We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cool but busy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of South Bass Island

South Bass Island
Ranked #2 of 31 things to do in Put in Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Theres plenty to see at South Bass Island, such as the Marblehead Lighthouse, the Cedar Point Amusement Park, and the William Perry Monument, and its fishing opportunities cant be beat, especially if you're fishing for Walleye and Perch.
Leo, Indiana
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Cool but busy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

We visited Kelleys and Put-in-Bay on back-to-back days and it was quite a contrast. Kelleys was very quiet with not a lot of visitors while PiB was very busy with a lot more activity. If you like quiet PIB is not your location. Having said that, really enjoyed the variety in restaurants and shops that PiB had to offer. We rode Miller Ferry which is much cheaper than jet boats and were pleased with service. We went during wesk so avoided party crew.

Helpful?
1 Thank cogdkc01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    68
    20
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Port Clinton, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful State Park along Lake Erie”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Great state park to spend an hour or a week. Camping is available with fun activities on both water and land. If you want restaurants, shops, and night life during your stay, downtown Put-in-Bay is just a short bike ride a couple of miles away.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank kalencap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Just sight-seeing? Make your visit during the week!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

This island is dominated by Put in Bay, which from our visits in 2006 and 2014, is becoming more of a hard-core party destination, as time passes. Its now more difficult to visit downtown, with a vehicle, because of all the golf-carts and the restrictive parking, particularly with the construction going on by the water-front. Still and all, the island has several days worth of interesting sights to see, shops to visit, and some neat historical and natural wonders. Definitely a place to add to your itinerary, just be aware that the real action begins at sundown, and doesn't end until the wee hours, and if you don't want to deal with the aftermath, you might want to seek lodging on one of the other, quieter islands nearby...

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Don055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toledo, Ohio /Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The Crown Jewel of The Great Lakes!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

South Bass Island in the western basin of Lake Erie is home to the festive, historic village of Put-in-Bay, a name derived from a directive of Commodore Oliver Hazard Perry during the War of 1812, when he commanded his men to "Put the ships in the bay". The island is famous for being a refuge for Commodore Perry and his men as they fought one of the most important battles of the War of 1812 just a few miles from South Bass Island and won the decisive battle which took place on September 10th 1813, thus guaranteeing that a large part of the upper USA would remain so and not fall under British rule. A 352 tall monument commemorates the victory, the Perry's Victory Memorial Monument is the 4th tallest memorial structure in America, a viewing platform near the top can be reached by elevator and offers expansive views of Lake Erie and into Canada which is just 5 miles from the coast of South Bass Island.

Over the years Put-in-Bay has developed into quite a tourist attraction, hosting nearly a million tourists each summer season. The resort boasts numerous hotels, bars, restaurants, attractions and shops. There is something for everyone. From famed Great Lakes Troubadour Pat Dailey to kayaking trips around the island. The abundance of bars-restaurants will please even the most discriminating palette. The Jet Express Ferry boats reach downtown PIB from docks in Port Clinton and Sandusky, Ohio. For schedules and island information log on to www.jet-express.com. The Miller Ferry transports tourists, cars and food and beverage trucks to Put-in-Bay from Catawba Island which is at the end of Ohio State route 53 North. www.MillerFerry.com.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank BradyoRadio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Went on a weekday...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

I saw all the bars in town, but I am glad that during the weekday there were no drunk people to be seen. The place was quiet and clean. I gave it an "average" rating because I was a little overwhelmed by the number of golf carts. I worried every time I saw them sharing the roads with big trucks. It was too windy and foggy for kayaking, but I enjoyed seeing the water fowl and lake sights. All the shops and attractions I visited were manned by friendly, polite people. I appreciated that!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed South Bass Island also viewed

 

Been to South Bass Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing