We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't want to go home!”
Review of Beachfront Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Beachfront Resort
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Port Clinton
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Didn't want to go home!”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Spent 2 nights, literally, steps from the beach. Stayed in a Jacuzzi King Suite. Room was clean and neat. Staff was pleasant and efficient. Bed was comfortable, Boyfriend loved the large, flat screen TV and the 2 person Jacuzzi. Could use some minor updating...new mini blinds (difficult to open from wear), new ice bucket (cracked) and freezer in fridge needed defrosting...but these are small, easy fixes for a great 2 day escape! We look forward to returning!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holly_lynn44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    17
    12
    7
    6
See reviews for
16
24
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spring City, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We spent a couple of days here last week and had a great time. They have a private beach and a nice restaurant on the beach and both are very nice. Our room was nice and clean and had a microwave, and small very cold refrigerator . Everything was very clean except I think the floor needed to be mopped and the beds were very comfortable. The breakfast is held in the hotel across the street in a tiny room. We went the first morning and skipped the second, since it really wasn't all that nice. But Will stay there again if we go to Port Clinton.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kclineff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Circleville, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We spent a couple of days here last week and had a great time. They have a private beach and a nice restaurant on the beach and both are very nice. Our room was nice and clean and had a microwave,small very cold refrigerator and a wet bar. Everything was very clean and the beds were very comfortable. Will stay there again if we go to Port Clinton.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linnie1145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deshler, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

My sister and I came to your resort for a mini-vacation and had a wonderful experience! Everyone was very friendly (especially Heidi)! It was clean and very comfortable! Close to everything you would like to do. Plenty of restaurants within walking distance. Just to sit and listen to the waves was awesome! We did not see any fire pits but it was so windy when we were there that it didn't matter. Thank you for a wonderful time! We will be back and will also tell all of our friends about this cozy beach resort!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

we went for a girls getaway,we got a Jacuzzi double,which was very clean,the resort was very close with in walking distance to jet express,we loved the fact it had its own beach with a bar dockside right across the sand from our room.we didn't have to leave our balcony to hear the band at night that played on the deck of the bar,we also loved the firepits on the beach,also the fact that Mr,eds was also right across the street. we walked to downtown port Clinton from this place .we found it very close to everything we needed the staff was great,every morning they was out cleaning the beach area.Our only down fall was the breakfast that we had to walk across the street to the commador for.the breakfast could of had a little more & they could of restocked the breakfast bar & checked it when milk was empty or drinks etc,,,.that was our only complaint during our whole trip.we will be going back yearly.I would maybe bring my family through the week but Not on weekends we all know the lakeside is a party area so save your family trips for weekdays.other than that its a great place to stay if you want a beach front getaway close to jet express & downtown Port Clinton.

Room Tip: I would of upgraded to a king Jacuzzi to get the great view on the end! but all rooms has a side vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank djlynn61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strongsville, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

After "checking" out this so called resort to make sure it met our needs, we booked the room for two nights. Upon arrival, the place seemed "perfect". After being in the room, with the door closed, the room began to smell profusely! After 6pm the lobby is totally closed for the evening, therefore, you have no one to call to complain. No phones in the room either!! At first we thought it was the carpeting, but the next morning at breakfast, we had a conversation with another couple regarding "the smell". They were a handicap couple and did not have carpeting in their room. They agreed with us, their room had a profound odor. I would love to write more but there is not enough space to continue. Needless to say, this place stinks and we will never ever return! Vacationer beware!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank riri234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Port Clinton hotels

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We stayed here for a weekend with a group of friends that wanted to go over to Put In Bay. This is a small 18 room motel located on the lake with a small beach area. The beach area has a deck with chairs to relax and enjoy the sunset, firepits, and beach games. There is a restaurant (Dock's beachouse) that serves lunch and dinner not more than 500feet across the beach.The restaurant has a nice outdoor deck, bar, and live music.
This motel is a good choice if you are looking for a place that is not over at Put In Bay , but you want to be able to get over to the islands easily. The jet Express is a 5 minute walk over the drawbridge to the boat. If you choose to drive, you can park in the lot across the street at no charge.
I typically don't stay in motels, so I am not sure what is expected. We arrived at 7pm on a Friday to find a "closed" sign on the hotel office. Luckily , someone in my group told me to go across the street to the 'sister hotel' to check in..........or I would have had no idea. The rooms were clean and had the basic amenities. It would be helpful if WIFI passwords were located somewhere in the rooms (this goes for all hotels!). I didn't like the fact that I had to walk across the street to get ice at night, but it terms of complaints that is minor.
We enjoyed our day relaxing on the deck, being able to walk over to the restaurant next door in our flip flops and get lunch and frozen drinks.
In addition, we met the owner "Mr. Ed" who was there having his high school reunion (the facility also has a pavilion). Mr. Ed also owns bar/restaurant on Put-in bay we have patronized in the past, and is always a good time! He told our group to grab some dinner at their buffet, which really suprised us. It is always nice to patronize a business that appreciates you.

*Right across the street (owned by same Mr. Ed) is a hotel with comparable location. This hotel also has a bar/nightclub.
*within one mile is a grocery store, convenience store, and a variety of restaurants.

I found the price of the motel to be a little expensive, however, i didn't look into comparable prices of hotels in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jwsmith66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Clinton
9.2 mi away
South Beach Resort Hotel
South Beach Resort Hotel
#2 of 3 in Marblehead
278 reviews
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton
0.4 mi away
The Island House Hotel
The Island House Hotel
#3 of 17 in Port Clinton
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Clinton
0.0 mi away
Commodore Perry Inn and Suites
Commodore Perry Inn and Suites
#15 of 17 in Port Clinton
104 reviews
11.3 mi away
Put-in-Bay Resort Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachfront Resort

Property: Beachfront Resort
Address: 252 W Lakeshore Dr, Port Clinton, OH 43452-9452
Region: United States > Ohio > Port Clinton
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Port Clinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beachfront Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Beachfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachfront Hotel Port Clinton
Beachfront Resort Port Clinton, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing