We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a bachlorette party!”
Review of Commodore Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Commodore Resort
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Put in Bay
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great place for a bachlorette party!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Hands down ...best resort on the island!
From the pool to the staff your in store for a great time! Check in was smooth-thanks to Nicole;)
This resort is def for people looking to have a loud (drunken) time! Its a party atmosphere! In my opinion, there is nothing wrong with that! We stayed in the newer section and were very pleased :) we also had the opportunity to also enjoy the cabana one day. Do yourself a favor and stay at this resort!

P.s. subway is open until 3a.m.
:)

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ison1002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle M, Front Office Manager at Commodore Resort, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
We are so glad to hear that your stay was a memorable one and you would love to stay with us again. We appreciate your review. Thank you for the nice comment about Nicole, she is a great asset to our hotel along with all our staff. Please print this response and bring with you for a future visit and receive 10% off your stay, valid Sun. through Thurs. upon availability. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    40
    30
    20
    42
See reviews for
14
59
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toledo
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Headed over to the Bay on a last minute thing on a Sunday through Tuesday. For those who haven't been to Put In Bay, its a non-stop party on the weekends, loud, lots of drinking, packed bars, and your gonna spend a fortune... on the week days, its a lot more laid back, and not as loud(think key west on lake erie). The hotel was one of the most reasonable on the island, as far as the room went, it was clean, beds were fine, ac worked, the shower temp fluctuated quite a bit(hot, then warm, then hot, then warm). No big deal, got me clean anyhow. The pool is really neat, waterfalls, swim up bar, tiki bar. The pool is operated by a third party, not the hotel. There were a few "thug types"(tatoo'd up trash with d-bag beards) at the pool the day we used it, a carry over from the weekend we think, again, not a big deal, we just don't usually occupy the same space as those people. The hotel pools on the island are open to everyone, there sort of a bar/club in themselves. We were able to use other pools within walking distance from ours, but ours was good enough. The hotel was in a great location, right behind the main strip where all the bars/restaurants are, could walk to everything within 2 minutes. We rented a golf cart($50 for the day) to explore the island more. Had a good night sleep and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Again, the weekends in the summer are gonna be loud, I'd imagine the hotel on a fri/sat night wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ToledoToledo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle M, Front Office Manager at Commodore Resort, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
We want to start by saying thank you and we appreciate your review. We are very happy that you had a nice stay at our establishment and enjoyed the island. We would love for you to join us again for another stay. Print out this response and bring with you for a future stay, valid Sun. through Thurs., upon availability and receive 10% off your room reservation. Have a wonderful summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This hotel was a mess from the beginning. We came into town for the Phlocking of the Phaithful event so we were part of 250 others that were on the island this weekend. Our hotel rooms were not cheap and for $200/night, I would have expected WAY more. We chose this hotel because my husband had recent knee surgery so we didn't want to have to walk far to get to the festivities located at Mr. Ed's bar (in front of the hotel).

When you walk in the lobby, it is just a desk next to a Subway. We were given our keys and we went to the second floor but for some odd reason, the Second floor=#4 and Third=#5 on the elevator and on the room numbers. Seems odd to just skip floors for no apparent reason. When we walked up to our room, there were two meatballs and some lettuce in front of our door, obviously from the Subway in the lobby. Someone evidently couldn't wait long enough to get back to the room and dumped half their sandwich on the floor and left it.

The room was clean but clearly old and cheap. Old Circa 1980's polyester bedspreads, old non-flat screen, HD tv's and the furniture was all particle board crap that had chunks taken out of it. The refrigerator and microwave were standard and it looks like they gave the place a new coat of paint recently but the carpet could use some cleaning.

The rooms had tons of 20-somethings partying all day and night in the rooms. We had our door banged on or heard people yelling in the halls at all hours. There are pools with bars around the island and people would hang out there all day and get trashed to the point some could barely walk. The loud music and thumping bass was not our thing but we managed to find other places to have more "adult" fun.

The last straw was when we came back to our room after dinner and found a naked 20 something passed out in our bed!!!! We went down to the desk and security removed him. He evidently came down the halls and managed to get our door open. He came in, removed his swimsuit in the bathroom and crawled into the bed to pass out. This guy just came in a back door and managed to find the room with a broken door lock and let himself in.

I will say that when I had asked the desk for a new key earlier in the day, they did make sure they asked me for ID, checked the room names on file and asked me my room number before they ever issued me a key. The security guys asked the guy if he was a guest and he said "No". He obviously didn't have a room key because he was escorted out in a towel and didn't get time to put his swim suit back on! Only after we played with the door 10 times did we stumble upon how the handle would not always flip up enough to engage the lock properly.

The front desk agent called housekeeping and two young girls quickly came and changed all our sheets and bedspread for us.

All in all, if you are over 30, this may not be the place to visit for you. Seems like everyone went for a bachelor/bachelorette party or to drink till they were sick. It's ok if I was still in college but when I paid $200/night for a room, I expected more than a trashed low end hotel with college students crashing in my bed!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank bahstengirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle M, Front Office Manager at Commodore Resort, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
First we want to start by saying thank you for your impute. As for the "situation" that occurred, we do not have enough words to be able to apologize for it and your inconvenience. It is not standard practice of our establishment for this kind of thing to happen. We are happy to know and hear, as you stated, that all staff involved acted appropriately and quickly to your concerns and the issue. We do not claim to be a 4 or 5 star hotel. We are right downtown of a very busy seasonal island, so yes we do get a lot of "20 somethings" letting loose. If you research us, we are sometimes referred to as a "little Key West" of the north. To address the "out dated ness" of our establishment...again we are not a 4 or 5 star hotel. We do our best for being on a island without a Lowes, Home Depot, Macy's etc. to be able to replace things on a daily basis as things tend to get very worn and broken quickly with the almost every day turnover we have for our six months of business. We DO update and replace almost everything at the beginning of each season along with as needed basis through the season. We are sorry that we were not up to your complete expectations, but we do hope that you will feel free to visit our establishment again with a much better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Put in Bay hotels

Toledo, Ohio /Clearwater, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The Commodore Hotel @ Put-in-Bay on South Bass Island in the western basin of Lake Erie features a one of a kind swim up bar "MIST". This is the ultimate in pure pleasure in the water, with it's cascading waterfall in the pool, and a comfy seat at the in pool Tiki bar, it just doesn't get any better. They also feature private cabanas poolside with your own waiter to take care of what ever you need. The place is huge and the people are terrific from the staff to the customers from all over the country. MIST is truly an adult entertainment facility and well worth a stop in your travels. You can stay at the Commodore Hotel, which is really nice or just pop in for a day of fun in the sun at MIST!!! The hotel also features MR. ED"s Bar with great food and entertainment most nights. I am told the place is also available for private parties. Try it, you will return again and again!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BradyoRadio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canal Winchester, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Nice renovations. Great location. Very expensive. Knew it was going to be a party hotel, so noise til after 4 in the morning- OK. Fake hardwood floors have never been clean. I'm sure of it. 5 minutes after taking shoes off, bottoms of our feet were absolutely BLACK! My wife tried to wipe floor with paper towels,to no avail. Walked around with socks on all weekend, had to throw them away. Other than the indifferent attitude by the staff, hotel was as expected.

Room Tip: Check the floors..........
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bklelux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer F, Front Office Manager at Commodore Resort, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We do apologize for the "floor" situation that may have hampered your stay. It is a problem that is just now starting to be brought to our attention and we are trying to remedy it. Not an excuse, but the new tile we put down, we are learning the correct way to properly maintain it to be able to avoid this problem in the future. Please print this response and bring with you for a future stay and receive a complimentary 10% off. If you would like to call to make the reservation, just mention this response and it can be applied at that time. We do hope to see you again soon.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I have stayed in Commodore in Memorial day weekend even though the price was little high but the room was really nice and the hotel is right in the heart of the PIB downtown.

I loved Mist pool of commodore hotel and the most importantly I liked Subway being in the lobby of the hotel so I never had to go looking for food even if I am hungry at 2 a.m. in the morning.

I will definitely stay again in commodore if I decide to visit PIB again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evo786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle M, Front Office Manager at Commodore Resort, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for your review of our property. We are extremely happy that you enjoyed your stay and welcome a return visit in the near future. Please print off this response and bring with you on your next visit to The Commodore Resort and receive a complimentary 10% off your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Booked last year in middle if June (summer) mostky because if swim up bar. The women at front desk said they didn't open til summer! lol I guess June is still winter. My room was on first floor which I thought was great haha bad idea.. you can here every drunk fighting outside and hotel has no one working front or security to make sure nobody gets hurt. I've worked in the hotel biz over 10 years and when I told the same women at front desk her response was "that happens here." Never ever heard a reply like that ever. Not a single staff member tried to apologize or try any tactic to try to get my business I'm not looking for handouts but if that was my employee I'd have her thrown off the ferry. Too expensive for a hotel that is under staffed and unprofessional. :)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank belf20z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Put in Bay
0.3 mi away
Bay Lodging Resort
Bay Lodging Resort
#1 of 7 in Put in Bay
230 reviews
9.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton
0.6 mi away
Harbour View Suites
Harbour View Suites
#7 of 7 in Put in Bay
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Edgewater Hotel
Edgewater Hotel
#4 of 7 in Put in Bay
7 reviews
10.6 mi away
South Beach Resort Hotel
South Beach Resort Hotel
#2 of 3 in Marblehead
282 reviews
11.5 mi away
The Island House Hotel
The Island House Hotel
#3 of 17 in Port Clinton
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodore Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore Resort

Property: Commodore Resort
Address: 272 Delaware St, Put in Bay, OH 43456-6624 (Formerly Commodore Motel)
Region: United States > Ohio > Put in Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Put in Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Commodore Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have a lot to offer. We are located in the heart of downtown Put in Bay. We are the only Put in Bay hotels on Delaware Ave with a Caribbean style, MIST swim up pool bar with cabana bottle service. We are also proud of Mr. Ed’s Bar and Grille. Mr. Ed’s has become a must needed stop for great food and great entertainment. Known for their tasty wings, burgers, large sandwiches, fresh cut french fries, perch, and wraps. Need to dance? Party the night away in the open air at the Green Room, a dance club atop of Mr. Ed’s Bar. Open Weekends at 10:00pm. Yes! This is true! Commodore Resorts has a Subway Restaurant located in the hotel lobby. Need a golf cart for the day? Ask at the front desk. We have that too. One of the best Put in Bay hotels! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Commodore Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commodore Hotel Put In Bay
Commodore Motel Put In Bay
Commodore Resort Put In Bay, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing