We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time to Party, Time to Relax” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of English Pines B&B

English Pines B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Put in Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
English Pines B&B
Ranked #8 of 17 Put in Bay B&B and Inns
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Time to Party, Time to Relax”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

We've been coming to Put in Bay over 25 years and we've lost count how many times we've stayed with Doug & Liz. I can tell you, every time we return, it's like coming home! There are many places to stay on the island, but we haven't found one that offers even close to the hospitality, friendliness, and coziness like the English Pines B&B. It's a short walk to the downtown area where we always have a great time, but far enough away from the craziness of the bar scene where we can enjoy the quiet surroundings.

Room Tip: Many rooms have shared bathrooms, so make sure you spend a little bit more to reserve a room with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveLadyDi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Niles, Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

I stayed for one night at English Pines on an overnight trip with my three friends. This is a perfect place for those trying to avoid a party crowd as they seem to cater to those looking for a relaxing time, yet want to be close to town. It was a five to ten minute walk to downtown from the B & B. We stayed in a room that had a full bed and a pull out, double couch. The room was comfortable and had everything we needed including a fridge. There were plenty of clean, comfy towels. The bathroom was very modern with a beautiful, walk-in shower. The staff was also very accommodating. They were always around answering questions. In the morning they have a small continental breakfast with muffins, fresh bread, bagels, cereal, fruit, coffee, tea, and juice. In addition they were making fresh belgian waffles for guests. I think the highlight of the property is the beautiful sitting areas outside the house and the large grounds. In the morning as were waiting for breakfast we were able to enjoy a hot coffee while soaking up the beautiful mid-June weather.

I would not recommend this place if you want to party every night into the wee hours of the night or want to bring the party back to the house as they have quiet hours from 11 pm to 7 am. You can certainly take advantage of the night life as long as you leave the partying downtown.

Unrelated to the B & B, but of note for individuals considering a trip to Put-in-Bay, early to mid-June is Mayfly season. I did not know what this was until I arrived, but millions of adult Mayflies emerge from Lake Erie then fly around then attach themselves onto the sides of houses, to people, or wherever they can. When we emerged from our dinner at The Upper Deck around 10 pm there were swarms of Mayflies everywhere to the point where we just wanted to go back home.

Room Tip: Note that some rooms have shared bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank socgrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Findlay, Ohio
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013 via mobile

We just had a great stay at the English Pines during a birthday/anniversary weekend. The location is perfect for those "older" Put-In Bay visitors who want to distance themselves from the party scene, but still want to be within walking distance of attractions and food.
The rooms were clean and tasteful and breakfasts were delicious. The owners were very helpful and friendly... I'm positive we'll return!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BGSUClarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

We were so lucky getting a room here - we definitely loved it !! Not only the place is great-looking and well located (only a 5 min walk from downtown) but Liz, Doug and their staff are extremely friendly. We got to taste their Belgian Waffles and they were delicious. We will definitely stay here next time around.

Room Tip: FYI - Not all rooms have a private bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Alpoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willoughby, Ohio
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

We stayed here for two nights, during the week. Doug and Liz keep the place spotless. The continental breakfast is definitely enough to tide you over 'til lunch! On any given day, they may surprise you and offer belgian waffles! They have golf carts available for rental - so you don't have to go to town to get one. The location couldn't be better...it's only a 10-15 minute walk to the downtown area...where all the restaurants and bars are. All in all - it was a pleasant surprise considering the VERY reasonable price. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tmp309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westerville, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

We booked at stay at English Pines because it was the only room on the island still available with two double beds for the weekend we were traveling, and it turned out to be a great experience! The rooms are cozy and well-appointed, with the decor that you would expect in an older BnB in a well traveled resort area. The hosts were exceptionally nice and always available when we needed them. The location is fantastic - just a short walk away from all the attractions and restaurants of downtown. They even can set up a golf cart rental for you, eliminating the headache of pick-up and return. Breakfast was continental and full of selection. Everything was clean and tidy. We would not hesitate to stay at English Pines again!

Room Tip: Many rooms have ensuite bath, our room with two double beds had a private bath on 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChaseW_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Put in Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
Bay Lodging Resort
Bay Lodging Resort
#2 of 7 in Put in Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.7 mi away
Harbour View Suites
Harbour View Suites
#4 of 7 in Put in Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
0.1 mi away
Put-in-Bay Resort Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Island Club
Island Club
#1 of 4 in Put in Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.8 mi away
Put-in-Bay Condos
Put-in-Bay Condos
#2 of 4 in Put in Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.2 mi away
Victory Station Hotel
Victory Station Hotel
#12 of 17 in Put in Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to English Pines B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about English Pines B&B

Property: English Pines B&B
Address: 182 Concord Avenue, Put in Bay, OH 43456
Region: United States > Ohio > Put in Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Put in Bay
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
English Pines B&B Put In Bay, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing