We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't trust this property and its owner!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Put-in-Bay Resort Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Put in Bay
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Don't trust this property and its owner!”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Our vacation was ruined before we even left home! We booked our room in January. We paid the 50% deposit and received a confirmation for our seven night stay and the remaining balance. Seven months later, on August 4th, ten days before our arrival date, we received a call from Leanna who is employed at the resort. She stated that the owner was going over reservations and told her contact us. We were informed that the "third party booking agent" had failed to charge us the weekend rate for Saturday and Sunday. We were told that the owner was demanding we make up the $400.00 (plus tax) difference. We explained to Leanna that this was unacceptable and unfair. We had paid our deposit in good faith and expected them to honor our January confirmation. We would not agree to pay this "new" rate. We explained that it was their error, which was made over seven months ago...their mistake, their problem. She said the owner would never agree to this. We asked for the owner to contact us. This never happened. In the meanwhile, we requested an email confirmation of our rate and balance. They had changed our previously confirmed rate, raising it $54 a night for each night of our stay. What an underhanded and sneaky way to try to make up the difference. Really, think we wouldn't notice? After numerous messages, it took Amber, the reservations manager, three days to finally get in touch with us. We were informed of the owner's intention, either we accept the "revised" rate or cancel our reservations. Since all of this is happening after the fifteen day cancellation policy, I demanded my full deposit refunded. Unbelievably, she agreed to do this. I insisted that it be done as I waited on the phone line for email verification. Perhaps Mark, (the owner) you should spend less time defending your horrible, unfair policies and decisions and go to a seminar on how to treat your clientele properly. I've read the reviews and your responses. You accept no responsibility, make excuses for yourself and your staff, and blame your "third party booking agent" when issues arise. Don't trust this property and its owner!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
19 Thank disenchanted699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pibohmark, Owner at Put-in-Bay Resort Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. As we explained to you, you chose to book thru a thrid party not affiliated with the resort. Often times third party resellers overboook, fail to display proper rates and most current availability. We are sorry they misquoted your rate and for this reason we always suggest people book directly thru the hotel property. Our rates are posted in most cases a year in advance and unlike other hotels they do not go to a higher as we near sold out. We notifed you of their error when we discovered it, and offered a full refund. It goes without saying that we cannot be held resposible for a reseller booking our rooms without our consent.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    121
    72
    53
    140
See reviews for
136
157
7
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodside, New York
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

I was disappointed in the place. We had a 2 bedroom grand delux. Grand it was not. It was adequate for the two nights we stayed. The continental breakfast was very good. The location was perfect. The rooms need to be refurbished.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katkev23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We had a great time staying at the Put-in-Bay Resort. The staff was very friendly and courteous. The room was clean and smelled fine. The continental breakfast was good(the kids loved this part.) We would stay here anytime!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jon l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freeland, MI
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Our girls group has been coming to PIB since 1999. We always love our stay at the town homes at the PIB resort. The staff this year was friendly. The room was alittle dirty with some garbage left in our dresser drawer and there was no toaster in the kitchen. It is our favorite place to stay on the island!! We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelngirls08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Very friendly and certious staff... nice sized rooms.... very clean..... great location close to all u need... mist was a lot of fun...love the nite life in this town.... we all had a great time can't wait to come back

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank dawn g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falls Church, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed here while on our family vacation and we greatly enjoyed our stay. The hotel is off the main street in PIB, so it is not super noisy. However, everything is still in walking distance. The two room suites are a great accommodation for a larger group. The staff was very friendly and attentive, which made us feel welcomed. Also, the continental breakfast in the morning is terrific! For a free breakfast, there were a lot of options! I will definitely be booking my room at this hotel again when we return to PIB

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sgnicklas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Attended a two day conference and everything was outstanding. Rooms are very clean, food was excellent and the staff was attentive to all our conference attendee's request. The conference could not have went any smoother.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Put in Bay
0.3 mi away
Bay Lodging Resort
Bay Lodging Resort
#1 of 7 in Put in Bay
240 reviews
10.4 mi away
South Beach Resort Hotel
South Beach Resort Hotel
#1 of 3 in Marblehead
296 reviews
8.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#10 of 17 in Port Clinton
68 reviews
0.2 mi away
Edgewater Hotel
Edgewater Hotel
#6 of 7 in Put in Bay
10 reviews
0.6 mi away
Harbour View Suites
Harbour View Suites
#7 of 7 in Put in Bay
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Put-in-Bay Resort Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Put-in-Bay Resort Hotel and Conference Center

Property: Put-in-Bay Resort Hotel and Conference Center
Address: 439 Loraine Ave, Put in Bay, OH 43456-5801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Put in Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Put in Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Put-in-Bay Resort Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Put-in-Bay Resort Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Put-In-Bay Resort Hotel Put In Bay
Put In Bay Hotel
Put Bay In
Put-In-Bay Resort Hotel And Conference Center Put In Bay, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing