We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Renovation could have been better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Island House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Port Clinton
Reviewed 10 October 2009

We stayed at the Island House Hotel recently during a trip to the Sandusky area. The hotel's website talks about the recent renovations and shows some very nice photos. Granted, the bathrooms had been subjected to a gut rehab, but the rooms had not. It has been my experience that when renovating an old hotel, owners try to expand the size of the rooms, i.e. take three rooms and redivide into two larger rooms, to accomodate the needs of today's travelers. Unfortunately, the Island House Hotel did not do this. Instead, they just put a king size bed in a 14 x 16' room clearly designed for no more than a double bed, leaving no room for much else, not even a chair. If you wanted to watch the wall hung flat screen TV, you had to sit on the bed. Not always the most comfortable arrangement, especially when your spouse wants to sleep and you want to watch TV. Also, air conditioning was provided by a slightly noisy window unit about four feet from the head of the person sleeping on that side of the bed.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (397)
There are newer reviews for The Island House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

394 - 397 of 397 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2009

My friends and I picked this hotel because it is right across the street from the Jet Express. The Port Clinton Jet Express takes half the time of the Sandusky one and has no stops.

We checked in, and because of the size of the hotel, they were expecting us. It had kind of a family feel to it. Our room was at the very end of the second floor. We could have taken the elevator, I guess, but the stairs seemed easy enough.

Upon arrival, we were pleasantly surprised to see that almost everything appeared new, two queen beds (instead of doubles like most hotels) a flat screen hanging on the wall, and a new heating/air unit. The bathroom was clean and modern. . the only clue to the hotel's age was the pretty long wait for hot water. Once it arrived, it was as consistent as a modern hotel.

Everything was very clean and smelled fresh. The beds had several layers of blankets and sheets, so if you tend to be cold, you will not be here. I ended up just using the sheet most of the time. I found the bed very comfortable. The a/c was very quiet for a hotel wall unit, probably because it was new, and the ceiling fan also helped. I tend to find hotel rooms with this many windows to be too warm, and this one was comfortbable.

Really the only negatives are small for the most part. There are no ice machines for guests; you have to go to the front desk if you want ice. Otherwise, Port Clinton provides the soundtrack (lots of gulls, occasional boat whistle, etc) that may make it too loud for window use, but that didn't bug me since I'm all A/C all the time. The continental breakfast was appreciated after a night of partying.

Because of its location, its a little pricey, and its usually fully occupied every weekend, so you need to plan ahead. If you're not staying on the island and you just want to walk to your room after the last boat from Put-In-Bay, this is a good choice.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingHombre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2009

We spent one night at this hotel. We really wanted to enjoy our stay there but we didn't. Perhaps over time they will smooth the issues out, since it might still be in the process of renovation. But the owners need a heads-up on the problems there and how the hotel is perceived by the customers so that they can fix these things and really become the Upscale Resort they claim to be.

I would not at all agree that it is an "Upscale Resort" as it claims on their website. The upside is that the beds were comfortable with fluffy comforters and the restaurant was nice. It is also very pretty on the exterior and close to the Lake. But we were highly disappointed with our stay there. Granted, we went in the winter - and this is a summer tourist area so perhaps it's nicer then. But we had many issues with our stay there. The rooms were cold, as were the hallways. There was no heat in the (tiny) bathroom (which made bathing a hasty maneuver). Essentially there was no hot water in the bathroom either, which was also dirty. The elevator doors wouldn't open without being forced. The hotel also claims they have free wi-fi but it never worked while we were there.

It's too bad because it is a quaint old hotel on the exterior and the staff was pleasant. So I am sorry to write such a bad review but next time, I'd find a Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank artbetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pama67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at The Island House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Clinton
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton
4.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Clinton
0.4 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#10 of 17 in Port Clinton
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
South Beach Resort Hotel
South Beach Resort Hotel
#1 of 3 in Marblehead
301 reviews
0.2 mi away
OurGuest Inn & Suites
OurGuest Inn & Suites
#5 of 17 in Port Clinton
124 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Port Clinton
Best Western Port Clinton
#4 of 17 in Port Clinton
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Island House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Island House Hotel

Address: 102 Madison St, Port Clinton, OH 43452-1104
Region: United States > Ohio > Port Clinton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Port Clinton
Price Range: £69 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Island House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Island House is a unique combination of boutique hotel with historic charm. Enjoy an attentive staff, charming ambiance and World Class dining. Walk to Jet Express, fishing charters and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Island House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Island House Hotel Port Clinton, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing