We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“God for the money!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Commodore Perry Inn and Suites
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Port Clinton
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed in a king jacuzzi room. The room had a musty smell when we walked in but was clean. The pool was nice. The restaurant/bar attached is good for some nightlife. Across the street from the beach. Nice stay!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank MrsLindsayClark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
There are newer reviews for Commodore Perry Inn and Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2014

This was my 3rd time in Commodore Perry so obvioulsy we have learned what to ask for to get the most out of the trip. We returned twice to be next to Docks Beach House right across the road, one of our favorite Lake Erie hang-outs. If you are a first time visitor and can handle some noise and party time as part of the trip then read on. For us anyway it was convenient to be able to go to Docks and the on site Mr Eds Bar without concern for having to drive.

Four summers ago I arranged a block of 10 rooms here for our baseball team while they were playing in a local tournament sponsored by the Sandusky Legion for 16 year olds. Their rates were right in line for room block rates we had experienced in mostly Marriott Courtyards all over the Midwest that same summer and our group had no complaints that I can remember. This is not a hotel I would advise families traveling with small children to book and just stick with what everybody else does at Lake Erie and book over by Cedar Point in all the chain hotels if your kids are younger.

Before you can the whole idea of Commodore Perry because of all the bad reviews take these things into consideration:
The Jet Express Dock is within easy walking distance if that is how you like to Island hop. After a day of being on the islands and then coming back to dinner and a night cap at Docks or Mr Eds we never had trouble falling asleep even with a band playing but that is just us.
Our rooms have always been as clean as possible with what the maid service had to work with. Granted the hotel and its furnishings are old and tired, which is typical of older private properties throughout the entire region. Newer places are easily double the price. Snag a room at the opposite end of the building as the bar, the view is great and you are insulated from the party people just a bit better.
Skip the cold cereal breakfast and drive to downtown Port Clinton less than a mile away where you have several great choices if you need strong coffee or hot cookin' first thing in the morning.
This place is very popular with bikers, but before you jump to conclusions, all 3 times we have been here the biker crowd is moslty older adults traveling as couples or small groups and are likely not the people making such a disturbance described in some reviews. The bikers we have encountered here are nice folks enjoyng their weekend getaways and pump alot of $$ into the regional economy.

If I were to offer any commentary to the hotel management, it is annoying to see empty beer bottles on the stairs and the smell of smoke lingering in the end of the building the next morning when you get out to grab some coffee. It just means somebody is not completing their job at closing time and taking care of the mess at 3 am rather than 9 am would probably benefit your approval rating. They certainly make enough money there to hire an off duty policeman or private security to just have a presence and ask people to refrain from behavior that disturbs hotel guests, smoking indoors, and leaving their trash for others to pick up.

All things considered, this hotel is always our 1st choice when coming to the Lake for a weekend getaway.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
8  Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We arrived early and the room was ready. everything was exactly as stated in the description of the hotel and room on the web sight. staff was friendly and helpful. got a room with Hot Tub and it was wonderful. room clean and comfortable enough for and overnight stay. just a short walk to the jet boat express, very convenient. we were planning on staying at the beachfront resort, but it was already closed for the season, so this was the next best thing and we were not dissapointed. just a heads up if you want wings at mr eds, the firestorm wings are not very hot! but they were tasty anyway!

Room Tip: Rm. 102 was the farthest away from the bar/music... good choice!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank raykatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Our room was overlooking the lake. It was very clean, and had every comfort including 3 queen size beds, great shower, TV and everything you would want. The thing that impressed me the most was we had a tragedy during our trip. Three friends sharing a room and having a great time, but one of us did not wake up on the last evening of our trip. Needless to say this was a horrible shock and we were devestated. We were supposed to check out at 11:00 a.m. that morning, but the hotel said we could stay as long as we wanted and would give us another room for that night free of charge plus anything we wanted to eat or drink in the restuarant. We did not take that kind offer up, but just knowing that there was no pressure to hurry and leave as we had police and all kinds of things going on was comforting. Even the cleaning staff was kind and offering their smpathy. Besides the great room I would highly recommend this place because the management is caring. Jan, San Jose, CA. We stayed Sept. 3rd thru 6th 2013.

Room Tip: Room facing Lake Erie and the Dockside Restaurant across the street have the best view and are quiet...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert_PT2721VX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I chose to stay in Port Clinton while visiting Put In Bay, a resort destination on an island in Lake Erie. This was a much more economical choice than the extremely expensive lodgings on the island during peak tourist season. This hotel is walking distance to the high speed ferry, Jet Express, and my room had a beautiful view of the lake. The clerk at the reception desk was most helpful and informative. He told me he had a room away from the on-site restaurant and bar, which would be quiet, and it was, completely so. He also recommended the restaurant on the beach, across the street, also owned by this hotel. That also proved to be an excellent suggestion. My room was perfectly adequate, clean and comfortable, and I appreciated the fridge. If I'm ever in this area again I will definitely choose the Commodore Perry.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room away from the in-house bar/restaurant if you want peace and quiet.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Even though there were No Smoking signs posted everywhere, our room and whole floor smelled like smoke.There is a loud bar attached to the hotel and one across the street. Even with the medication I have to help me sleep and a noise machine, I still heard the people above us and the music, not to mention the people going up and down the hall trying the door handles. One guy tried to push his way in our door at 2:00 in the morning. He was drunk and looking for his friend apparently. We should have known something was not right when there is a huge sign posted on the front desk counter that says "We are not responsible for our guests actions". Would never stay there again. And for the price, it definitely wasn't worth it. I do have to say that the room was relatively comfortable and clean.

Room Tip: If you stay here, try to ask for the 3rd floor. Other people we know who stayed there said that floo...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank jnifr31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013 via mobile

Thin walls, with old creeky bed, though the TVs in rooms new and the staff was nice. Fridge & micro in rooms they also have a cold indoor pool. Bar is on property so that can be good or bad depending on who you are. We've stayed here annually for many years but now the price is so high we'll look for another place. Check my pics out to see the view out our window for $109.95 plus taxes and fees, and this was on a Weds. eve. Also breakfast has got very little choices, no yorgart or waffles, but it served till ten.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Diamond3650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Clinton hotels
0.0 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#10 of 17 in Port Clinton
72 reviews
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton
4.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Clinton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Best Western Port Clinton
Best Western Port Clinton
#4 of 17 in Port Clinton
283 reviews
0.5 mi away
OurGuest Inn & Suites
OurGuest Inn & Suites
#6 of 17 in Port Clinton
124 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Island House Hotel
The Island House Hotel
#3 of 17 in Port Clinton
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodore Perry Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore Perry Inn and Suites

Address: 255 W Lakeshore Dr, Port Clinton, OH 43452-9477
Region: United States > Ohio > Port Clinton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Port Clinton
Price Range: £70 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Commodore Perry Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Commodore Perry Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commodore Perry Hotel Port Clinton
Commodore Perry Inn And Suites Port Clinton, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing