We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch escape”
Review of Gooseneck Tavern - CLOSED

Gooseneck Tavern
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great lunch escape”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Been here quite a few times for lunch. Nice restaurant but I've always eaten in the bar because of atmosphere. Daily lunch specials which are always good. They even offer liver and onions one day which most restaurants steer clear of. Hamburgers are excellent and I highly recommend the Asiago burger, Also suggest the Oriental Chicken salad which could feed 2 with their outstanding dressing. Place is clean, cozy with friendly hospitable employees. Clientele appears to be mostly local regulars which says something for the quality.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 788skips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    11
    5
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
powell, ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great local eatery”
Reviewed 20 November 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

They have a a great selection of appetizers at happy hour. The entrees in the dining room are also very good. This is all topped off by a great staff of servers and bartenders.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank djbosley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Is This the Best You've Got?”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We were in the Powell area on business and were looking for someplace that was not fast food or a chain and read some favorable reviews of Gooseneck. The decor is OK...kind of a fire house theme with an overlay of kitsch but it was OK and had kind of a dark clubby feel.
The food and drinks however, were below par. My wife ordered a margarita which arrived in a tulip shaped glass that looked like it would have been more at home at the Ohio State Fair and it was filled with something orange that looked more like a screwdriver than a margarita...but it did have salt on the rim. My cajun burger while adequately cooked was ruined by several slices of room temperature, chalky, pepperjack cheese that was neither melted nor fresh. My wife's
reuben was just average and her french fries had obviously been "poured" out of a bag. Can anybody out there cook! The food across the street at City Barbeque is a much better bet!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mayormichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
146 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Gooseneck is Great”
Reviewed 23 January 2013 via mobile

This is a great little neighborhood pub. Friendly service and really good food. The Turkey Ruben is made with carved, roasted turkey breast - not lunchmeat. It is outstanding. The meatloaf is incredible and the 7 onion soup is delicious.

You can also order light sides like steamed broccoli.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“LOVE Gooseneck”
Reviewed 16 October 2012

LOVE Gooseneck. They have THE BEST GREEK NACHOS I've ever had. Their Grilled Cheese is to die for as well... which is why I haven't been there in awhile... their food is all delicious but I haven't found a thing that's healthy on their menu.

I wouldn't change a thing - I just can't go as often!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gooseneck Tavern also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing