We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prime location yet Average at Best”
Review of Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Park Hotel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Put in Bay
Reviewed 9 July 2013

The historic Park Hotel is certainly an antique. The original Victorian style may be charming, however the hotel is showing its 140 years. My advice: KNOW WHAT YOU ARE GETTING INTO. Park's location is fantastic and the rates are cheap. Service was friendly but limited. Unfortunately my room was the size of a large closet, so old/dusty I could barely breathe (allergies), and the window had no screen (and no way to keep it open-I used my shoe). The closet was large, but only had 4 hangers. (It became an ordeal when I asked for more) BE AWARE that there are no private bathrooms. The bathroom on the floor only had two sinks, two stalls, and two showers.

If you are into antiques and have few needs The Park Hotel could work for you, but I will never go back.

Room Tip: Book on the 2nd floor, there is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nichole J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2013 via mobile

This Victorian Hotel is in the center of town between the Round House and Frosty's. If you are coming to town and want to be in the center of everything, this is the place to stay. The hotel is very old, but clean. Like the other reviews, the rooms are very plain and the camp ground type bathrooms are interesting, but tolerable. If you are coming here to have a good time, this is your hotel. Put-in-Bay is not a good place for children! Especially after 6:00 pm.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

My Girlfriend and I stayed one night at the Park Hotel. The location is second to none. Right next to the Chicken Patio! The price was $125 after tax for a room with a full size bed. The setting is pretty neat. Very antique. Just like you walked back in time. The room is basic, with only a mirror, chair, nightstand, bed, and closet. Although old, our room was extremely clean! The sheets were brand new too. The bathroom situation is a bit odd, there are 2 communal bathrooms, the second floor has 3 toilets and 3 shower stalls and the third floor has 2 shower stalls. The golf cart rental is $10/hour when you stay with them and they are nice carts. The included continental breakfast consists of cereal, muffins, bagels, and orange juice. It was okay. Most of the staff was very friendly and helpful except for the younger ones which could care less about you. Pretty much if you want a clean, decent, and cheap place to stay you have to stay here!

Now the bad part. When we arrived the bathrooms were clean but the women's had no hot water. The morning we checked out the men's didn't have hot water so I went up to the third floor. When I opened the shower stall there was a huge amount of vomit in there - and had been there for AT LEAST 5 hours. It was absolutely disgusting. I went up to the teenage cleaning staff and told them about it, they replied "We know" very rudely and you could tell they knew about it and could care less. That is unacceptable to me.

Other than the water and puke issues this place was good. I may stay here again because of the price but don't get your hopes up about the showering situation.

That being said, EVERYONE in Put in Bay was completely wasted drunk. I have never seen so many varieties of drunk people in one place. It was crazy. It was fun but just completely wild, so I'm not surprised that there was puke in the shower. They should have cleaned it promptly though. And in case you're wondering, beer ranges from $3.50 for a 12oz Bud Light to $6 for a 16oz and shots are crazy expensive.

Room Tip: There is a LOT of natural light that comes in so don't plan on sleeping in too late.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

I stayed at this hotel for a night. It was right in the middle of down town pib and was a great Deal! The staff were nice and the building had a lot of charm. There are no tv's not a big deal and the only thing i didn't like were the common bathrooms witch the owner told me about when i called. The have a free breakfast that offers lots of great food. They also have good priced golf carts that i believe to be the best on the island. I was a little faster than other's and it was a nice cart. This is more of a bed and breakfast than a hotel and I will deff. be back to visit again.

Room Tip: If you want to turn in early ask for a room that isn't next to the round house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

The staff were professional, yet friendly and helpful. My room was sparse, yet clean. You can hear street noise, but that is to be expected when you are staying in the middle of the strip in downtown Put in Bay. After going out all day and half the night, the noise is not a hindrance to sleep. The rooms have ceiling fans above the bed as well as window unit air conditioners. The hallway bathrooms were smallish, yet clean and pleasant enough. There was an assortment of bagels, muffins and cereals for the continental breakfast. Overall, it is a basic accomodation that was clean and safe.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JohnLima_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

The hotel is old and delapadated. The staff is rude an the communal bathrooms are disgusting. The air conditioning window unit are old, loud and do not cool. The owners should be ashamed of themselves...I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone...

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Celeste216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

What a crap hole. No service, filthy facilities, and a dorm-like atmosphere make this hotel a hellish stay on put in bay. No TV, no phone and a gang bathroom down the hall that hasn't been properly cleaned in months. But the finishing touch is the night help who treat their guests like prisoners in the local drunk tank.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Put in Bay
0.3 mi away
Bay Lodging Resort
Bay Lodging Resort
#1 of 7 in Put in Bay
244 reviews
0.2 mi away
Edgewater Hotel
Edgewater Hotel
#5 of 7 in Put in Bay
12 reviews
10.6 mi away
South Beach Resort Hotel
South Beach Resort Hotel
#1 of 3 in Marblehead
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
The Island House Hotel
The Island House Hotel
#3 of 17 in Port Clinton
398 reviews
9.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton
11.4 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#10 of 17 in Port Clinton
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel

Address: 234 Delaware St, P.O. Box 60, Put in Bay, OH 43456-6624
Region: United States > Ohio > Put in Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Put in Bay
Price Range: £42 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Hotel is an Victorian-era hotel, Est.1873. Park Hotel is located in the center of town, on South Bass Island, known as Put-in-Bay, Ohio. A wood framed structure, with 25 rooms and shared bathrooms on each floor for its' hotel guests. The rooms are fairly small in comparison to todays style hotel rooms. Queen, double and twin beds are available thru-out the summer season. Open mid April thru end of October. Rooms are air-condioned, have ceiling fans and unique antique furniture. We offer our guests, clean, comfortable room, with clean shared bathrooms. When making a reservation via over the phone ( we do not offer online reservations) , we inform our potential guest of the uniqueness of the Park Hotel. Continental Breakfast is served daily. We offer golf cart rental, please contact the front desk for details. Park Hotel is adjacent to the RoundHouse Bar and Chicken Patio. Great view of the downtown harbor and Lake Erie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Put In Bay, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing