We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's Not Bad”

Crosswinds Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #14 of 78 Restaurants in Port Clinton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$21
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Description: Crosswinds Restaurant & Bar is a clean, casual, family friendly atmosphere with a wide selection of food and drinks that the entire family can enjoy. Specialties include Lake Erie Perch & Walleye, choice-cut steaks, baked pastas and a selection of delicious 1/2 lb. Black Angus burgers. Also offered are pizza, subs, wraps, a kids menu, and a tempting dessert menu. Crosswinds also offers full bar service including a wide selection of beers, mixed drinks, amazing martinis, and frozen cocktails. Dining areas overlook either the runway of the local PCW airport, or the miniature golf course of Island Adventures Family Fun Center. Check out the value and quality that Crosswinds has to offer!
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This restaurant has an expansive menu. The service was adequate and the prices are reasonable. I had the fried perch and walleye platter with coleslaw and a baked potato. Others in our party had hamburgers, pizza, salad and an assortment of sandwiches. The food tasted fine, but it did not stand out. I would return to this restaurant if I was with a group of friends who wanted to go there, but it would not be my first choice for lunch or dinner.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This was a real disappointment after visiting Crosswinds regularly over the years. Seasonal visitors might not be so aware but the local year round residents certainly are. Several of our neighbors mentioned they have stop going there as the food quality has slipped and their locally famous Cameo pizza had really fallen to the pits. When our daughters were in town for Father’s day weekend we all decided on Crosswinds, we all can confirm our several neighbors opinions were justified and spot on. I personally was totally disappointed in the pizza, it was a greasy mess, and I had no meat on it to supply the grease. Another pizza of my daughters was so skimpy on the toppings, I’m surprised the waitress would even serve it. My wife had the perch and it was pretty good as compared to past experiences. I know we live in a seasonal area and expect rising prices in the summer months, but it also seemed rather expensive for a Chili’s/Applebee’s level of resturant. I agree with our neighbors, we have much better restaurants in the area at similar prices. However, if you have small children, it’s a great place for putt-putt golf and many other games, just hope the quality of the food improves and take your credit card! If you want a fantastic pizza, take the little extra time to drive into Sandusky to the “original” Cameo’s, for the 20 minute ride you won’t be disappointed!

Thank johnnT6635YV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owner_or_Manager, Owner at Crosswinds Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello, and thank you for your continued patronage. We are more than disappointed to hear that you weren't satisfied with your experience. Please understand that, as locals ourselves, the livelihood of our families, children, and those of our entire team rely on the satisfaction of the guests of our establishment. Therefore, we would appreciate your direct contact with our management team so that we can address these issues individually and head-on. Online reviews are certainly within individuals' rights, but it's direct, constructive communication that is what will help our operation continue to grow, learn, and provide nearly 50 local area jobs. We cannot address issues unless we know about them, and I can assure you that had we been made aware of your unacceptable pizzas at the time, we would have not only made the issue right but could have used the experience as a learning opportunity for whichever team members failed at providing you excellent product. As locals, we certainly don't want guests sending other guests out of the area for the same product, made with the same fresh ingredients, delivered multiple times a week right from the original location, so your input will be more than appreciated. Please contact us at your convenience at crosswindsrestaurantandbar@gmail.com and provide us with whatever feedback you can. Also, we invite your neighbors to do the same if they would be so kind to take the time to do so. We hope you give us the opportunity to learn what we can do to continue to improve and grow our operation by contacting us. We won't survive without local patronage, which is why your input is so important to us. Thank you again for your feedback and regular visits, we hope to have the opportunity to regain your trust and support.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2018 via mobile

Second time we visited. We ate there a year ago when we were in town. Not very impressed last year but the reviews on TA sounded pretty good so we thought we just had a bad night. However after visiting again, I stand on my last review. Strictly average

Thank Janine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owner_or_Manager, Owner at Crosswinds Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2018

Hi Janine, thanks for the return visit! We strive to exceed expectations and have apparently not done so in your case. For that we are regretful and apologetic. If you submitted this review in an effort to help us improve for the well being of our guests, staff, and the families who depend on them to continue working, we would love to hear your constructive advice in greater detail. Please email us at crosswindsrestaurantandbar@gmail.com with details of your visits and thoughts on how we can better serve our guests. Our hardworking family deeply thanks you in advance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2018 via mobile

Ate here on Derby Day for dinner after being on the lake all day. Burgers were nicely done and very flavorful. Bar area was nice and kudos to having the race on every TV. Would definitely recommend.

Thank Thomas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owner_or_Manager, Owner at Crosswinds Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Thanks so much for your visit and kind words, Thomas! Our crew is dedicated to making sure our guests' expectations are exceeded, and we truly appreciate you taking the time to send them your positive vibes. See you next time!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

Went on a Sunday evening. The service was very good and the restaurant decor was pleasant. The waitress explained specials well. The Tin Goose burger that I got was very tasty.

Thank tajiri02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owner_or_Manager, Owner at Crosswinds Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Thank you so much your visit and for the review! We appreciate the kind words, and are pleased and humbled that you enjoyed the facility and the Tin Goose Burger! If you have a moment, could you please let us know who the server was so we can let him or her know of your review? You can e-mail us at crosswindsrestaurantandbar@gmail.com, or edit your review to let us know who he/she was. Again, thank you so much for your patronage!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Crosswinds Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Crosswinds Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing