We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Honorable Effort”

Tanuki Japanese Steak House Sushi & Bar
Ranked #14 of 99 Restaurants in Powell
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
101 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Honorable Effort”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Creative, beautiful dishes, well-prepared and attentively served. The mandatory chef show is not as good as table service.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank vango70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    10
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Powell
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Terrible Service”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Good food, chefs are great and very entertaining, but the servers, hostesses, etc. are consistently inept, slow and unfriendly. Just like when it first opened, no one seems to be in charge. Chaotic and disorganized, at best. We went for our fourth (and final) time last night since they opened, hoping the service would have improved since the last time we went. It hadn't. It was not very crowded at 7:15, and they obviously didn't want to open up another table, and tried to seat my family of four along with five teenage girls at a table made for eight, and put me right behind the stacks of sauce dishes with no room to move around or eat, for that matter. I asked for them to move us to another table, which they did (reluctantly), then left us sitting for almost 10 minutes with no service at all. Definitely felt like we were being punished for asking to move, as crazy as that may sound. We got up and left and went to Shi Chi in Dublin and had great food and fast, friendly service, as usual. I told the hostess why we were leaving, and she didn't seem to care at all.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Matty O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Powell, Ohio
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fun for all ages”
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed dinner with our teens while others were having a great time with younger kids. Exhibition chef did a great job with food and keeping all involved. Nice spot for an evening out!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gregory M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“My favorite hibachi”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Among all the hibachi restaurant in the columbus area, tanuki is my favorite. I have been there for many times. I will definitely be there in the future!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank QQWWQQW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Placida, FL
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent experience”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

The staff provide outstanding customer service, they all go out of their way to please their customers and insure they have a great time and great food.
The chef at the hibachi grill is very entertaining and the food was absolutely delicious.
Never fails to meet our expectations!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsVee11100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tanuki Japanese Steak House Sushi & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Tanuki Japanese Steak House Sushi & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing