We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must Stay”
Review of Our Sunset Place

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Clinton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Our Sunset Place
Ranked #1 of 10 Port Clinton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Our hosts Bart and Sandy were impeccable as well as their establishment. It was spotlessly clean, beautiful, homey and comfortable. The view of Lake Erie from the deck was breathtaking. We just left and are already planning our next stay at this remarkable Bed and Breakfast.

Room Tip: Any room is awesome. We stayed in the Heron room on the upper floor and could not have been more pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2013

Took the family up to Catawba for an end of summer trip. Kids are ages 13,19 and 26. So glad that Our Summer Place had rooms available! The property is so lovely! The lakefront views were stunning from every room in the house. The large deck and the lower patio by the water were favorite hang outs. We had a blast in the large hot tub that evening. The large sitting room has a variety of books on birding and Lake Erie . We all slept well in the very comfortable beds. Breakfast was served out on the deck and was so good! We wished we could have stayed longer! Thanks Sandy and Bart for sharing your lovely house!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1959Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

Lovely view of the lake and sunset. Very nice accommodations and owners. Loved the Sunflower room. Good restaurants close by. Delicious breakfast on the deck overlooking the lake. We will return to stay longer and explore the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoriWWiersema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Sandy and Bart really do a VERY nice job. Our room was clean and comfortable, every breakfast (we stayed 3 nights) was excellent and the view gorgeous. So peaceful and relaxing sitting out on the patio enjoying a nice bottle of wine. I only wish we could have stayed longer, but hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peppergrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

My wife and I stayed there for a weekend. There were no guests, so we had the house to ourselves. The house itself is pretty nice. The room we had was very nice, with a Tempurpedic mattress and flatscreen with plenty of channels to choose from if you just want to hang out. You get a platter and bottle of wine with a 2 night stay that were also enjoyable. The house is right on the lake with a great view. The hot tub is very large and has a feature that allows you to swim against a 'current' it produces. There are white Christmas lights hanging up around the hot tub. The breakfasts are tasty and filling. The only disappointment was the game room. On the website, it lists a game room with a giant tv, wii, etc. However, it is a garage that is filled with other things, not permitting use of any of the games. Overall, it was a good experience and I would return.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kiirn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

My wife and I stayed at Our Sunset Place in January 2013. We were the only guest at that time. The view of Lake Erie from the location on Catawba Island (actually a peninsula) was great. The price for a room in the winter was very reasonable. On the down side, the area under the patio was cluttered and unattractive.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JCOhio31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Our Sunset Place is on a spectacular piece of property right on Lake Erie with many places to sit outside to enjoy the view, read and relax. The large outdoor hot tub is one of those which includes the 'swim against the current' feature. The property also offers a pool table. Bart and Sandy are welcoming hosts and attentive to your every want and gave us some special touches since it was our 10th anniversary. The breakfasts were delicious. Breakfast is served at 9:00 with everyone sitting down at once which was new to me. A two night stay includes a complimentary bottle of wine and meat and cheese platter. The bathroom in our room downstairs had 10 shower heads and a towel warming rack! It is within walking distance to Mon Ami Restaurant which was so good, we went twice. We took a trip on the JetExpress and spent the day walking around Put-In-Bay.

Room Tip: Three of the rooms are wonderful, the Herring Room is a bit small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank GreetingsFromMonica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Clinton hotels
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton
2.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#9 of 17 in Port Clinton
239 reviews
2.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Clinton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Island House Hotel
The Island House Hotel
#3 of 17 in Port Clinton
401 reviews
4.1 mi away
OurGuest Inn & Suites
OurGuest Inn & Suites
#5 of 17 in Port Clinton
126 reviews
4.4 mi away
Marshall Inn
Marshall Inn
#5 of 10 in Port Clinton
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Our Sunset Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Our Sunset Place

Address: 2803 E Sand Rd, Catawba Island, Port Clinton, OH 43452-2744
Region: United States > Ohio > Port Clinton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Port Clinton
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Our Sunset Place Port Clinton, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing