We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Think twice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Port Clinton
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Port Clinton
McDonald, Ohio, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Think twice”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I checked in not expecting anything more than a room with WiFi for 5 nights. I got more than I bargained for. The staff was pleasant and friendly but this hotel needs some serious TLC. As I checked in, a woman came limping down the hall with a syringe protruding from the front of her foot. She sat in a chair provided by the staff and removed the syringe from her foot. She sniffed the contents and proclaimed it an insulin syringe. She said she "found" it when she stepped near the skirt of the bed in her room. The staff was filling out a report when I went up to my room.
When I opened the door to my room I was greeted by a stale musty odor. I immediately turned on the AC unit and the odor got stronger. For the next 5 days I tried alternating between fan and AC to no avail.
I wasn't in the room much during the day, but sleeping was miserable. My sinuses would plug up and I would wake with a headache that progressively got worse throughout the week. I do not normally have sinus problems and can endure a lot of adverse conditions. When I would leave in the morning, my sinuses would clear up and my headache would vanish. In my opinion, after looking into the AC unit and seeing the coil covering in dirt and whatever, I would say there was definitely a microbial growth problem. The musty odor would support that.
The first night I checked in, the "high speed internet" was down, so my work that evening had to be put on hold. It took a while for them to get it back up. It was down again Friday night and Saturday Morning. It was very inconvenient as I had limited time to spend in the room to get my work done. I was very disappointed.
I will not stay here when I come back next week, or ever.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lou M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jane s, General Manager at Super 8 Port Clinton, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us in Port Clinton, Ohio. I am very sorry for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay. We have a 24 hour desk to take care of any problems that might
happen during your stay. I am sorry you did not let us know about the issues with your room.
We would have been glad to move you or take care of the problem so your stay would be more
enjoyable.
I must also reply to the issue of the lady you observed with the needle sticking out of her foot. This was a scam on her part to get a free night out of us. This was done on purpose. We had a gentleman that observed their conversation admitting they did it. His detail was put on Trip Advisor and it has since been taken off.
Again we are sorry for any inconvenience you experienced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    64
    78
    43
    27
See reviews for
77
68
31
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I booked a room (a 2 room "suite") for the 4th of July weekend, during weekends and holidays hotels are pretty packed in that area and very expensive! I was pleasantly surprised to find rooms available at decent prices a week before the holiday weekend. The hotel was only a 10 minute drive from the Miller Ferry and it was easy to find. We checked-in around 9pm, the girl at the front desk was nice and got us checked-in right away. The room wasn't anything fancy, but was just fine for a place to sleep, it did have a mini fridge, microwave & a safe. It had 2 double beds in one room and 1 double bed in the other attached room. We had to ask for more pillows & had no problems getting them, though they were awfully lumpy, but we survived. We didn't have any of the free breakfast they offered, we saw it, it looked pretty meager, but would work in a pinch. Overall it was a fine hotel and I would book it again if we were going to Put In Bay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenn1984Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jane s, General Manager at Super 8 Port Clinton, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We welcome any comments from our guests that will help us improve our hotel for our guests.
We hope to see you again. Enjoy the rest of the Summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Clinton hotels
0.0 mi away
Best Western Port Clinton
Best Western Port Clinton
#4 of 17 in Port Clinton
275 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#7 of 17 in Port Clinton
232 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Clinton
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#12 of 17 in Port Clinton
204 reviews
1.0 mi away
OurGuest Inn & Suites
OurGuest Inn & Suites
#6 of 17 in Port Clinton
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Port Clinton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Port Clinton

Property: Super 8 Port Clinton
Address: 1704 E Perry St, State Route 2 to State Route 163 West, Port Clinton, OH 43452-1426
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Port Clinton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Port Clinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Port Clinton 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Super 8 Port Clinton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel Port Clinton Hotel Port Clinton
Super Eight Port Clinton
Port Clinton Super Eight
Port Clinton Super 8
Super 8 Port Clinton Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing