We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and Unique”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Island House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Port Clinton
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This hotel was a pleasant surprise, very unique, very charming, clean and comfortable. The rooms were small but have everything you need for a nice relaxing retreat from the ordinary. I am looking forward to coming back on our next trip and highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a special place to make their trip a little more memorable.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (401)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

275 - 281 of 401 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Island House for three nights. I am so glad we found this hotel. We stayed in a king room that was super clean and the staff bent over backwards to make our stay fantastic. The rooms are small but great for our romantic weekend. The location is close to Fisherman's Wharf and the Jet Express Ferry and the hotel offers free wi-fi and a continental breakfast. Loved this hotel and will definitely recommend to my friends and stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mgbgtowners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The room we had was bright and clean, but it was extremely small. One had to slide sideways to get into bed from the wall-side; there was no room for a chair or desk--any computer work was done sitting on the bed (which was so high, it was not easy for me, a 5'4" woman to get up on). The electric outlets were difficult, too--we had to wiggle a plug from an angle, but I couldn't insert my three-pronged plug. The bathroom had a sink, but no counter. The wi-fi connection worked, but several things wouldn't go through. Though the ambience was nice, we'll find a more modern motel next time we stay in Port Clinton.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OmaOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Reminded us of hotels in Europe. Modest size rooms with a ton of charm. If you are looking for cookie cutter modern hotels look somewhere else. Even though the hotel has an old world feel the rooms are updated, clean and have all the things we needed including a small refrigerator and microwave. Staff was friendly and the location is great.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Island House this past Saturday night and before we even got into the building we were impressed w/the outside. A beautiful brick building. The inside is absolutely beautiful with a quaint, old fashioned charm about it. Our room was somewhat small.....but very cozy. Has to be one of the cleanest hotels we've ever stayed in! The attached restaurant/lounge is nice and convenient. The hotel is in walking distance to alot of other places to eat/drink as well. The front desk staff/ lounge staff were amazing at making you feel at home!! Would def. recommend for a nice overnight getaway.
Angela Abbott

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AngelinaAbbott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I am a nursing student and needed a short getaway near a body of water during my spring break to decompress. After doing some research on Port Clinton hotels, I decided on The Island House. I was not disappointed! The room was small but very clean and cozy. The bed was comfortable and the staff very friendly. The hotel is a very short walk to the lake and several restaurants. There is a fridge in a room and a nice complementary breakfast in the morning. It was also pretty quiet at night. Aside from the random conversation in the hallway, I did not hear any noise and was able to sleep in peace. I am already looking to book another stay during my next short break.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MsT83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This is a beautiful hotel with lots of character. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. The front desk staff were friendly and efficient. The attached restaurant and bar make it convenient, and there are several other great places for food and drinks within very quick walking distance. If you stay here, you have to wander across the street to McCarthy's Pub and try their homemade and dip. Delicious... and extremely addictive! Very pleasant stay at the Island House. I definitely hope to return someday.

Room Tip: The Starboard Suite was extremely spacious and we had no problem with noise. Full-sized refrigerator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CLM1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Clinton hotels
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton
4.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Clinton
0.2 mi away
OurGuest Inn & Suites
OurGuest Inn & Suites
#5 of 17 in Port Clinton
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#8 of 17 in Port Clinton
239 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Port Clinton
Best Western Port Clinton
#4 of 17 in Port Clinton
285 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#10 of 17 in Port Clinton
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Island House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Island House Hotel

Address: 102 Madison St, Port Clinton, OH 43452-1104
Region: United States > Ohio > Port Clinton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Port Clinton
Price Range: £49 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Island House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Island House is a unique combination of boutique hotel with historic charm. Enjoy an attentive staff, charming ambiance and free continental breakfast. Walk to Jet Express, fishing charters and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Island House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Island House Hotel Port Clinton, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing