We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Much fun and excitement”

African Safari Wildlife Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Drive-through safari park features more than 100 acres of land where hundreds of rare and exotic animals roam free in simulated settings.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Wapakoneta, Ohio
Level Contributor
153 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Much fun and excitement”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Things to know:
We have a zoo membership, and got in for half price.
The admission price included a 1# bag of Dole carrots, and a blue tag to hang on your rear view mirror to indicate that you have purchased carrots.
Without that blue tag, they will confiscate any "outside carrots" brought in.
Additional 1# bags are $5 at the safari park. Walmart sells 2# bags of carrots for $1.28
I'm not suggesting that you stock up on carrots at Walmart before heading to the park, then buy just one bag from them to get that blue rear view mirror tag. . . well, wait, actually I am. That's what we did, and it made our experience much more enjoyable as we felt we got our money's worth on feeding the animals without having to spend $35 on carrots to do so.
You can go back thru as many times in a row as you'd like for free.
We went thru two times and used 7 pounds of carrots.
The alpacas were first, some deer and sometimes the buffalos crossed over to the early part of the drive thru. Midway thru were more deer, sometimes more buffalos and camels. At the end were giraffes and zebras.
At one point we had 4 buffalos sticking their heads through our open windows and we were laughing so hard, and screaming so loud it was hilarious. I would love to see them add a couple ostriches to the mix, but we have always left happy (this was our 3rd time in 3 years visiting this drive thru park).
They have a walk thru area where the kids can have a free camel ride. There is an animal show that at the end allowed the kids to pose with a large python snake and receive a free photo of themselves with the snake around their neck. There is also pig races and an albino alligator.
Animal shows, I believe, were at 11, 1, 3 and 5 pm while pig races were 12, 2 and 4 pm.
The park closes most nights (maybe all nights?) at 7 pm, with last admissions at 6 pm.
It takes about 30 minutes to drive thru and do plenty of feeding, 60-70 minutes if you go thru twice.
There is a gift shop and ice cream parlor on site.
We arrived at about 10:30 a.m. And the animals were extremely active and hungry!
The ticket booth has a line on the right and left of it, but if you look ahead you will see a 2nd ticket booth further up. Bypass the two lines at the first booth and head up to the right side of the 2nd booth.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
18 Thank scott10619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASWPASWP, Guest Relations Manager at African Safari Wildlife Park, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We wanted to explain the regulation on animal food to you.

African Safari, like all other zoos, is regulated by the United States Department of Agriculture’s (USDA) division of Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service. This means that many times per year a government agent will tour our park and ensure the highest quality of animal care. We are governed by the Animal Welfare Act under the USDA, according to this act if public feeding is allowed, food must be provided by the animal facility, be appropriate to the type of animal and be appropriate for the animals nutritional needs and diets.

If we allow our guests to bring in outside food, our park could actually be closed.

We are glad that you had a fun time with us but do ask that you not bring your own carrots. We hope to see you again soon!!

Like us on Facebook for chances to win free passes to the park!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    303
    266
    111
    41
    36
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“fun family adventure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Drive thru zoo, feeding animals real fun for kids. Mostly deer, elk, and alpacas that come close to car. The walk through part of the zoo is small but nice.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank anledw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASWPASWP, Guest Relations Manager at African Safari Wildlife Park, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are glad that you had such a fun time! Our animals sure know how to get up close and personal! We hope to see you again soon.

Like us on Facebook for chances to win free passes to the park!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“More than expected”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

We had a car of six and had found a coupon online. We thought it would be fun but were more impressed than we thought. Lots if animals and a variety! Giraffes were my favorite. The ONLY disappointment was the conditions of the restrooms.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisaklann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASWPASWP, Guest Relations Manager at African Safari Wildlife Park, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are glad you had such a great time!
We apologize that you were not satisfied with the conditions of our bathrooms and are fixing this issue.

We hope to see you back soon!!

Please like us on Facebook for a chance to win free passes to our park!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Worth visiting once -- fun for kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

This park is famous for its drive-through safari. The animals have no fear, and will crowd around your car begging for food. Of course, you can (and should) buy some. One tip -- the giraffes are the best and also last on the tour, so be sure to save some carrots for them. If you have kids, they will love the experience, but be careful when your windows are down, because the animals will poke their snouts right into your car.

Also, while virtually every visitor does the drive-through, far fewer get out of their cars to do the walk-in section. It doesn't have the sizzle of the drive-through, but it is worth a visit.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASWPASWP, Guest Relations Manager at African Safari Wildlife Park, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us.
With your admission price, you get access to both the Drive-Thru and Walk-Thru portions of our park. We are glad you had such a great time! We hope to see you back soon!!


Follow us on Facebook for a chance to win free passes to the park!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“What an experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

This was worth the visit for any animal lovers! The walk thru park is shaded and has a nice variety of animals. The pig races were fun and interactive. The drive thru safari was amazing! The buffalo were overwhelming, but gentle. The elk and deer are cute and hungry for food. Feeding the giraffe from my sunroof was the ultimate experience! Hope to visit again!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASWPASWP, Guest Relations Manager at African Safari Wildlife Park, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are glad you had such a great time!
One of our favorite experiences that we recommend is feeding our Giraffes through a moon roof! We hope to see you back soon!!

Follow us on Facebook for a chance to win free passes to the park!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed African Safari Wildlife Park also viewed

 

Been to African Safari Wildlife Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing