We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely view and great location.”
Review of Bay Haven Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Clinton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bay Haven Inn
Ranked #4 of 10 Port Clinton B&B and Inns
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely view and great location.”
Reviewed 1 June 2013 via mobile

A fantastic little place just a block or so from downtown with an excellent view of the lake from the front window and close to the pier where you can jump on the Jet Express to Put-In-Bay. The rooms are comfortable and clean and breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pixi_jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    1
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
29
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

My husband and I were looking for a nice bed & breakfast to spend the holiday weekend in the Kelley's Island/Put-In-Bay/Port Clinton area. We didn't want to stay at a hotel, and thought a Bed & Breakfast would be nice.

We happened across the Bay Haven Inn's website, and we booked Saturday/Sunday nights in the Niagara suite.

First, the location is ideal. Only 3.5 blocks from McCarthy's, Slater's Pub and 4.5 blocks from Jet Express, it is a very convenient place to stay.

Second, our room. Even though the Inn is on a busy street, the neighborhood is quiet. Our room, the Niagara, is nice sized, very clean and has a wonderful view of the lake. Perfect for what we were looking for

Third, breakfast. Ohhh, yes, the breakfast. Everyone talks about their breakfasts in the reviews. Well, it's true. Breakfast burritos, roasted breakfast potatoes, eggs benedicts, fruit crepes, fresh fruit, the fabulous, french toast with a fruit topping (which my husband talked about for two days).

Fourth, our host. Although we did not have a chance to meet Gretchen, Dave was a wonderful host. Very knowledgable, helpful and personable.

WIthout any doubt, we will be back to visit...maybe this fall during the wine tour.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Picky_Vacationer_50s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugheston, WV
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2012

My wife and I were just looking for a nice romantic weekend getaway. We found the Bay Haven Inn on the internet and we are very glad that we picked this one.
We stayed in the Caledonia Suite, and it was very comfortable,cozy, and clean.
Dave and Gretchen were the perfect host. The breakfast was awesome both mornings, "compliments to the chef."
They have a beautiful scenery of the Lakes right out the front door, and a park across the street.
Great stay with some great people. Hope to go back soon.

Thank's Gretchen and Dave for the perfect weekend getaway.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuck M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2012

My two sisters and myself decided at the last minute to get away and spend a week together. We decided to pick a halfway point and this area was perfect! We couldn't have picked a better place. The location of Bay Haven Inn was excellent as all attractions were a short drive or walk away. The price was very reasonable and Dave and Gretchen were awesome. Their B&B is quaint, clean and quiet. The breakfasts and hospitality were outstanding. They were very accomodating and gave us some great suggestions for places to see and do!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Niagara Room and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aaatraveler50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

My fiance and I stayed there in May, 2012 for a weekend get away. We stayed in the Caledonia Suite, it was very clean and comfortable. Dave and Gretchen had a great breakfast ready for us in the morning, and were very helpful when we were planning our day around Port Clinton and Put-in-Bay. The Bay Haven Inn is right across the street from a park and is overlooking the lake, so we had a great view while eating breakfast. Its also conveniently located within walking distance to the Jet Express. This was our first bed and breakfast stay and thanks to Dave and Gretchen it will not be our last!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BradThorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Culpeper, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We loved the fact that the rooms were clean and cozy without a lot of "stuff" crammed into them. Great view of Lake Erie and across from a park with a pier. Close to Kalahari and Cedar Point. Owners are friendly and breakfast was good both days. Gretchen (one of the owners) has a great sense of humor. It was nice and quiet. Just what we needed.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank futurehosts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, OH
Level Contributor
113 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Highly recommend. We got a package which included gift certificates for dinner and massages. Great view from the house. Within walking distance to the Jet Express. Gourmet breakfast. Love the bath in the Caldonia suite. Very comfortable bed. Very personable inn-keepers. Great family.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Beth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Clinton hotels
0.4 mi away
The Island House Hotel
The Island House Hotel
#3 of 17 in Port Clinton
390 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Port Clinton
Best Western Port Clinton
#4 of 17 in Port Clinton
260 reviews
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
OurGuest Inn & Suites
OurGuest Inn & Suites
#5 of 17 in Port Clinton
113 reviews
3.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Clinton
3.9 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#7 of 17 in Port Clinton
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Haven Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Haven Inn

Property: Bay Haven Inn
Address: 426 E Perry St, Port Clinton, OH 43452-1147
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Port Clinton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Port Clinton
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Bay Haven Inn Port Clinton, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing