We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but could be much more!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Erie Islands Resort Marina

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Erie Islands Resort Marina
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Port Clinton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice but could be much more!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

Spent 2 nights and 3 days on a Groupon deal. First the good... Staff was very nice and helpful. The free dinner, though not the best food, was a very nice time as was the wine and cheese reception. The spa was very nice as my wife loved her massage. The property was beautiful on the Portage River but that leads to the bad. The property could be so much more with the addition of simple lit walking paths or bike trails. The pool and rec was nice though a quick stroll from the inn. The resort could use a shuttle to Port Clinton as there is not much to do on the resort. Also, the rooms were small and old-fashioned and blah. They could use a spruce up and a way to watch or rent movies on the tv or a dvd player. Also, it would be nice if there was a small restaurant on the resort even if it is off-season. Finally, the staff was very nice but very unprofessional looking. All wore jeans and whatever shirts. Uniforms go a long way to making a place look professional. I would go again but not at expensive prices and not without a sprucing up of the establishment.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trup13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    26
    19
    27
    52
See reviews for
59
68
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tallmadge, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

We felt like we were stranded in the middle of nowhere with NOTHING to do.The "marina" didn't have a single boat and the water smelled rancid.Checked in @ 4,pool closed rec. center closed by the time we ordered dinner, the bar was closed & the grille/restaurant. We sat in a room the bed barely fit in,No music, I could have watched T.V. @ home.Thought, oh well, we"ll eat candlelight dinner,wine & cheese (within 2 hours of each other) & find somewhere to stay tomorrow, until we told the manager we weren't happy(the front desk had also closed for the night by 6pm).He then said they weren't having dinner that night.WE RAN ! Had a great time at best western in Port Clinton.$74 a night jacuzzi room with breakfast.

Room Tip: Don't stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Shelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Had a great time. We went for a weekend getaway and loved it. The food was good and the staff was very helpful and accomadiating. Loved the cocktail hour and continental breakfast.

Room Tip: Suggest a room upstairs it is close to everything!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeannie0817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

We went to the Erie Islands Resort with another couple for the weekend. We had a wonderful time! After reading some of these reviews we were not sure what to expect. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the rooms were clean and we had no complaints. We purchased through JB Dollar coupon $99 for a two night stay, wine and cheese reception, free continental breakfast both mornings, and dinner with a bottle of wine and dessert. For that price you can't go wrong. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and will definitely come back again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank b56coffey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

We were scheduled for a tour which we thought was for the hotel. Was immediately put off by trailer park near the entrance. Met some folks in the parking lot who informed us that the "tour" was a three hour strong arm sales pitch for condos. We left.

Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Junedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

We purchased the Groupon weekend and we had a great time. We were a little concerned regarding the reviews, but since we were not travelling with our kids, we could venture through just about anything, We were not disappointed. For the cost of a cheap hotel for one night, we received two weekend nights, wine and cheese reception, continental breakfasts, and dinner for two with wine.

The room was clean and updated, but a little on the small side, but that was a minor flaw in a great weekend. The staff was friendly and they did invite us to a sales presentation for their resort, but it was completely voluntary. In exchange, they picked up our dinner check for the night which wasn't included, so my wife and I can listen to a sales pitch for 90 min for $50. Again it was completely voluntary and in the end - no pressure, so that was very nice.

We would definitely do this deal again as an off-season couples get-a-way. We are even considering bringing the family back for a weekend for all of their summer activities. Nice job by the staff on having this deal.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BuckeyeFan106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allen Park, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

We booked our stay through what we thought was a fabulous Living Social deal. The deal was to include an early check-in, a cheese and wine reception, and $75 towards the Aveda spa. We arrived an hour after our early check-in time and our room still wasn't ready. We had upgraded our spa package to a couple's massage which was canceled because the room they were supposed to be using for the couple's massages wasn't ready yet. All of their spa rooms were hotel rooms spaced throughout the Inn that they had taken the beds, dressers, etc.. out of. We had planned on relaxing in the hot tub after our massages but on Sundays, the building where the pool and the hot tub are located, closes at 4:30. It is an entirely separate building known as the Rec Center that you have to drive to from the Inn. The cheese and wine reception was cancelled that night as well due to a convention being there. I will say that the staff was friendly and the Inn, although nothing spectacular, was clean. Also, the manager did bring us a cheese and cracker tray and bottle of wine to our room since the reception was cancelled. We were not overly impressed with the grounds either. There is an RV park when you first pull into the gated area. We will not be returning.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Karin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Clinton hotels
8.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton
4.1 mi away
The Island House Hotel
The Island House Hotel
#2 of 17 in Port Clinton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
8.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Clinton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
OurGuest Inn & Suites
OurGuest Inn & Suites
#5 of 17 in Port Clinton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
5.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Port Clinton
BEST WESTERN Port Clinton
#4 of 17 in Port Clinton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
4.1 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#13 of 17 in Port Clinton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Erie Islands Resort Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Erie Islands Resort Marina

Property: Erie Islands Resort Marina
Address: 4495 W Darr Hopfinger Rd, Port Clinton, OH 43452-8907
Region: United States > Ohio > Port Clinton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Port Clinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Erie Islands Resort Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Erie Shores and Islands is one of the top destinations in Midwest receiving nearly seven million visitors a year. Port Clinton is a central location to a wide array of fabulous activities that range from catching the Jet Express to the Islands; Cedar Point amusement park; several indoor water parks; winery’s; water sports; boating; fishing; camping & bird watching. If you love fishing you have to visit Port Clinton the Walleye Capital of the world. Our beautiful 375-acre waterfront resort is nestled on the Portage River, a tributary to Lake Erie, in Port Clinton Ohio. Erie Islands Resort enjoys an exclusive location very near the myriad of area activities but just far enough away to enjoy amazing Sunrises overflowing with spectacular color, Sunsets gently touching the water with a million dollar view in every direction and unspoiled star filled nights right at your door step. Erie Islands offers a variety of accommodations from our Victorian Style waterfront hotel, spacious cottages, luxurious vacation homes with private dock, or for the camping enthusiast 138 campsites. For our boating guest at Erie Islands we can accommodate you with our 100 slip marina. Indoor and outdoor enthusiasts, and children of all ages, will find a wide array of amenities and activities right here at Erie Islands. When you visit Erie Islands you will soon find yourself in the midst of a recreational paradise with our 15,000 square foot recreation center and 375 acres of grounds. Some of the many onsite amenities include restaurant, lounge, Aveda Spa and retail store, outdoor/indoor pools, outdoor/indoor hot tubs, kiddie pool, 10 private stocked fishing lakes, 125’ river fishing pier, exercise room, racquetball courts, basketball court, tanning spa, general store, snack bar, arcade, billiards, pool bar & disc golf course.At Erie Islands Resort & Marina, you really can have it all – it’s all about family, fun and relaxation while creating memories that will last a lifetime! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Erie Islands Resort Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erie Islands Resort Marina Hotel Port Clinton
Erie Islands Hotel Marina
Erie Islands Resort Marina Port Clinton, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing