We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 Thumbs Up !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Erie Islands Resort Marina
Ranked #17 of 17 Hotels in Port Clinton
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“2 Thumbs Up !”
Reviewed 27 March 2011

We were very pleased with our visit, and the Price was right. We actualy asked to preview the rest of the Resort while there our second day. We owned 2 other ownership programs before Purchasing, now our 3rd and most Favorable Points package. We are excited to return A.S.A.P. with our family. Mr. And Mrs. Dowelsworth.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rickersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    26
    19
    27
    55
See reviews for
58
69
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2011

I would recommend this resort to anyone. From the viewpoint of a member... This place is great! It has it all. Swimming, playing, fishing and relaxation! Sounds like the other reviewers ought to stay at a chain hotel. This is NOT a chain hotel. It is a great place for those who can get out of the big box, big corporate world, thinking.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hmmmx3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2010

We reserved 2 rooms and after the fact read the reviews and had gotten frightened - almost cancelled our reservations. Well, after confirming that we did not have an 11 pm curfew - Gates are monitored until 2 am and if you need to stay out later for a 10 dollar deposit which is returned at checkout you have access to get in and out after 2 am. We stayed at their 40 room hotel - 1 room was large enough for our whole party, if we would have known that we would not have rented 2. Air conditioning was ice cold, rooms were very clean and up to date, though we stayed out late on the picnic benches outdoors and either got bit by many spiders or possible bedbugs? Pool does close a bit early as does the gameroom 9 pm - Overall I have been at places that were horendous at twice the cost. It was a great place to stay if you are going to Cedar Point which is less than a half hour away. Vacations are adventures - have fun at Erie Island Resorts. They do ask you to do a Time Share Tour, but we did not go and there were no hassles. Maids came early - didn't let them in, but I am sure they were there to do their job! There is a train that goes by often, but it is not annoying, quite romantic - I am sure there is a majority of places that are much closer to that train that goes by, part of the adventure!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shindig_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2010

I want to warn others who are considering this "resort".

When we arrived early, we asked if it was possible to get our room early. The unfriendly front desk attendant told us that it wasn't possible because the rooms were still being cleaned, but our room wasn't cleaned. When we got into our room, we had received the wrong room. They set up a family with 2 adults and one child with one queen size bed. The unfriendly front desk attendant said we were lucky she had another room available and tried to blame us for their mistake. Upon arrival the front desk attendant told us we had to return by 11 p.m. each evening because security would lock down the gates and we would not be able to get to our room. "A CURFEW"!

The front desk was closed every weekday at 5 with no service all night. The phone didn't work, no maid service, no remote for TV, room was dirty and staff was not friendly or helpful.

The next morning we left the maid service hanger on our door, guess what--they didn't clean our room, make the beds, we received clean towels only!

The pictures on their homepage resort are not recent---don't waste your money!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Johnson072010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Port Clinton hotels

Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2010

They should be embarassed and people who stay here need to complain. Filthy dirty, stained bedding, dirt everywhere, nasty vents, faulty air conditioning & appiances. The pictures they show of the cottages is of the one model, there is no cottage that looks like that, not even close, though they will tell you they are in the process of renovating. DON'T BELIEVE IT, THEY HAVE BEEN SAYING IT FOR YEARS!!! I talked to several employees who told me so!!!!!
Gross, nasty, disgusting, stay here and you will pick up something for sure!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank maggie50207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2010

The inn was a little hard to find, but once we got settled in our room, it was worth the trip. Lots of renovations have been done, you can still smell the fresh paint and carpet. The only complaint, if you would call it one, was the linens could be updated, and I'm sure that will happen with everything else they are doing there. My husband and I went for a weekend getaway and were so impressed with the staff and how relaxing everything was that we will definitely be going back. Everytime we saw a staff member in the foyer or in the lounge, they wanted to make sure we had everything we needed. This was one of the most relaxing trips we have had. The getaway packages are a great deal and they are not skimpy on the meals that are included with the package like we have found at other inns. Even though the rooms are hotel style rooms, they were roomy enough that we didn't feel cramped. We have recommended this place to several people already and are trying to plan a getaway with other family members there later this summer. It seemed like a great place for family reunions. There was a large group there while we were there. Thank you to the great staff for helping make this a weekend to remember. If you have time for a little drive, I recommend going to the R.B. Hayes Presidential Museum. It is great if you are a history buff or not. They had carriage and sleigh rides while we were there. Very nice.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luvs2trvlwmarv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2009

I must first state that my significant other, with whom I traveled, is an "owner," having bought into this complex when it was first being developed. We've stayed there many times--in the RV park, the hotel/inn, and the cottages. Over the years, the cottages and inn have just been overall neglected. (In spite of repeated assessments for "new" and "updated" furniture, etc.)

We last stayed in the inn in July, 2009. Thought it might have improved. No such luck. The room, as stated in other reviews, are very small--although we knew that, so not a big deal for a one-night stay. However, the walls are paper-thin. In the past two stays in the inn, we have had noise from adjoining rooms, and these were "normal" sounds of low TV volume, normal speaking voices, etc.

Also, while the peeling wallpaper has been removed and replaced by paint (an improvement if they're not going to keep the wallpaper in pristine condition), the bedspread was spotted and old. The bathroom was clean, but the wall above the tub was cracking. Even at the "owner's discounted price" of $70/night in-season, it was way too expensive for the room itself. We did not use the pool(s) or any of the other amenities, although they seemed to be well attended. There's no ice machine in the Inn--instead a large thermal drink container in the lobby served as the "ice machine." Tacky at best. The rooms do have a small refrigerator and microwave. No hair dryer or bathroom fan, however.

We've had better experience staying in the RV section which seems to be well maintained and has full hookups. This is a better bargain (discounting the gasoline to pull an RV there) overall. Erie Islands, clean up the Inn!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Almost60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Clinton hotels
8.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton
8.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Clinton
5.3 mi away
Best Western Port Clinton
Best Western Port Clinton
#4 of 17 in Port Clinton
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#10 of 17 in Port Clinton
68 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Island House Hotel
The Island House Hotel
#3 of 17 in Port Clinton
392 reviews
8.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#7 of 17 in Port Clinton
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Erie Islands Resort Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Erie Islands Resort Marina

Property: Erie Islands Resort Marina
Address: 4495 W Darr Hopfinger Rd, Port Clinton, OH 43452-8907
Region: United States > Ohio > Port Clinton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 17 Hotels in Port Clinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Erie Islands Resort Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Erie Shores and Islands is one of the top destinations in Midwest receiving nearly seven million visitors a year. Port Clinton is a central location to a wide array of fabulous activities that range from catching the Jet Express to the Islands; Cedar Point amusement park; several indoor water parks; winery’s; water sports; boating; fishing; camping & bird watching. If you love fishing you have to visit Port Clinton the Walleye Capital of the world. Our beautiful 375-acre waterfront resort is nestled on the Portage River, a tributary to Lake Erie, in Port Clinton Ohio. Erie Islands Resort enjoys an exclusive location very near the myriad of area activities but just far enough away to enjoy amazing Sunrises overflowing with spectacular color, Sunsets gently touching the water with a million dollar view in every direction and unspoiled star filled nights right at your door step. Erie Islands offers a variety of accommodations from our Victorian Style waterfront hotel, spacious cottages, luxurious vacation homes with private dock, or for the camping enthusiast 138 campsites. For our boating guest at Erie Islands we can accommodate you with our 100 slip marina. Indoor and outdoor enthusiasts, and children of all ages, will find a wide array of amenities and activities right here at Erie Islands. When you visit Erie Islands you will soon find yourself in the midst of a recreational paradise with our 15,000 square foot recreation center and 375 acres of grounds. Some of the many onsite amenities include restaurant, lounge, Aveda Spa and retail store, outdoor/indoor pools, outdoor/indoor hot tubs, kiddie pool, 10 private stocked fishing lakes, 125’ river fishing pier, exercise room, racquetball courts, basketball court, tanning spa, general store, snack bar, arcade, billiards, pool bar & disc golf course.At Erie Islands Resort & Marina, you really can have it all – it’s all about family, fun and relaxation while creating memories that will last a lifetime! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Erie Islands Resort Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erie Islands Resort Marina Hotel Port Clinton
Erie Islands Hotel Marina
Erie Islands Resort Marina Port Clinton, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing