We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and Right on the Water”
Review of Our Sunset Place

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Clinton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Our Sunset Place
Ranked #1 of 10 Port Clinton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This is our second time staying at a B&B. This was a great experience too. Sandi and Bart were great hosts. Sandi's breakfasts were so delicious and creative. Easy to tell she loves to cook. We had breakfast both mornings of our stay on the deck looking out over the water. Very quiet and peaceful. The location was great for us. They are located a short drive between the two ferries to Put in Bay. Sandi provided a discount card and great suggestions on places to go. We stayed in the Mediterranean Room; loved it. Comfy bed and fabulous pillows. We plan to stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahPU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

I am so thankful I found this lovely B&B!! Found the price very reasonable for the location, hospitality and breakfast. Having dietary restrictions for medical reasons I never thought I would be able to stay at a B&B and actually enjoy the breakfast part. Sandy was more than accommodating with my dietary restrictions, and truly made this trip the perfect getaway. I desperately needed a couple days away and I don't think there could have been a better location! Right on the lake, beautiful water and sunsets. Loved the spa hot tub, the shower (amazing showers in two of the rooms!), reading on the deck (beautiful view of the water), and stairs down to a little seating area right by the rocks/water. Was close to everything I wanted to do in the area, but was also so wonderful I barely left to do other things. I would highly recommend a stay here to anyone looking! I don't think you could have a better experience.

Also - the website has a virtual tour which does a very good job of showing you what the place/views/rooms are like!

Room Tip: I stayed both in the herring room and the mediterranean room. Both great! Herring room had a queen b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annachristinebox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

A perfect place to stay!! Excellent breakfast & very accommodating to every detail Room so comfortable, everything very clean. So nice to hear the water clapping against the shore as we fell off to sleep.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josiegirl90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Loved this B&B. Had a very relaxing stay here with my daughter. The view of Lake Erie is amazing from the house and back deck. Breakfast on the back deck was really nice and the food was delicious! As the name of the place implies, the sunset was absolutely gorgeous. Sandy and Bart are wonderful hosts; they made us feel welcomed. Sandy gave us some great tips about our sightseeing trip to South Bass Island. We stayed in the Herring Room, which had a beautiful bathroom and comfortably sized room with pretty decor. Had a great time, and will definitely be back!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank cindy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

As soon as you enter the house, you see the view of the lake. The kitchen is spectacular and the common room is very comfortable. This is out second time staying here and it was just as fabulous as the first time. The beds are so comfortable and you also have a flat screened tv in your room. We live the water and just to sit outside and relaxing and enjoyable! The breakfasts sandy makes are to die for, usually you don't need to eat lunch :) You get a cheese plate and a bottle of wine(whatever kind you like) We like it so much that have decided to come back every year for our anniversary! We are very thankful to have found this place!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nickkatie28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This was our first stay at any bed and breakfast. We were blown away by how much we loved the place, the view of Lake Erie, our room, the food, and most importantly, the service and hospitality of the owners, Bart and Sandy. First of all, the location is wonderful. The bed and breakfast resides in a peaceful, yet scenic part of town, that has access to Cedar Point, Marblehead, the Lake Erie islands, and plenty of fine dining. The view of Lake Erie is absolutely fantastic as well. We were able to sit on the back deck of the bed and breakfast and watch a gorgeous sunset both nights that we stayed at the bed and breakfast.

Next, the food that was prepared for breakfast was amazing. The work and touch that Sandy puts into the little nuances of the breakfast makes for a wonderful morning experience, not to mention that the food tasted heavenly. The greatest treasure of the stay though, was how we were treated by Bart and Sandy. They are wonderful hosts who have a great sense of hospitality, professionalism, humor, and personality. I have no reservations recommending this place, as my wife and I look forward to returning in the future some time soon.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank ChadandSara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We have stayed at several Bed and Breakfasts, but, Our Sunset Place, is our favorite place. The location was perfect, the rooms beautiful, the breakfasts were awesome. We are already talking about a return visit! Bert and Sandy made you feel at home and we enjoyed talking with them. Looking forward to our next visit. The Kodek's

Room Tip: All the rooms have a beautiful view of the lake - what ever you chose, you'll love.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 123Sue1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Clinton hotels
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton
2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Clinton
2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#8 of 17 in Port Clinton
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Island House Hotel
The Island House Hotel
#3 of 17 in Port Clinton
402 reviews
4.1 mi away
OurGuest Inn & Suites
OurGuest Inn & Suites
#5 of 17 in Port Clinton
126 reviews
3.1 mi away
Best Western Port Clinton
Best Western Port Clinton
#4 of 17 in Port Clinton
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Our Sunset Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Our Sunset Place

Address: 2803 E Sand Rd, Catawba Island, Port Clinton, OH 43452-2744
Region: United States > Ohio > Port Clinton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Port Clinton
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Our Sunset Place Port Clinton, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing