We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Favorite Place at the "Bay"!!”
Review of BayShore Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Put in Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
BayShore Resort
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Put in Bay
Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Our Favorite Place at the "Bay"!!”
Reviewed 25 June 2011

We have been coming to Put in Bay for 16 years and got married on the island 10 years ago this August! We've stayed at several different hotels on the island over the years, but the BayShore Resort is the ONLY place we've stayed since it opened! The location is great with beautiful lake Erie views and just a short walk to the downtown area. The property is well maintained and the rooms spacious and comfortable. The waterfront setting is fantastic, with a very nice restaurant, pools, hot tub and a thatched roof Tiki Bar that is great place to sit and have a cold drink any time of the day or evening. We really enjoyed sitting and talking with the owners, Greg and Pam Hughes one evening and told them how much we love staying there. They are very nice people, who have done a fantastic job making the BayShore a great place to stay!

Room Tip: 2nd or 3rd floor with the screened in porches.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IrishRoseIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    49
    28
    14
    28
See reviews for
39
86
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Neenah, Wi
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2011

We went to Put In Bay for the first time and selected BayShore because of its location on the waterfront. At this time of year, their special pricing was favorable, however, the pool and restaurant were not opened (a lot of the Town wasn't operating neither). In reading some of these mixed reviews, we were not sure what to expect so we'd like to report back.

First, not sure how others define "Rude" but the front desk employees were very nice. Our room was large and clean and you couldn't beat the view. They have golf carts available for rental, but we ended up walking the short distance to their town and it was safe and not far at all. The first day the cart was included in their promotion for this time of year.

We would stay here again. We have traveled to many places and we have run into "rude" people and maybe the rude employees no longer work here. Then again, sometimes if people are demanding, etc, the great attitude and service may not be returned due to employees taking on a defensive attitude.....not sure.

Next time we'd like to come when the town is open along with BayShore's pool and restaurant. People in the city asked where we were staying and not one person made any bad remarks about BayShore. In fact they all said we were staying at one of the best places on their island. We were told the owner really screens the employees also.

We would recommend BayShore Resort. Plus, you have your own screened in porch to sit outside and enjoy the view of Lake Erie and the grounds. We think this was a great hotel!

Room Tip: go in May possibly or before Memorial Day
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank breaks007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2011

It's really the only newer, clean resort/hotel, well as close to eaither that's available on PIB. We've stayed 3 times. We NEVER had any rude service. We hate there for breakfast (also very expensive) and we drank at the Tiki Bar (prices were exceptable for island pricing).

We are late 40's and the older hotels with the young crowds do not attract us. We like a clean room and the location is perfect.

We traveled last time with 2 other couples. We all agreed that the hotel was nice but WAY over priced for you get. The rooms are clean but very adverage.

I'd assume we will stay there again only because I wouldn't stay in a old hotel with a loud crowd and we do like to spend at least 1 weekend on PIB in the Summer or Fall.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emasonry1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2010

This place is wonderful! I had booked a reservation for my family with the package they had a few weeks before then my friend had informed me of this website. I was skeptical after seeing some of the reviews of the hotel, but after staying I couldn’t believe how wonderful our stay was!
Don’t believe these bad reviews! Our hotel room was roomy for a standard room, with a beautiful view, clean room, very roomy bathroom, as well as nice pools/jacuzzi tub in the back area of the hotel. My kids spent most of the time in the pool area while my husband and I enjoyed then beautiful day by the lake. The staff was very friendly at the front desk, they helped us with directions around town, informed us about the different places to eat, as well as randomly chat with us.
This was a nice getaway that our family needed to take before the kids had to head back to school. I would recommend this hotel as a good place for a family to getaway.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LSamse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastlake, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2010

I would not come back here again. But don't take my word for it...Sit at any of the bars downtown PIB..and alot of the conversation is how dissapointing the Bay Shore Resort is. The staff is very RUDE. Not helpful, if you ask any questions..They act like you are bothering them. The hotel,( not a resort ) .The Bar (not even remotely a TIKI BAR as they refer to it.) Closed early. We had planned on staying two nights. but we were so dissappointed we left. Ended up going to PIB resort and conference center and staying two more nights.We had a great time there....THEY ACTED LIKE THEY WANTED OUR BUSINESS and were very accomodating...LOVED IT....Can't wait to go back there next year. My advice to you, take your hard earned money to some place where it is appreciated...NOT THE BAYSHORE RESORT

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 2010ohiogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Put in Bay hotels

Cleveland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2010

My husband and I stayed at BayShore Resort with another couple for just one night. After a long wait to get into the room we were given a room that smelled of cigarettes. Front desk will not call you when your room is ready because they told us they are VERY BUSY. Even though check-in is at 3:00 pm, they told us it could be longer. Why??? The front desk sent three people to decide if we were telling the truth about the room. They disagreed with us however we did get a room on another floor. The large pool is not heated, therefore useless. The Tiki bar closes early. DO NOT EXPECT GOOD CUSTOMER SERVICE AT THE FRONT DESK. YOU WILL NOT ENJOY YOUR STAY BECAUSE THE OWNER DOES NOT CARE ABOUT TRAINING THEIR HELP IN GOOD CUSTOMER SERVICE. People talked to us, who were also staying at this Resort about the rudeness of the front desk help. People and businesses on the island told us the talk in bars and around the island, is about the rudeness of the front desk help at BayShore Resort. Why is it called a resort???

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DeePCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westover, West Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2010

Not a resort!! Over priced hotel!! But it is the best hotel on PIB!! Have been up & down the East Coast and stayed in alot of hotels & resorts,. First off: never got wifi connected,rooms have about 10 channels satellite only picked up about 3 but if you are at the restaurant bar, it is crystal clear with all channels. No microwave or minifridge in room. No complimentary coffee in lobby which would be nice. It was very clean but maids only leave towels & empty trash for a 4 day visit. The bathroom was huge with a toilet, shower & double vanity- a nice perk. The pools, tiki bar, etc were very nice!! We did rent a golf cart for the day which was a blast. PIB is for adults- the downtown area is bars, restaurants & a few shops. We loved the winery, Crystal Cave,,etc. There technically is no beach, The state park is all stones and couldn't imagine being able to swim in that area. Restaurant foods were great!!! We jet expressed to Sandusky & Kelleys Island but KI has bars and just a few shops, mingolf. They do have a beach though. Cannot imagine staying there for a week. We ran out of things to do after you see all thesights- it takes 1 day!! With all of that though, Bay Shore Resort is the nicest on the island and would recommend it for that reason

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank denisedk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Put in Bay
0.5 mi away
Bay Lodging Resort
Bay Lodging Resort
#1 of 7 in Put in Bay
232 reviews
10.4 mi away
South Beach Resort Hotel
South Beach Resort Hotel
#2 of 3 in Marblehead
287 reviews
11.4 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#10 of 17 in Port Clinton
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton
0.3 mi away
Edgewater Hotel
Edgewater Hotel
#4 of 7 in Put in Bay
7 reviews
11.6 mi away
The Island House Hotel
The Island House Hotel
#3 of 17 in Port Clinton
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BayShore Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BayShore Resort

Property: BayShore Resort
Address: 328 Toledo Ave, PO Box 597, Put in Bay, OH 43456-6836
Region: United States > Ohio > Put in Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Put in Bay
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The island's ONLY lakefront hotel, located only a few minutes walk to historic downtown. Spacious rooms that ALL have lakefront balconies. We have 2 heated pools, a 30 person whirlpool spa, lakefront tiki bar and an on-site restaurant that serves the best breakfast, lunch and dinners! Golf carts are also available to rent from our excellent staff! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bayshore Hotel Put In Bay
BayShore Resort Put In Bay, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing