We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Alternative to Typical Chain Hotels”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Island House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Port Clinton
Certificate of Excellence
cincinnati
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Alternative to Typical Chain Hotels”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

My husband and I just returned from a weekend stay at The Island House. Great location for catching the Jet Express to Put-in-Bay and just a scenic drive away from Marblehead and the Kelley's Island ferry. This historic building had a lot of charm. Other hotels we saw in the area were just your run-of-the-mill chains.
We had the second floor 'King Suite". Not really sure you should call this a "suite". Nice room with a King Bed, Micro-Mini Frig combo and very small bath. It was a pretty corner room with high ceiling and several windows. Unfortunately,the wooden binds did little keep out the street lights therefore the room was very light all night. Also VERY noisy from the street! It almost sounded as if a window was open.
My biggest complain was the housekeeping. Coffeemaker was not cleaned after the first day we used it, still had the leftover coffee and grounds in it after our room had been 'cleaned'. Same thing for the bathroom sink. Still traces of make-up etc left in it.
There was also a mix-up with our reservation. When we returned at mid-day our key didn't work. Went to the front desk and found out that the person who checked us in had mistakenly registered us for only one night. However, all our belongings were still in the room..they just re-keyed the lock. Thankfully, we returned in the middle of the day before they had time to 'give away' our room to a new guest.
All-in-all, I would probably recommend this hotel to the person who wants to experience something a little different and is willing to pay a little more for that. I'm glad we did it once. However, next time I would probably just do with the lower priced chains.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cincymom4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    133
    41
    16
    11
See reviews for
69
178
16
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

Very Nice experience. Kathy, GM and also Peggy and the gentleman who checked me in and showed me a couple of rooms. Thanks to all.

Room Tip: Great location. I am considering buying a room here. Port Clinton is great. I owned property on Cata...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
93 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

Clean and comfortable. They do not require a 2 night minimum stay like many of the hotels on South Bass Island. Conveniently located right across from the Jet Express. The room was all we needed and included a mini fridge. We would definitely stay there again on our next trip to Port Clinton.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bengals09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Level Contributor
351 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

I stayed here for close to a week during "The Biggest Week in American Birding." The location was handy to the conference headquarters (I don't mind driving a few miles) and many of the birding hotspots. I stayed in the spacious third floor king suite. No problem with street noise, even though the room overlooks the main downtown street corner and the entry to the harbor. There was one unique characteristic that reminded one that this is in fact a hotel that was established in 1886 -- it took (quite) a while to get hot water in the bathroom. At check-in, I was instructed to turn it on and let it run for a while and the hot water would arrive; it did, eventually, and was plenty hot once it got there. There is no ice machine per se, but ice is available by requesting it at the front desk. There was a room air conditioner, but it was on its last legs, I think, because it had trouble keeping the room cool with 80 degree temperatures outside, even when set at full cool. On the more positive side, the room was very clean. There was also an apartment size refrigerator, great for keeping drinks cool. There is an elevator, handy for getting those heavy suitcases upstairs, and a very good internet connection. The king bed was just right -- no problem sleeping at all. The hotel's greatest asset was the very friendly and helpful staff. Overall, a unique but very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: The King Suite is just right for a single or couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WYbirdwatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

Squeaky clean remodeled rooms with new furniture and flat screen TV’s. Nice refrigerator and super comfortable beds. Absolutely fantastic staff - friendly, knowledgeable, very personable and truly caring for guests needs. Absolutely the best choice in the Port Clinton area.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
107 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

Read the other reviews. I don't have a ton to add. Cute little room with a fridge and coffee maker. Super clean, comfy bed, nice flat screen, clean updated bathroom. Great linens, decorating, and fixtures. AC and a ceiling fan. Other hotels in Port Clinton are apparently hit or miss. Not this place though!!! They were waiting for us at 9PM when we arrived. Met Jeff the owner the next AM...he was super nice. The area is great!!! Right across from the Jet Express. There are many bars and restaurants all up and down the main Street the hotel is on. Also many fast food places, supermarkets, everything you need within 10 minutes. Can't wait to go back again, and explore Port Clinton. My goal is to stay in every room....so I can say I stayed in the same room as a President and Joe DiMaggio....Kudos Jeff and Staff....you have a winner!!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the elevator.....ours was at the end of the hall....not a deal-breaker....but cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cuzinbuzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
102 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

The Island House provides all the charm and personality of a b&b without the second "b". The staff is friendly and helpful, offering suggestions about where to go and what to do. The rooms are nicely decorated and don't feel like a chain hotel. The location was perfect: in the downtown area with restaurants and shop all around, and across the street from the ferry depot to the islands.

Room Tip: The staff told us that our room in the corner has iffy wifi access and offered a different room if t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sues87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Clinton
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton
4.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Clinton
0.2 mi away
OurGuest Inn & Suites
OurGuest Inn & Suites
#5 of 17 in Port Clinton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Port Clinton
BEST WESTERN Port Clinton
#4 of 17 in Port Clinton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
11.3 mi away
Bay Lodging Resort
Bay Lodging Resort
#1 of 7 in Put in Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#6 of 17 in Port Clinton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Island House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Island House Hotel

Property: The Island House Hotel
Address: 102 Madison St., Port Clinton, OH 43452
Region: United States > Ohio > Port Clinton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Port Clinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Island House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Island House is a unique combination of boutique hotel with historic charm. Enjoy an attentive staff, charming ambiance and World Class dining. Walk to Jet Express, fishing charters and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Island House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Island House Hotel Port Clinton, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing