We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over Priced and Dirty”
Review of Commodore Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Commodore Resort
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Put in Bay
Reviewed 13 October 2011

Spent the past weekend in Put-in-Bay for Octoberfest. The hotel was so overpriced-had a two night minimum. The room had not been dusted for sometime. The carpet in the hallway had cigerette burns. The decor was 70's. The sink to brush your teeth and wash you hands was in the entrance way of the room. No coffee maker- no conditioner- not a good place to stay unless you are totally drunk our of your mind so you don't see or care about the condition of the room. The remote didn't work- TV set looks like it was from 1995. Subway is in the lobby and it made the entire hotel stink.... stay away there are better places to stay- you will not enjoy this place- the hotel check in had two woman that were about as pleasant as having chicken pox....

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marion T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
There are newer reviews for Commodore Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2011

My husband and I spent a weekend there. We booked a "double" room and had one double bed. Needless to say, it was like sleeping in a crib. Also, our room was on the first floor near the reception desk. Very Very noisy.. When people came back at night woke me up. And the room we had did not have a window in it, felt like I was staying in a basement. I would say, if you want to sleep good, get a room on another floor. And make sure you either have a room with 2 beds or one at least queen sized bed. I just cant get over NO WINDOW in the room, so dark..

Room Tip: Try to stay off the first floor.....
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bernastevesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

The location was great! BUT our room that had four beds had ants everywhere. They even came in and sprayed twice, but these suckers were tough! In the bathroom, on the nightstand, walls, and on the dresser. We try to stay at different places each time we come, and we will NOT stay here...If you like things crawling around your stuff, then you'll have a super time with them, but if not..pick a different place:))

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank kimmylj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

I understand now that it is impossible to expect much more from a Put In Bay "resort" but I really expected a bit more from this destination. Not only do you get the very bare minimum (even out of season, apparently) you pay an astronmical amount to get nothing. I mean, seriously, how can you not have a coffee maker in the room? And I really don't want to know what fluid stains a lamp shade or how it got there. Regardless, we had a 3-bed "suite" which turned out to be a large large with three beds...guess I should have seen that coming. One bathroom for 6 adults (not college students) is also pushing it. Wouldn't have been so bad if there were clean and enjoyable places to go outside of the hotel. But, I can't blame my disappointment with Put In Bay on this hotel alone.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DTinIndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Commodore is conveniently located in downtown within walking distance of everything. Has a pool with a bar in the pool as well as outside the pool. Subway is located inside hotel which makes it even nicer to grab a sandwich late at night.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank k10moore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2011

We found this room at the last minute as we realized the last ferry would leave the island at 5pm (for cars). The gentleman that checked us in was friendly and helpful, however forget to tell us that there isn't a hotel sign from either street. Consequently we drove around block 4 times. The room was perfect for a VERY short stay. While trying to plug in the alarm clock we found hot dogs lying behind the nightstand. Housekeeping came up quickly to clean. The commodore was missing the basics. We were on an island nicknamed The Cancun Of Ohio....yet ther was NO COFFEE!!!!!! hungover people without coffee-never a good thing!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angelheath84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2010

We booked this motel at the last minute, so we didn't check around much. This is an average motel but it is in a great location. We thought it was a little pricey for October, but the location made up for some of that. The room was clean and the staff was friendly. It is within walking distance to bars, restaurants, shopping, the jet express, etc. It was a nice last minute get-a-way!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jjcruzin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Put in Bay
0.3 mi away
Bay Lodging Resort
Bay Lodging Resort
#1 of 7 in Put in Bay
242 reviews
0.1 mi away
Edgewater Hotel
Edgewater Hotel
#5 of 7 in Put in Bay
11 reviews
9.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
South Beach Resort Hotel
South Beach Resort Hotel
#1 of 3 in Marblehead
301 reviews
0.6 mi away
Harbour View Suites
Harbour View Suites
#7 of 7 in Put in Bay
10 reviews
11.3 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#10 of 17 in Port Clinton
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodore Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore Resort

Address: 272 Delaware St, Put in Bay, OH 43456-6624 (Formerly Commodore Motel)
Region: United States > Ohio > Put in Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Put in Bay
Price Range: £90 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Commodore Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have a lot to offer. We are located in the heart of downtown Put in Bay. We are the only Put in Bay hotels on Delaware Ave with a Caribbean style, MIST swim up pool bar with cabana bottle service. We are also proud of Mr. Ed’s Bar and Grille. Mr. Ed’s has become a must needed stop for great food and great entertainment. Known for their tasty wings, burgers, large sandwiches, fresh cut french fries, perch, and wraps. Need to dance? Party the night away in the open air at the Green Room, a dance club atop of Mr. Ed’s Bar. Open Weekends at 10:00pm. Yes! This is true! Commodore Resorts has a Subway Restaurant located in the hotel lobby. Need a golf cart for the day? Ask at the front desk. We have that too. One of the best Put in Bay hotels! Please note all of our establishments are 21 and older. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Commodore Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commodore Hotel Put In Bay
Commodore Motel Put In Bay
Commodore Resort Put In Bay, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing