We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and different”

African Safari Wildlife Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Drive-through safari park features more than 100 acres of land where hundreds of rare and exotic animals roam free in simulated settings.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Animals roaming around in the wild come up to your car to be fed. A buffalo and a giraffe actually stuck their heads in the window. Watch out for Buffalo drool. Expect to pay extra for "special" animal food (carrots, etc.) to attract the animals to your vehicle (over priced especially since you're feeding their animals). There is a restaurant on site and other attractions to keep you occupied during your visit.

1  Thank Torero reviewing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASWPASWP, Guest Relations Manager at African Safari Wildlife Park, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review us.

We are glad that you had a fun time with us. We hope to see you again soon!!

Like us on Facebook for chances to win free passes to the park!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (862)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

506 - 510 of 862 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

So much fun! A blast for the whole family!! Plus, a really nice place for a picnic in a zoo like setting. Pig races, playground, free camel rides too. We've been there twice!

1  Thank iculookin13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASWPASWP, Guest Relations Manager at African Safari Wildlife Park, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are glad that you had a fun time with us.

We hope to see you again (for a third time) soon!!

Like us on Facebook for chances to win free passes to the park!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Things to know:
We have a zoo membership, and got in for half price.
The admission price included a 1# bag of Dole carrots, and a blue tag to hang on your rear view mirror to indicate that you have purchased carrots.
Without that blue tag, they will confiscate any "outside carrots" brought in.
Additional 1# bags are $5 at the safari park. Walmart sells 2# bags of carrots for $1.28
I'm not suggesting that you stock up on carrots at Walmart before heading to the park, then buy just one bag from them to get that blue rear view mirror tag. . . well, wait, actually I am. That's what we did, and it made our experience much more enjoyable as we felt we got our money's worth on feeding the animals without having to spend $35 on carrots to do so.
You can go back thru as many times in a row as you'd like for free.
We went thru two times and used 7 pounds of carrots.
The alpacas were first, some deer and sometimes the buffalos crossed over to the early part of the drive thru. Midway thru were more deer, sometimes more buffalos and camels. At the end were giraffes and zebras.
At one point we had 4 buffalos sticking their heads through our open windows and we were laughing so hard, and screaming so loud it was hilarious. I would love to see them add a couple ostriches to the mix, but we have always left happy (this was our 3rd time in 3 years visiting this drive thru park).
They have a walk thru area where the kids can have a free camel ride. There is an animal show that at the end allowed the kids to pose with a large python snake and receive a free photo of themselves with the snake around their neck. There is also pig races and an albino alligator.
Animal shows, I believe, were at 11, 1, 3 and 5 pm while pig races were 12, 2 and 4 pm.
The park closes most nights (maybe all nights?) at 7 pm, with last admissions at 6 pm.
It takes about 30 minutes to drive thru and do plenty of feeding, 60-70 minutes if you go thru twice.
There is a gift shop and ice cream parlor on site.
We arrived at about 10:30 a.m. And the animals were extremely active and hungry!
The ticket booth has a line on the right and left of it, but if you look ahead you will see a 2nd ticket booth further up. Bypass the two lines at the first booth and head up to the right side of the 2nd booth.

18  Thank scott10619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASWPASWP, Guest Relations Manager at African Safari Wildlife Park, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We wanted to explain the regulation on animal food to you.

African Safari, like all other zoos, is regulated by the United States Department of Agriculture’s (USDA) division of Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service. This means that many times per year a government agent will tour our park and ensure the highest quality of animal care. We are governed by the Animal Welfare Act under the USDA, according to this act if public feeding is allowed, food must be provided by the animal facility, be appropriate to the type of animal and be appropriate for the animals nutritional needs and diets.

If we allow our guests to bring in outside food, our park could actually be closed.

We are glad that you had a fun time with us but do ask that you not bring your own carrots. We hope to see you again soon!!

Like us on Facebook for chances to win free passes to the park!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Drive thru zoo, feeding animals real fun for kids. Mostly deer, elk, and alpacas that come close to car. The walk through part of the zoo is small but nice.

Thank anledw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASWPASWP, Guest Relations Manager at African Safari Wildlife Park, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are glad that you had such a fun time! Our animals sure know how to get up close and personal! We hope to see you again soon.

Like us on Facebook for chances to win free passes to the park!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

We had a car of six and had found a coupon online. We thought it would be fun but were more impressed than we thought. Lots if animals and a variety! Giraffes were my favorite. The ONLY disappointment was the conditions of the restrooms.

2  Thank Lisaklann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASWPASWP, Guest Relations Manager at African Safari Wildlife Park, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are glad you had such a great time!
We apologize that you were not satisfied with the conditions of our bathrooms and are fixing this issue.

We hope to see you back soon!!

Please like us on Facebook for a chance to win free passes to our park!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed African Safari Wildlife Park also viewed

 

Been to African Safari Wildlife Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing