We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely View - That's It”
Review of Beachfront Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Beachfront Resort
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Port Clinton
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I realize it's peak season on Lake Erie's southern shores, but the $225/night we paid for the king jacuzzi suite was excessive for the accommodation. Bathroom is small with tiny neoangle shower and one towel bar. Freezer in mini fridge was so frosty you couldn't fit anything in it. Jacuzzi could go away and put in a comfortable loveseat. Bed was so high (I think to facilitate view of lake through bay window), that you almost had to run & jump to get on the bed. Door did not latch without engaging lock. Outside of our room was storage for folding chairs and tables which marred the view from our room. Lots of weeds & trash. Staff was minimal but helpful when you asked. Parking shared with restaurant next door, and frequently no where to park in the evening. Would not go back nor recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Inlawsandoutlaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

I booked a room at this place after reading reviews on here under the title "Beachfront Resort". Well, this isn't a resort, it is an old, 2-level, 18-room motel with outdoor entrances and some updates. If they would call it the "Old Beachfront Motel" and charge like $90/night, I would have been pleasantly surprised and rated this place a 5. I paid for the room over the phone and once I arrived, I felt overcharged and misled.

The description said it was beachfront resort with a pool and hot tub and a jacuzzi tub in the room. It is beachfront - albeit a very small lakefront one - and it does have a jacuzzi tub in the room. However, the pool and hot tub are across the street at the sister property. I went to check them out. The hallway of the Commodore Perry smelled very bad and the pool was small and gross. I decided not to let my kids come across the street to swim there. This was not a resort experience. I am not sure how the term "resort" is applied here, but I was super disappointed when we arrived and saw our room. That being said, the beds were comfortable and the in-room jacuzzi was great. There were a few cleanliness issues - mascara on the comforter, sprayed pop dried on the wall, and spill-stained side chairs, but the sheets were fresh and soft and overall the room was pretty clean. We also ate at the Dockside restaurant and hung out at the beach. Our service at the restaurant was slow but friendly. The cost for the food was way overpriced. Who charges $20 for a bowl of spaghetti at a bar in Ohio? Our meal should have cost around $45, instead it was $95. Even so, we enjoyed sitting on the deck and having a drink at the beach. The kids had fun playing in the sand and dipping their toes in the water.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cnft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Spent 2 nights, literally, steps from the beach. Stayed in a Jacuzzi King Suite. Room was clean and neat. Staff was pleasant and efficient. Bed was comfortable, Boyfriend loved the large, flat screen TV and the 2 person Jacuzzi. Could use some minor updating...new mini blinds (difficult to open from wear), new ice bucket (cracked) and freezer in fridge needed defrosting...but these are small, easy fixes for a great 2 day escape! We look forward to returning!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holly_lynn44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We spent a couple of days here last week and had a great time. They have a private beach and a nice restaurant on the beach and both are very nice. Our room was nice and clean and had a microwave, and small very cold refrigerator . Everything was very clean except I think the floor needed to be mopped and the beds were very comfortable. The breakfast is held in the hotel across the street in a tiny room. We went the first morning and skipped the second, since it really wasn't all that nice. But Will stay there again if we go to Port Clinton.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kclineff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We spent a couple of days here last week and had a great time. They have a private beach and a nice restaurant on the beach and both are very nice. Our room was nice and clean and had a microwave,small very cold refrigerator and a wet bar. Everything was very clean and the beds were very comfortable. Will stay there again if we go to Port Clinton.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Linnie1145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

My sister and I came to your resort for a mini-vacation and had a wonderful experience! Everyone was very friendly (especially Heidi)! It was clean and very comfortable! Close to everything you would like to do. Plenty of restaurants within walking distance. Just to sit and listen to the waves was awesome! We did not see any fire pits but it was so windy when we were there that it didn't matter. Thank you for a wonderful time! We will be back and will also tell all of our friends about this cozy beach resort!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

we went for a girls getaway,we got a Jacuzzi double,which was very clean,the resort was very close with in walking distance to jet express,we loved the fact it had its own beach with a bar dockside right across the sand from our room.we didn't have to leave our balcony to hear the band at night that played on the deck of the bar,we also loved the firepits on the beach,also the fact that Mr,eds was also right across the street. we walked to downtown port Clinton from this place .we found it very close to everything we needed the staff was great,every morning they was out cleaning the beach area.Our only down fall was the breakfast that we had to walk across the street to the commador for.the breakfast could of had a little more & they could of restocked the breakfast bar & checked it when milk was empty or drinks etc,,,.that was our only complaint during our whole trip.we will be going back yearly.I would maybe bring my family through the week but Not on weekends we all know the lakeside is a party area so save your family trips for weekdays.other than that its a great place to stay if you want a beach front getaway close to jet express & downtown Port Clinton.

Room Tip: I would of upgraded to a king Jacuzzi to get the great view on the end! but all rooms has a side vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank djlynn61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Clinton
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton
0.4 mi away
The Island House Hotel
The Island House Hotel
#3 of 17 in Port Clinton
403 reviews
4.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Port Clinton, OH
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Best Western Port Clinton
Best Western Port Clinton
#5 of 17 in Port Clinton
285 reviews
9.2 mi away
South Beach Resort Hotel
South Beach Resort Hotel
#1 of 3 in Marblehead
306 reviews
4.2 mi away
Erie Islands Resort Marina
Erie Islands Resort Marina
#17 of 17 in Port Clinton
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachfront Resort

Address: 252 W Lakeshore Dr, Port Clinton, OH 43452-9452
Region: United States > Ohio > Port Clinton
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Port Clinton
Price Range: £72 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beachfront Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Beachfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachfront Hotel Port Clinton
Beachfront Resort Port Clinton, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing