We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel for winter stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Clinton
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Port Clinton
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Stayed at the Country Inn for 2 weeks for work.

Pros - great, friendly, helpful staff - always greeted you with a smile
good location, couple of good restaurants nearby

Cons - for a 2 week stay, the snow might've been plowed, but the parking lot was treacherous. One morning had a luke warm shower, but after telling the staff - water was hot after that.

Room Tip: Request a room on the first floor unless you want to lug your suitcases up a flight of stairs - no e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kathyak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AUDRIANNA_ASH, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Clinton, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear Kathyak,
Thanks for your review on your winter stay with us a few months back. It was great to have you ladies here for a few weeks with us, it really brightened my days seeing you at the front desk or in the breakfast room. I hope the rest of your winter went great, we had quite a rough patch of weather here this year, hence your comment about the parking lot is duly noted. I do hope to see you again when your work travels put you in the area. Have a great Spring!

Regards,
Angela Long
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (394)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

296 - 302 of 394 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2013

We had a discount rate from a travel site at the beginning of November at this location. Easy to find next to the highway exit, clean and trendy decor and a great free breakfast. Granted we were one of about 6 rooms rented on a Friday night in the off season but overall we thought this motel was better than most we visit.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AUDRIANNA_ASH, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Clinton, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear wanderlass,
Wow, great review, Thank You so much!
I am glad you got a great deal in the off season for your stay. There is not as much to do in the off season around Port Clinton than there is in the summertime, but we enjoy our off season guests because we feel we get to know you a little bit better this time of year. (Plus, we get a little lonely in the off season)
Great to have you stay, looking forward to a future visit , either in the summertime, or anytime!

Regards,
Angela Long
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We found the room clean but the carpet in the room is showing ware. Our room was very quiet, the pool was very warm but wall edges needed some attention. I used the exercise room and everything was working properly. Breakfast was excellent with different options each morning along with regular staples. The staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ziggynettie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AUDRIANNA_ASH, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Clinton, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear ziggynettie,
I am glad you enjoyed your recent stay with us here at Country Inn and Suites, Port Clinton. I agree with your review that the carpet needed steam cleaned badly, which was done as soon as possible this year after the busy season. The I am glad you enjoyed breakfast, and the pool. Looking forward to seeing you on your next trip through.

Regards,
Angela Long
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

If this is rated #2 of all the hotels in Port Clinton, I'd hate to see the other hotels there.
Carpet was stained; there was still a soggy coffee pod in the coffee maker; walls were paper thin could hear people above us at 3 a.m.The breakfast was fine and the staff was pleasant. But we stayed at another hotel in Saginaw for $30 less and it was much nicer. I don't think we'll be staying in Port Clinton again. Our room also had a weird smell like cigarette smoke.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pmwsmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AUDRIANNA_ASH, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Clinton, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear pmwsmw,
It seems your stay was not quite up to the standards that myself and the staff here strive for, and for that I would like to apologize. The carpets in every single room were recently deep cleaned, I do realize that they were soiled and that affected your stay with us. If you are in the area and require lodging, I do hope you would treat this as an isolated incident, and give us another shot.

Regards,
Angela Long
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Wonderful room and service. The breakfast was a pleasant surprise because it wasn't just bagels like other hotel chains. The swimming pool was clean and many towels were available on the spot. We got a great deal because we found a coupon in one of the travel books available at rest stops.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Renee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AUDRIANNA_ASH, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Clinton, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Thank you so very much for your fantastic review of your stay! I am glad you enjoyed all that our property has to offer, including complimentary full breakfast, indoor pool and more. Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to see you again soon!

Regards,
Angela Long
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Stayed the night with my family for a wedding. The hotel was clean and the pool was warm. The breakfast was fine as well.

Docked them a star because the front staff wasn't as helpful as I'd like in telling us about the area. They were very nice though.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuperAndo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AUDRIANNA_ASH, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Clinton, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Thank you for your review of your stay with us here at Country Inn and Suites Port Clinton, I appreciate you taking time out of your schedule to post it. We are glad you enjoyed the indoor pool and the breakfast. Hope to see you again, on your next time in Port Clinton!

Angela Long
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We decided to book rooms here after spending a day at Put In Bay. We checked into the hotel early (10 a.m., which was nice) dropped off our things and went down to the front desk. The front desk attendant was very nice and informative. He gave us all sorts of info on the area as well directions to the ferry with instructions, etc...We headed to PIB and got back to the hotel about 10 pm.... It was in a great location being right off the freeway and it was about 5 minutes from the ferry. If you plan to go to PIB and party, it's an excellent idea to get a room here and spend the night instead of driving home.

The hotel was very clean and comfortable and the rooms were airy and cheerful. The beds were comfortable enough for me and the bathroom was very clean.

We didn't use the pool or the exercise room but we did have breakfast and it was very good. It also included wifi which was free and there was ample desk space, which was helpful as my hubs had to do a bit of work. The room also included a mini fridge, coffee maker, etc....

I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suezinohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AUDRIANNA_ASH, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Clinton, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Dear sueinohio,
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us here at Country Inn and Suites, Port Clinton. You mentioned the early check in, and I am glad that worked out for you. We love early check ins, because we know our guests have tons of stuff they want do to, and the time to do it is sometimes short. If we have a room that is ready to put you in, we get you in early!
You also mentioned our front desk personnel, and you must have been speaking about either Mike or Matt. Both are wonderful, and are very knowledgable about the local area. I am glad that you enjoyed the room, and your husband was able to use the WIFI to get some work done (I think you can see him in the picture you posted, just working away at the desk)! We are looking forward to your next visit, and thanks again for the wonderful words about the hotel and the staff.

Regards,
Angela Long
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Clinton
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#8 of 17 in Port Clinton
239 reviews
3.0 mi away
Best Western Port Clinton
Best Western Port Clinton
#5 of 17 in Port Clinton
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Island House Hotel
The Island House Hotel
#3 of 17 in Port Clinton
398 reviews
4.0 mi away
OurGuest Inn & Suites
OurGuest Inn & Suites
#6 of 17 in Port Clinton
125 reviews
4.7 mi away
South Beach Resort Hotel
South Beach Resort Hotel
#1 of 3 in Marblehead
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Clinton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Clinton

Address: 3760 E State Rd, Port Clinton, OH 43452-2623 (Formerly Port Clinton Islands' Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Port Clinton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Port Clinton
Price Range: £63 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Clinton 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Clinton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Port Clinton
Fairfield Port Clinton
Port Clinton Fairfield Inn
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Clinton Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing