We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Park Hotel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Put in Bay
Reviewed 31 July 2014

On the main street, along with all the shopping, dining and bars famous for Put-In-Bay. Older but clean, rooms dated with no TVs or radios, shared bathrooms but prices great! Advise go Wed-Thur nights

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Lou_LouWallaceburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

I have been going to South Bass Island since Age 9 with my family. I am now 59 and this is the first time we stayed at the Park Hotel in 32 years. Tip has remodeled the 19'th Century Victorian Era Hotel to its original setting. The location is in the "center of action " downtown near all the shops and clubs. Beds were very comfortable. This would be considered a bed & breakfast type resort. If you want to "escape reality" and go back to a more peaceful time, I Highly Recommend staying at the Park Hotel................Walt Starosciak/Crestview Hills, Ky.

Room Tip: Despite being near everything, the rooms are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

If your plans for Put-In-Bay involve drinking at the Round House Bar until you cannot stagger more than 100 feet, then puking in the gutter before crawling back to your hotel room, then the Park Hotel is perfect for you.

Yes, it's "in the middle of the action". But that's a double-edged sword. If you happen to get a room overlooking the Round House Bar (as we did), you get to listen to the incredibly loud band and crowd until 2am (whether you want to or not).

The "common" bathrooms down the hall are dorm-style, and were last renovated in the early 1970's. That they're dated would be fine, and could be quaint. But they're DIRTY, and SMELLY, and there are no ventilation fans in the bathroom in spite of 4 showers there, so the room is humid and musty.

The lobby is quaint. The person working the desk in the lobby obviously hates her job, and probably dislikes life in general. I have not encountered a person who "could care less" more in my life. She just didn't care about anything. No effort at friendliness. No effort at customer service. No effort.

The room was clean enough. The bed was comfortable enough. The pillow was comfortable enough when pulled over my head trying to block out the wailing guitar and screeching lyrics from next door.

All in all, an old hotel managed by people who "don't give a ____", and it shows.

It could be nice, but it isn't. Shame on the lazy, apathetic owners.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else. If that isn't an option, be sure to reserve a room on the other side of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Travelling-Buckeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

This hotel is located right in the middle of town, so we could walk everywhere! Also, it is close to the Jet Express dock, so we walked easily to the hotel from the dock with our luggage. They rent golf carts if you wish to further explore the island. We took the island train tour, which stops at attractions, get off-get on, so we explored without a cart. The staff were very friendly. The rooms are very small, and you share a dormitory bathroom, but it was clean and it was fun to meet other guests there. The hotel is charming, clean and has an acceptable breakfast. the lobby has a TV--no phone or TV in room, but we were hardly in our room! We would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Some rooms are a little larger, so ask for a larger one. We got the last one available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Julianne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We went on a couples trip with 2 other couples and stayed at The Park Hotel. We knew a little about what we were getting into before we went but as we got there we found that the hotel was VERY interesting and loved the different rooms. The location was a prime spot and we really liked the hotel staff. I really like the idea that they don't allow anyone to enter unless they are registered there, keeps the rif raf out! There is history on the hotel and we found that to be very entertaining! The community bathroom took a little getting used to but if you have a great group on your floor then it is more comfortable! Overall, a great place to stay and the location was perfect!

Room Tip: Rooms on the West side have less light in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Whitney C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

The historic Park Hotel is certainly an antique. The original Victorian style may be charming, however the hotel is showing its 140 years. My advice: KNOW WHAT YOU ARE GETTING INTO. Park's location is fantastic and the rates are cheap. Service was friendly but limited. Unfortunately my room was the size of a large closet, so old/dusty I could barely breathe (allergies), and the window had no screen (and no way to keep it open-I used my shoe). The closet was large, but only had 4 hangers. (It became an ordeal when I asked for more) BE AWARE that there are no private bathrooms. The bathroom on the floor only had two sinks, two stalls, and two showers.

If you are into antiques and have few needs The Park Hotel could work for you, but I will never go back.

Room Tip: Book on the 2nd floor, there is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nichole J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013 via mobile

This Victorian Hotel is in the center of town between the Round House and Frosty's. If you are coming to town and want to be in the center of everything, this is the place to stay. The hotel is very old, but clean. Like the other reviews, the rooms are very plain and the camp ground type bathrooms are interesting, but tolerable. If you are coming here to have a good time, this is your hotel. Put-in-Bay is not a good place for children! Especially after 6:00 pm.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Put in Bay
0.3 mi away
Bay Lodging Resort
Bay Lodging Resort
#1 of 7 in Put in Bay
244 reviews
0.1 mi away
Edgewater Hotel
Edgewater Hotel
#5 of 7 in Put in Bay
12 reviews
0.5 mi away
Harbour View Suites
Harbour View Suites
#7 of 7 in Put in Bay
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton
11.6 mi away
The Island House Hotel
The Island House Hotel
#3 of 17 in Port Clinton
402 reviews
10.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#8 of 17 in Port Clinton
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel

Address: 234 Delaware St, P.O. Box 60, Put in Bay, OH 43456-6624
Region: United States > Ohio > Put in Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Put in Bay
Price Range: £41 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Hotel is an Victorian-era hotel, Est.1873. Park Hotel is located in the center of town, on South Bass Island, known as Put-in-Bay, Ohio. A wood framed structure, with 25 rooms and shared bathrooms on each floor for its' hotel guests. The rooms are fairly small in comparison to todays style hotel rooms. Queen, double and twin beds are available thru-out the summer season. Open mid April thru end of October. Rooms are air-condioned, have ceiling fans and unique antique furniture. We offer our guests, clean, comfortable room, with clean shared bathrooms. When making a reservation via over the phone ( we do not offer online reservations) , we inform our potential guest of the uniqueness of the Park Hotel. Continental Breakfast is served daily. We offer golf cart rental, please contact the front desk for details. Park Hotel is adjacent to the RoundHouse Bar and Chicken Patio. Great view of the downtown harbor and Lake Erie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Put In Bay, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing