couldn't do it. The pool was also not available which wasn't an issue for us so much, but I imagine others were disappointed. (In fact, the marquee outside advertised the pool.) I will look at other options for our spring trip. We may end up back here, but I'm going to try for something a bit nicer.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ilovebirdsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Sleep Inn the Fri. of Labor Day weekend. It was the most affordable place to stay in Port Clinton that was NOT a dump. It was very convenient to the highway, beds were comfy, room was clean, & staff was exceptional! We would DEFINITELY stay again!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vwgn76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We stayed here 8/22/13 - 8/25/13. Went to the room, smelled bad, I went to tell the night Front Desk Clerk, he came and up to room and agreed. We went back down to the front desk, and he upgraded us to a suite which smelled great, we were very happy with that room. The staff are very friendly! If you have an issue with your room, speak up!! I will stay there again when visiting the area!

The hotel is located close to the Ferry to Put In Bay and the African Wildlife Safari, a must visit if you are in the area!

Room Tip: A/C works well, hot water in the shower!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank reneeistired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Clinton hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Clinton
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton
3.1 mi away
Best Western Port Clinton
Best Western Port Clinton
#4 of 17 in Port Clinton
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#13 of 17 in Port Clinton
210 reviews
4.1 mi away
OurGuest Inn & Suites
OurGuest Inn & Suites
#5 of 17 in Port Clinton
126 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Island House Hotel
The Island House Hotel
#3 of 17 in Port Clinton
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn & Suites

Address: 947 SE Catawba RD, Port Clinton, OH 43452-2659
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Port Clinton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Port Clinton
Price Range: £46 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleep Inn & Suites is prime location for your Port Clinton vacation. We are close to African Safari-East Harbor State Park and the ferries to Put-N-Bay. We offer a complementary shuttle to the Jet Express (offer only peek season), early check in to get you vacationing faster. Complementary Hot Breakfast served from 6am - 10am daily, heated indoor pool and don't forget a nice fresh renovated room and an atmosphere that is warm and friendly. Come check us out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sleep Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Port Clinton
Port Clinton Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn & Suites Port Clinton, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing