We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My stay at the super 8”
Review of Super 8 Portsmouth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Super 8 Portsmouth
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Portsmouth
Charleston, West Virginia
1 review
“My stay at the super 8”
Reviewed 29 August 2012

My stay at the super 8 was great, I was there for 6 weeks and the staff was great and very friendly. The rooms was clean and very neat, the breaksfest in the morning was a great way to start your day. I would highly recommend this Portsmouth Super 8 to anyone that is traveling or looking for a place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
randyo446, General Manager at Super 8 Portsmouth, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
Thanks so much for the kind and good review its guest like you that leave honest feed back that make our job so rewarding
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    86
    57
    51
    36
See reviews for
117
52
27
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Galway, New York
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Stayed in this motel august 10 th for one night arrived home with over 300 bed bug bites all over my body stay away from this motel unless you want to be infested with bugs room 300 was where we stayed keep away!!

Room Tip: Another motel would be a better choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
randyo446, General Manager at Super 8 Portsmouth, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
We are sorry you had a bad expereince during your stay. We do not have a problem and just for your knowledge so you will be aware it is people that bring them in so besure to check your luggage before coming into a hotel so you wont spread them, We realize its not your fault when you get them but please make sure to check your belongings before staying at another hotel. Thanks again and sorry to hear that your luggage had them in it. You might want to check all the places you stayed before leaving untrue comments about our hotel thanks again,.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gahanna, Ohio, United States
1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights. Our daughter had a baby, and we are from Columbus, and we did not want to drive back and forth. We were very impressed with the King size room. The staff was very helpful, the room was clean, and the bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was awesome, and the coffee is the best!

Room Tip: We chose the King size bed, the room was very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
randyo446, General Manager at Super 8 Portsmouth, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
Thanks for leaving us feed back, we appreciate it very much its so rare these days that people take the time to leave honest feed back and we really appreciate it
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2012

I spent a couple nights at the super 8 and the lady at the front desk named Patricia was very helpful. She made us feel at home when we were away from home. She treats the guest and the company like her family. If you are looking for a nice spot to stay and to feel welcome then this is the place. She is the greatest.

Room Tip: Ask for Patricia...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 614cadams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
randyo446, General Manager at Super 8 Portsmouth, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
from ne and all of my staff I want to say thanks for taking the time to leave honest feedback and so glad your stay was a super one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Thanks to other reviews of this hotel, I decided it was a good place to stop for the night. I sure wasn't disappointed!! Even my husband commented on how well he slept. A nice place to stay, the breakfast was awesome, the coffee was the best! A good nights sleep and all the staff was so friendly. I would definately sleep here again!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twanger11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
randyo446, General Manager at Super 8 Portsmouth, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
We are glad you found your stay to be nice. we strive to make every guest feel welcome and provide a clean comfortable stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I hjave been a guest of the portsmouth ohio, super 8 for about a week. The second shift employee Patricia, is an outstanding employee. She is very friendly, and also very helpful in all aspects that i would like to receive in a hotel stay. She will go out of her way to make sure our needs are met, and go above and beyond to make sure customer satisfaction is met. please take time to aknowledge her commitment to the super 8 family.

respectedly,
James Sanders ROOM # 115

Room Tip: First floor, easy access to everything
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
randyo446, General Manager at Super 8 Portsmouth, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
Thanks for the kind words about our incredible staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

My friend had a party at the pool here and it was great, although a bit outdated. The hot tub was only about 70 degrees and everybody including me said it should have been warmer and the pool was freezing, and it was in March. I wouldn't stay here.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClayPanthersROCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
honesty17, Owner at Super 8 Portsmouth, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
I sincerely apologize for the cool temperature in pool area. With the fluctuating changes in climate, we are now proactive in maintaining a comfortable temperature for all guests year round- I hope that you will give our newly renovated rooms a second opportunity to give you a clean, comfortable and memorable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portsmouth
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 6 in Portsmouth
91 reviews
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth Downtown
8.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 2 in Wheelersburg
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 2 in Piketon
39 reviews
24.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ironton
22.5 mi away
Ameristay Hotel Inn & Suites Waverly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Portsmouth

Property: Super 8 Portsmouth
Address: 4266 US Route 23 North, Portsmouth, OH 45662
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Portsmouth 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
beautiful inner corridor hotel situated on HWY 23,The hotel has went through a major renovation and definitely deserves a visit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Super 8 Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Portsmouth
Portsmouth Super 8
Portsmouth Super Eight
Super 8 Portsmouth Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing