We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Historic Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Island House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Port Clinton
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We recently visited The Island House Hotel in downtown Port Clinton. It was perfect. Even though it was the off season our room was perfect. We immediately felt welcome by the warm and wonderful staff. Our room was beautifully decorated and very warm and comfortable. We cannot wait to return. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (401)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

371 - 377 of 401 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2012

My sister and I were looking for a place to meet between Cleveland and Detroit. Jeff and the staff were very accommodating, and the rooms were very roomy and comfortable. We will be coming back, both in the summer and over the winter months as well!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank halper02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We were looking for something in the Port Clinton area that was condusive to a relaxing break from our everyday life. Hubby checked us in and the manager made sure we had a beautiful view of the lake from our corner unit. At least 15 foot ceilings in a charming updated room in a historic hotel couldn't have been better. Super clean accomodations welcomed us, the weather cooperated for us to take a leisurely drive to the nearby Catawba Island (driveable), also able to walk to the local watering holes for a beverage. Nice breakfast with yogurt, waffles, and a staff that understands customer service makes this a destination we plan to repeat. There is a Mexican restaurant across the street with the best tamales ever!!! I think it's called Mercado's or something- sorry having a brain freeze from all the relaxing I did this weekend.

Room Tip: corner room overlooking lake view is prime
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vegasdreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

We stayed here during the off-season, over the Christmas holidays in 2011. This is a charming hotel, the staff is very friendly and accommodating, and unbeatable deal at this time of year. Ask for a view overlooking the harbor. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CathyR23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We found the Hotel very clean with updated furniture in the bedrooms. The Lobby was quite inviting with the Holiday decorations. Staff members and Jeff went out of their way to be accommadating and welcoming. Loved the waffles for breakfast.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shirley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

This Island House is a historic treasure of the Northern Shore, but it's not resting on its laurels. We enjoyed a wonderful stay over the holidays, in comfy rooms that were cozy warm, even as the wind whipped up a storm outside our many windows.

View of the lake, great staff, magical town, what more could one wish?

Room Tip: Get a corner room...lots of windows and great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

The staff were very friendly and assisted us in surprising our kids Christmas morning. The rooms were tastefully decorated and the beds were very comfortable. It made our long trip very memorable. We will definitely stay again! Loved it!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CASSinMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Clinton hotels
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton
4.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Clinton
0.2 mi away
OurGuest Inn & Suites
OurGuest Inn & Suites
#5 of 17 in Port Clinton
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#8 of 17 in Port Clinton
239 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Port Clinton
Best Western Port Clinton
#4 of 17 in Port Clinton
285 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#10 of 17 in Port Clinton
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Island House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Island House Hotel

Address: 102 Madison St, Port Clinton, OH 43452-1104
Region: United States > Ohio > Port Clinton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Port Clinton
Price Range: £48 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Island House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Island House is a unique combination of boutique hotel with historic charm. Enjoy an attentive staff, charming ambiance and free continental breakfast. Walk to Jet Express, fishing charters and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your The Island House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Island House Hotel Port Clinton, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing