We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“too many crying complainers THIS IS A SIMPLE NICE PLACE.”
Review of Beachfront Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Beachfront Resort
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Port Clinton
Medina, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“too many crying complainers THIS IS A SIMPLE NICE PLACE.”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

my family stays there every year we go there just to ply in the water ,, we go places in the area, we sit and have a fire outside at night and we all love it there the staff is true and friendly and been with it for years ,the sister hotel is the one across the street and yes the pool or breakfast is there . but if you bring your own things and just want to enjoy the sand and water its nice and simple and hot tubs for 4 in the rooms . some others I read on here are simply people that complain about most things in life im sure the negative type. the lady talking of grit on the floor ?its sand !! its all over outside your room the floor is tile . and really if you had a family or group of friends you can book the whole place and have a private fun time there only 16 or 18 rooms total. you all can catch up sit around the fire enjoy a drink or snack its a simple nice place here and the crying from others kind of makes me sick. its an older original hotel that had the name long before others been out there . IF you are a fluffy stuffy person that wants others to treat you like royalty (which in your real life your not!) then go elsewhere if you like a relaxing place to sit n talk with your family and friends this is a good place. we bring our own drinks and some fire wood and relax that simple ,,there is nothing else at the hotel but your room and a lake to enjoy. also side notes the bar n grill next door u walk over eat anc come back to your room and another door down is a jetski rental place we rented from turns out they area a nice local family from olmstead that are nice and simple aswell . mick c, medina ohio this is a true review!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank mickcarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    17
    13
    7
    6
See reviews for
17
24
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on our way back from Put in Bay. Very nice beach hotel. We needed a rest after a weekend of drinking. We just layed on the beach and had a good nap. We had dinner at Docks Beach House and watched the sunset. Very good place to stay.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank bob a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steubenville, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My spouse and I acquired two rooms for two nights for us and our friends from Canada. We found the accommodation to be in a great location. However, we were very surprised at the quality of the cleanliness. Every faucets were very hard to open and the room was not very clean. In addition our room was never made up after our first night stay. My wife went to the front counter to obtain clean towels. At this time she informed the gentleman at the counter of the room not being made and resupplied. He said that he was sorry! He indicated to her that may be we had the "No Disturb" sign on the outside of the door. She informed him that this sign did not exist in our room. This particular employee should find another type of work. He is not cut out to be a customer service representative for your business. In addition the Continental breakfast was served in another hotel across the street and parking lot.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 459lupo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Port Clinton hotels

Cincinnati
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel sits right on the Lake Erie. Great sun rise & set views. It is easy walk to the Jet Express. For the first class price of the room, I would have expected the hotel cleaning staff to do a much better job! Dirty floors, refrigerator, microwave, cupboards are few examples. The hotel uses the in room jacuzzi as your shower which they have not install any friction tape on the bottom of the jacuzzi tub to prevent someone from falling...a lawsuit awaiting to happen! If I did not know better, I believe I was charged a first class hotel room while it was under renovation...like the plywood trim and poor painting of the room walls. There is not a fire sprinkler system in my room but they allow people to smoke on the wooden walkway outside the second floor rooms.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank CincinnatiDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canal Winchester, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

My friend and I booked a "girls weekend away" at The Beachfront Motel. Neither of us have ever stayed there before but it looked like everything we would want for a fun weekend away. Unfortunately, the day before we were to arrive, my friend's father fell very ill and was put under Hospice Care. Obviously, we had to cancel our trip so that she could be with her father and family. The staff made an exception for us due to the circumstances and fully refunded my deposit even though typically you need to give a 72 hour notice of cancellation. THANK YOU for your understanding and we hope to rebook with your motel again soon! Jenny D.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

You might want to do some research when staying in Port Clinton. First of all I was told on the phone you got 10 percent off if your a triple A member. When I got there it was 5 percent. We stayed Thursday, Friday, and Saturday and herd a band playing till midnight every night from the bar about 50 yards away. It's nice to be able to take a few steps to the beach and they seem to have plenty of seating

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank bill h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverton, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed for two nights and were really disappointed. The Beachfront is definitely not a resort. The room was only so-so clean with grit on the floor. The reservation description on the website indicates that there is a sofa sleeper in the king jacuzzi room. There was not one and so we had to switch to a room with two queens. The pool is across the street in another slightly run down hotel. Parking can also be problematic depending on time because of the nearby bar and grill. There should be places blocked off for customers. And the view is fine if you don't mind looking at a nuclear power plant in the distance. On the plus side, the beds were fairly comfy but they did not have headboards.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank SaltLakeexplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Clinton
9.2 mi away
South Beach Resort Hotel
South Beach Resort Hotel
#1 of 3 in Marblehead
296 reviews
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton
0.4 mi away
The Island House Hotel
The Island House Hotel
#3 of 17 in Port Clinton
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Clinton
11.3 mi away
Put-in-Bay Resort Hotel and Conference Center
13.7 mi away
Cedar Point's Hotel Breakers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachfront Resort

Property: Beachfront Resort
Address: 252 W Lakeshore Dr, Port Clinton, OH 43452-9452
Region: United States > Ohio > Port Clinton
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Port Clinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beachfront Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Beachfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachfront Hotel Port Clinton
Beachfront Resort Port Clinton, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing