We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunny Relaxation”
Review of Island Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Island Club
Certificate of Excellence
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sunny Relaxation”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Our recent trip to Put In Bay was in search of sunny relaxation. The Island Club rentals provided exactly what we were looking for. The 3 bedroom/ 2 bathroom/ 2 outdoor deck accomodations were very clean and comfortable. Upon booking, the friendly staff provided a detailed map & instructions to find our way. The pool is centrally located within walking distance from any unit. The seperate taxi that is designated especially for the Island Club residents made our travels downtown quite simple. If you are searching for a quiet, relaxing location to spend your days on Put In Bay- this is it! The Island Club is perfect for vacationer of all ages.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelly O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    24
    13
    5
    12
See reviews for
35
8
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This condo complex is the perfect mix of fun and relaxing while staying on Put in Bay. The staff was quick to take care of issues and the pool and dock areas were phenomenal. The amenities were updated, clean and gave you that "at home" feeling. Having it's own pool made it such a relaxing place to be in the morning before heading off for a day of fun on the island. Only issue would be the location for those who love to spend time downtown. You need to take a cab or golf care everywhere and sometime you find yourself doing a lot of waiting. I would also love for there to be a little flexibility with check in and check out times because of dealing with the ferry service on the weekend. I would recommend this to families and adult groups alike because of all the wonderful options at this facility.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rvalentine12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

A sunday trip to Put In Bay. Island club is a collection of homes just a short drive from downtown PIB (or walk ). The homes are clean and well equipped. Check in is very easy--love the 'codes' on the door! No more keys!!! I stayed in house #98. A very nice 3 bedroom home tucked away in the back of IC. It was quiet and peaceful, if i want loud, I will go into town :) The staff at IC is very attentive to your needs and friendly. A welcome retreat for anyone visiting the island!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tibb307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pataskala, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Our group of five needed a quick reservation, we chose the Island Club and booked our stay on a Friday (we were headed to PIB that Monday). On Friday evening, I received a call from the rental office stating I needed to print, sign, and fax documents that were sent to my email BEFORE our arrival -- pretty inconvenient considering it was the weekend and I struggled to find access to a fax machine. When we arrived, the rooms were not set up as described in our documents (they stated we had bunk beds... no bunk beds...), the cable was out (could have been the rain, I suppose), the ceiling fan did not work, blinds were broken, and our house was at a steaming 81 degrees. We turned the AC on --- NOTHING. After a few phone calls and waiting about an hour, a maintenance person arrived to tell us that our AC unit was frozen and could not be fixed. We called the rental office back and were immediately moved to a new unit -- very helpful. In our new unit, there were not as many beds (luckily we only needed to accommodate 5 people), and our cable still did not work and never worked the entire time we were there. The house was somewhat clean but the furniture was old and random things were falling apart. None of the locks on the doors worked -- not even the bathroom. The beds were comfortable. For a quick rental, I guess I could say I am "somewhat satisfied" with what we received, especially the helpful customer service. But if you're looking for luxury, stay away.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brogan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
672 reviews
172 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 370 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The Island Club is a collection of older modular homes. The homes are showing their age. Screens are missing or torn, window blinds are broken, cupboards have loose hinges, wooden chairs are broken, etc. If you don't look too closely, they are clean enough but the window sills and the door slider 'runners' could use a good scrubbing. House #108 has a picture on their website showing a very nice bathtub; unfortunately, the bottom of that tub is peeling off, so some of the pictures are a bit deceptive. Most of the bedrooms have double bunk beds so finding a place for ten, twelve, or more people isn't a problem. The units have washers and dryers but they're not in the best condition. There is a small pool which was often pretty full of parents and kids. A golf cart was included in our package & we were thrilled it made it for the 4 days we were there because it obviously had some front wheel problems. We had a few issues with our rentals but after a couple phone calls, the response was quick. This could be a great property if maintenance were done on it & their carts were in better shape.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hola4876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The cabin was comfortable. The beds were GREAT. Everyone was attentive and the property was very well maintained. We will be making the trip again... next summer. Thanks Island club for a GREAT GETAWAY.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BurnsFamily2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York, United States
Level Contributor
110 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We purchased a groupon for a 2 night stay in a 3 bedroom 2 bath cottage that included a golf cart rental. We stayed in unit #90. Pros--the house was in very good condition, and very large. The location was very close to town but far enough away that you get some quiet. When you call Island Club you get a human being who is quick to respond to any questions or issues you may have. Loved that the master bath had a separate shower and large tub. Love the app they have for your smart phone or computer. It has all the information you could think to need (ie...what to bring, check in/out instructions, recommendations for restaurants/things to do, your rental info including code for your keyless entry which means no more wiped keycards or lost keys and so much more). Cons--After seeing some of the louder clientele I understand the reason but the booking process is a bit overzealous. I had to sign a 6 page document and fax/scan it over within 48 hours or forfeit my reservation which I thought was a tight deadline. We also had to turn over our credit card for them to hold our entire trip in order to rent the golf cart (luckily we have other cards but seems a bit overprotective to hold the physical card when you can charge it for damages with just the number). The unit says it's fully stocked but we found we didn't have a can opener (but we had multiple cheese slicers). I asked for one but it never arrived so our canned food was taken back home with us. The golf cart was a tad old and would backfire every time we stopped which was a tad embarrassing but it was included and convenient so we dealt with it. The only thing we would have loved to have had was a firepit but understand that might be difficult with the location of each unit. We had this great little backyard and a deck with a grill and all sorts of great amenities but when we relax outside we like to sit by a fire. Overall this was a great place to stay. It was a home away from home and even included a washer and dryer in the unit! We only stayed two nights but it would have been a great place to stay for a week or more.I would definitely recommend Island Club.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Heather J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pauljeris, Manager at Island Club, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We just implemented our guest app this year and while we are working to improve it, it has been a big success. It is general policy on Put in Bay to hold a credit card for golf carts. Somehow your request for the can opener slipped by us but we are glad you enjoyed the home and the Island and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Put in Bay
1.0 mi away
Bay Lodging Resort
Bay Lodging Resort
#1 of 7 in Put in Bay
228 reviews
1.7 mi away
Harbour View Suites
Harbour View Suites
#4 of 7 in Put in Bay
7 reviews
8.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
South Beach Resort Hotel
South Beach Resort Hotel
#2 of 3 in Marblehead
278 reviews
1.2 mi away
Edgewater Hotel
Edgewater Hotel
#6 of 7 in Put in Bay
4 reviews
1.1 mi away
Put-in-Bay Resort Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Club

Property: Island Club
Address: 1490 Put in Bay Rd, Put in Bay, OH 43456-6806
Region: United States > Ohio > Put in Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Put in Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Club 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Club Rentals has been proudly serving Put-in-Bay and the Lake Erie Islands for nearly 20 years with rental home assistance. Great pride and joy is taken in fully assisting our guests in finding the best vacation home accommodations for their friends and family. We are dedicated to ensuring our Put in Bay guests will be at ease during the planning of their trip. Our experience and vacation home rental expertise will ensure that you and yours will have an amazing vacation on the Crown Jewel of Lake Erie, Put-in-Bay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Island Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Club Put In Bay, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing